Africana Studies
Welcome to the Africana Studies research guide. This guide will assist researchers in identifying electronic subject specific databases, internet resources, and other resources for conducting research. Use the navigation tabs to view books, journals, and other helpful resources. Another resource guide available is African American Literature. If you require additional research assistance, class or individual instruction contact subject specialist, Rebecca Hankins, rhankins@tamu.edu, 979-845-1951.
Find Scholarly Articles: Databases
Black Studies Center
BSC covers scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles articles, and much more for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.
Black Thought and Culture
BTC contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, from colonial times to the present, covering the published works of leading African Americans. Sources include published non-fiction works, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material. Recent updates include a new interface and more issues of the Black Panther newspaper.
Black Women Writers
BWW offers over 100,000 pages of fiction, poetry, and essays from Africa, North America, Europe and the Caribbean. It brings together the many voices of women in the African Diaspora from over 20 countries.
Ethnic NewsWatch
ENW features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 250 publications offering both national and regional coverage.
Gender Studies Database
GSD covers sexual diversity issues and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
Race Relations Abstracts
RRA includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Newspapers and Public Policy Articles:
Accessible Archives
Accessible Archives provides full-text access to a number of African American newspapers such as the Liberator and Freedom's Journal, the International Index to Black Periodicals, plus additional 18th & 19th century American Newspapers and Periodicals.
LexisNexis Academic
Search this full text database for national and international newspapers and news magazine articles. Includes newswires, tv and radio transcripts, student newspapers, and more.
ProQuest Newspapers
Search this database for full text access to the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Dallas Morning News, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and more (historical access).
Websites
Africa Bib.orgIndexes books, government documents, periodical and journal articles, theses, papers, conference papers and videocassettes.
African Studies Abstracts Online
Current articles from over 200 journals about Africa in the humanities and social sciences.
African Research Central
Tool for locating libraries, museums, and archives in Africa with African primary source collections.
All Africa
Aggregate, produce and distribute news from across Africa.
Global-e: A Global Studies Journal
Timely commentary regarding global events, processes, and issues by leading scholars and practitioners.
Related Links |