University Libraries Subject Guides Africana Studies

Africana Studies

— filed under:

Articles & Databases

Core databases

  • JSTOR

    Multidisciplinary archive of digitized scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and general and biological sciences but continues to grow.

  • Black Drama (Alexander Street)

    Black Drama contains the full text of plays (projected to include over 1,200 when complete) written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 African, African-American, and African-descended playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Plays are indexed for searching and accompanied by reference materials, performance database, and images.

  • Black Literature Index on CD-ROM

    Black Literature indexes fiction and poetry by African American authors published in American periodicals from 1827-1940, includes reviews of literary works by African American authors. A full text of the works referred to in the database and a copy of the index are available on microfiche.

  • Black Studies Center (Proquest)

    Black Studies Center brings together scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

  • Black Thought and Culture (Alexander Street)

    Black Thought and Culture contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material.

  • Black Women Writers (Alexander Street)

    Black Women Writers offers over 100,000 pages of fiction, poetry, and essays from Africa, North America, Europe and the Caribbean. It brings together, in electronic format, the many voices of women in the African Diaspora from over 20 countries. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of extraordinary writings.

Search for specific article

Step 1: Please enter either a Journal Title or an ISSN (or both)

Step 2: Please enter a year

Step 3: Use the remaining fields to narrow your search, all remaining fields are optional

Document Actions
Your Librarian
Position
Africana Resources Librarian/Curator
Department
Cushing Library
Contact Information
Annex, Room 409.G
(979) 845-1951 x (979) 845-5874
 
Giving to the Libraries