Aerospace Engineering
Alphabetical List of Indexes/Databases for Aerospace Engineering (coming soon)
HOW DO I...?
Find particular types of sources (i.e. books, scholarly articles, technical reports, etc.? | Manage citations? | Write & cite the literature? | Get library help?
HOW DO I find particular types of resources?
Articles (scholarly, peer-reviewed, trade, popular)
Books
E-Books & Handbooks
Conference papers & proceedings
Data or Statistics
Dissertations & theses
Journals & magazines
News reports (industry & trade)
Technical Reports/Papers
Reference works
To find ARTICLES on a research topic, search or browse one or more of the following databases:
TIP: When the full text (html or pdf) is not present, click on the "Find text@TAMU" (or SFX) link for article or paper retrieval options.AIAA Electronic Library (aeronautics & astronautics) -- full text
ACM Portal (computer science) -- full text
Applied Science & Technology (Wilson)
Compendex (on Ei Village)
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- Biotechnology & Bioengineering Abstracts
- CSA Technology Research Database (contains the 3 components):
Fluidex -- fluid engineering
IEEE Electronic Library -- full text
Inspec (on Ei Village)
Materials Science -- SAGE Full text Collection (CSA)
MathSciNet
Mechanical Engineering Abstracts (CSA)
SciFinder Scholar -- chemistry
Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
Science Direct -- full text
Science & Technology Collection (Ebsco)
Scopus
Shock & Vibration Digest (Ebsco)
SIAM Journals Online -- applied math -- full text
SPIE Electronic Library -- full text
Web of Science (Science Citation Index) -- describes journal articles only
To find Electronic BOOKS & HANDBOOKS (2 options):
Option 1: Search LibCat, the libraries online catalog:
Step 1: enter words in the search terms box
Step 2: choose a search type (keyword, title keyword, title starts with, etc.)
Step 3 (optional) on the LibCat search screen: "Limit your search" to World Wide Web)
Notice that LibCat records for e-books have the phrase "electronic resource" in their titles.
More >
Option 2: Access & search (or browse) one of the libraries' E-BOOK collections (databases):
ASM Handbooks Online (materials science)
CRC ChemNetBase (chemistry)
CRC EngNetBase (engineering handbooks)
Ebrary (multidisciplinary)
Jane's Aero-Engines
Jane's Aircraft Upgrades
Jane's All the World's Aircraft
Jane's Avionics
Jane's C4I Systems
Jane's Unmanned Aerial Vehicles & Targets
Knovel (science & engineering; includes materials science)
NetLibrary (multidisciplinary)
Referex (engineering)
Safari Tech Books Online -- computer manuals, C+ programming, etc.
SpringerLink Books
To find CONFERENCE PAPERS/PROCEEDINGS (3 options):
Option 1: Browse or Search one of the following FULL TEXT databases:
ACM Portal (computer science)
AIAA (aeronautics & astronautics)
IEEE Xplore (engineering & computer science)
SPIE Electronic Library
Option 2 (find proceedings):
Search the literature for conference papers on a topic by searching one, or more of the indexing/abstracting databases below:
TIP 1: Limit search to conference papers
TIP 2: Use the "Find text@TAMU" (or SFX) link to find the text of the paper, or to request a paper through Get it for me
Applied Science & Technology (Wilson)
Compendex (on Ei Village)
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- Biotechnology & Bioengineering Abstracts
- CSA Technology Research Database (contains the 3 components):
Fluidex -- fluid engineering
Inspec (on Ei Village)
MathSciNet
Mechanical Engineering Abstracts (CSA)
PapersFirst
SciFinder Scholar -- chemistry
Science & Technology Collection (Ebsco)
Scopus
Shock & Vibration Digest (Ebsco)
Option 3 (Find proceedings):
Search LibCat, the libraries' online catalog.
Use this option if you have the name/title of a conference -- do a keyword search on words from the conference name/title -- do NOT search for the title of the individual conference paper in LibCat. For help finding conference proceedings, come to Evans Reference (1st floor), or contact the aerospace reference librarian (Jane Stephens)
To find DATA and/or statistical information, search or browse one or more of the following:
Aerospace Structural Metals Database (CINDAS)
Airplane design / Jan Roskam -- located in Evans Reference, does not check out. Call number:
TL671.2 .R67 1986
ASM Alloy Center
ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Center
ASM Failure Analysis Center
ASM Handbooks (material science)
ASM Materials Information Online
ASM Micrograph Center
CRC ChemNetBase
CRC EngNetBase
ESDU: Engineering Sciences Data Unit (Aerospace series)
Knovel -- science & engineering books -- try the GET (graph, equation, table) search when looking for data
Microelectronics Packaging Materials Database (CINDAS)
Theory of wing sections : including a summary of airfoil data / by Ira H. Abbott and Albert E. von Doenhoff
Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database (CINDAS)
To find DISSERTATIONS & THESES, search one or more of the following:
Index to Theses
LibCat, the libraries' online catalog
Proquest Dissertations & Theses -- national & international -- some full text
TAMU Digital Library (formerly TxSpace; ~2000 to present)
WorldCat -- national, international. When not owned by TAMU, request via Get it for me
To find JOURNALS & MAGAZINES (4 options):
Option 1: List of journals for aerospace
Option 2: Electronic journal packages (search or browse)
Option 3: Search LibCat
Option 4: Search E-journal list
Option 1: List of journals relevant to aerospace:
Selected Aerospace Journals:Acta Astronautica, TL787 .I4612Selected other journals:
Advances in Space Research, QB500 .A37
Aeronautical Journal, TL501 .R7
Old title: Journal of the Royal Aeronautical Society;
Get it for me will scan articles from this journal for you.
Aerospace America, TL501 .A688 A25
AIAA Journal, TL501 .A688 A2
Aircraft Engineering and Aerospace Technology, TL501 .A5615
Aerospace Science and Technology, TL501 .A37
Cosmic Research, QC801 .K613
ESA Bulletin (European Space Agency) (Online)
IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Magazine, TL693 .I118
IEEE Transactions on Aerospace and Electronic Systems, TL3000 .A1 I53
International Journal of Satellite Communications and Networking (Online)
International Journal of Turbo and Jet Engines, TJ751 .I57
Get it for me will scan articles from this journal for you.
Journal of Aerospace, Computing Information and Communication (Online)
Journal of Aerospace Engineering, TL787 .J67
Journal of Aircraft, TL501 .J63
Journal of Energy, TJ163.9 .J68
Get it for me will scan articles from this journal for you.
Journal of Hydronautics, VM1 .J63
Get it for me will scan articles from this journal for you.
Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets, TL787 .A62 A2
Journal of the American Helicopter Society, TL716 .A1 A513
Get it for me will scan articles from this journal for you.
Journal of the Astronautical Sciences, TL787 .A6 A3
Get it for me will scan articles from this journal for you.
Journal of the British Interplanetary Society, TL790 .A1 B7
Get it for me will scan articles from this journal for you.
Journal of Guidance Control, and Dynamics, TL676 .J65
Old title: Journal of Guidance and Control
Get it for me will scan articles from this journal for you.
Journal of Propulsion and Power, TL787 .J6
Journal of Thermophysics and Heat Transfer, TL900 .J68
Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part G, Journal of aerospace engineering, TL787 .P356
Progress in Aerospace Sciences, TL500 .P7
Old title: Progress in Aeronautical Sciences
Transactions for the Japan Society for Aeronautical and Space Sciences
(Request articles through Get it for me.)
Acta Astronautica, TL787 .I4612
Composites Science and Technology, TA418.9 .C6 F5
Old title: Fiber Science and Technology
Journal of Applied Mechanics, TA1 .J6
Old title: Applied Mechanics
Journal of Applied Physics, QC1 .J83
Old title: Physics (Menasha, Wis.)
Journal of Colloid and Interface Science, QD549 .J67
Old title: Journal of Colloid Science
Journal of Fluid Mechanics, QA901 .J87
Journal of Nondestructive Evaluation, TA417.2 .J68
Journal of Turbomachinery, TJ1 .A713
Old title: Journal of Engineering for Gas Turbines and Power
Journal of Engineering for Power, etc.
Mechanics of Materials, TA405 .M52
Physics of Fluids, QC175 .P52
Option 2 (find journals or magazines): Search or browse one of the following electronic journal packages:
ACM Portal (computer science)
AIAA (aeronautics & astronautics)
IEEE Xplore
JSTOR
Materials Science (Sage full text)
Science Direct
SIAM (applied math)
SPIE
SpringerLink
Wiley Journals
Option 3 (find journals): Search LibCat for journal/magazine titles:
Step 1: Access LibCat, the libraries' online catalog
Step 2: Enter search terms in search terms box -- enter the title of the journal or keywords from the title (depending on step 3)
Step 3: Choose a search type (journal title starts with or journal title keyword)
TIP: For a journal title starts with search, omit initial articles. For example, the journal title: The Journal of the Whatnot Society is entered as: journal of the whatnot society.
Option 4: Search for electronic journals owned by TAMU libraries:
Step 1: Access the e-journals search and follow the rest of these steps:
Step 2: enter keywords from the title of the journal
Step 3: Review results list
TIP 1: Notice the "available online from" information -- if you need 1997 and the available online from specifies 2000 to present, the library does NOT have access to 1997.
TIP 2: If the results screen displays the message "sorry no results found," search LibCat (option 3 above). Journals, or articles not owned by A&M can be requested through Get it for me.
TIP 3: If the library does not own a journal, make a purchase recommendation for it.
To find NEWS REPORTS (industry & trade), search one or more of the following databases:
ABI Inform
Business & Industry (RDS)
Business Source Complete
Lexis Nexis Academic
TableBase (RDS)
To find TECHNICAL reports/papers (2 options):
Option 1: Search through the literature:
AIAA
Compendex
GPOAccess
Inspec
NASA Technical Reports Series
NTIS -- government funded research (use the accession # to find the microform)
Science.gov or WorldScience.org
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Global Mobility Full text coming soon
STINET
Option 2: Find TECH papers/reports in the TAMU Libraries:
AIAA PapersCall number: TL501 .A688 A3ASME Papers
American Society of Mechanical EngineersNASA Documents
Call number: TJ1 .A693
Technical Publications (TP) NAS 1.60:...NTIS Reports
Technical Memorandums (TM) NAS 1.15:
Contractor Reports (CR) NAS 1.26:
Conference Publications (CP) NAS 1.55
Special Publications (SP) NAS 1.21:
Technical Translations (TT) NAS 1.13/2:...
Technical Note (TN) NAS 1.14:D-1...
Technical Note (NACA) Y 3.N21/5:6
Jet Propulsion Tech Reports NAS 1.12/3:
place-holding textSociety of Automotive Engineers (SAE) TL1 .S62
Preprints of Papers of the SAE transactions
Society of Automotive Engineers: [Paper]
Society of Automotive Engineers Technical Paper Series
SAE Technical Paper Series
HOW DO I get additional library help?
Contact: Jane Stephens, the Aerospace Engineering Librarian:
E-mail: jstephens@tamu.edu
Phone: 979-845-5382 (voice mail)
Chat
Online: AskNow, Class Guides, Subject Guides, Tutorials, Handouts
Telephone: Evans Ref Desk: 979-845-5741 | Library phone numbers
In Person: Evans Reference (1st floor Evans) | Hours | Maps & Parking
Individual consultations: AERO Subject Librarian | Subject Librarian Directory
Group Instruction: Tours, Classes, Orientation | Library Instruction Request Aero Librarian
Quick Links to Library Information & Services
Circulation Department (borrowing guidelines)
Get it for me (document delivery & interlibrary loan)
Library hours
Maps & Parking
Off Campus Access
Request Forms
Study Spaces
Laptops & Wireless
Useful Definitions (Library Jargon):
Article—scholarly: See periodical
Book—scholarly:
A book that covers a specialized topic, written by a expert in the field and that is intended to be read by people in that field. Clues (not absolutes) that indicate that a book is scholarly include the author affiliations indicating expertise, university press imprints, books edited by one or more experts in the field. These books usually have references or a bibliography.
Indexing/abstracting database:
This particular category of database contains citations (descriptions) of material (articles, conference papers, book chapters) usually in a particular subject area, but sometimes in multiple areas. Searching one or more of these databases is the first step in performing a literature review; it leads to the identification of relevant material (journal articles, conference papers, books, etc.), but does not necessarily to retrieval of the documents (articles, papers, etc.) themselves. When the actual article is not present with the citation, use the "Find text@TAMU" button sometimes seen as SFX) for document (articles, papers,etc.) retrieval options. Remember that Get it for me will scan articles into pdf files when TAMU has the print (paper) format but no electronic access to it.
Journal: see periodical
Library Catalog:
A comprehensive list of material (books, journals, magazines, maps, newspapers, directories, proceedings, DVDs, etc.) owned by one or more libraries. WorldCat is a catalog for many libraries around the world. LibCat is the catalog for the A&M libraries' collections (Evans, the Annex, WCL, PSEL, & Cushing). The catalog allows retrieval of bibliographic records (descriptions) via a variety of access points (i.e. search types such as: author, title, subject heading, call number), and also via keyword. The material itself is then retrieved using the location and call number, or the URL, etc. provided in the LibCat record (bibliographic record).
Periodical – Journal – Magazine:
Publications that are issued on a regular (periodic) basis, such as: weekly, monthly, semi-monthly, bimonthly, etc. These publications contain articles (feature, or short), book reviews, etc.
Trade magazine: "A periodical devoted to disseminating news and information of interest to a specific category of business or industry, often published by a trade association."
Scholarly journal: A periodical devoted to disseminating original research and commentary on current developments in a specific discipline, sub-discipline, or field of study… Journal articles are usually written by the person (or persons) who conducted the research. Longer than most magazine articles, they almost always include a bibliography or list of works cited at the end. In journals in the sciences and social sciences, an abstract usually precedes the text of the article, summarizing its content. Most scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.
Peer review is the process by which one's peers (experts in a given field) evaluate the article prior to its publication.
Popular Magazines: "A popular interest periodical usually containing articles on a variety of topics, written by various authors in a non-scholarly style. Most magazines are heavily illustrated, contain advertising, and are printed on glossy paper…." Examples are: Time; Newsweek; Discover.
Quotes & definition source: OLIS: Reitz, J.M. Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science.
Viewed August 27, 2008 http://lu.com/odlis/about.cfm