AgSites Ag Market Information
http://www.agsites.com/marketing.htm
AgSites collects links
to agriculture information sites, this page is to sites with agriculture
marketing information.
Chicago Board of Trade
http://www.cbot.com/
The Chicago Board of
Trade, which conducts commodity futures trading, provides 10 minute delayed
futures trading quotes for grains, oils, and financial futures, trading
information, market analysis reports, and commentaries.
Chicago Mercantile Exchange
http://www.cme.com/
The Chicago Mercantile
Exchange, which trades in agricultural, currency, equity and interest rate
futures, provides 10 minute delayed quotes and daily summaries of futures
trading.
E-Markets
http://e-markets.com/
E-Markets is a
commercial site that provides software applications, services and tools for
buyers and sellers in a variety of agricultural markets including crops, farm
inputs, grains, and livestock.
Farms.com
http://www.farms.com/
Farms.com is a business
to business e-commerce site that provides an arena for real-time farm auctions
and trading.
Understanding Dairy Markets
http://future.aae.wisc.edu/
The Dairy Futures
Project of the Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics and Wisconsin
Center for Dairy Research of the University of Wisconsin-Madison provides a web
site that provides instruction and information on dairy futures and the dairy
market. It includes a tutorial on dairy futures and options, historical and
current dairy market data files, and five years of Outlook Reports by the USDA
Economic Research Service.
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Economics and Statistics
System
http://usda.mannlib.cornell.edu/MannUsda/homepage.do
The USDA Economics and
Statistics System, jointly operated by the USDA and
the Albert R. Mann Library of
Cornell University, contains datasets of historic crop production statistics,
including livestock, dairy, poultry and field crops, and full text monthly and
quarterly situation and outlook reports by the Economic Research Service (ERS), the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS),
and the World
Agricultural Outlook Board (WAOB).
World Wide Web Virtual Library Agricultural Market Information
http://www.aec.msu.edu/agecon/fs2/market/contents.htm
AgSites Farm Management webpage
http://www.agsites.com/management.htm
Listings of links to
farm management web sites.
AgSites Software webpage
http://www.agsites.com/software.htm
Listings of links to
farm management software web sites.
Center for Farm Financial Management
http://www.cffm.umn.edu/
The Center for Farm
Financial Management is unit in the Department
of Applied Economics of the University of Minnesota and the
University of Minnesota Extension Service. It develops and distributes farm
financial management software to allow farmers to apply the principles and
concepts of farm planning, financing and analysis in a practical manner.
Chemical Health & Safety Data
http://ntp.niehs.nih.gov/index.cfm?objectid=03610FA5-C828-304B-FE31F1182E8F764C
Health and safety
information on over 2000 chemicals collected by the National Toxicology
Program, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.
Cost and Returns Estimation Website
http://www.economics.nrcs.usda.gov/care/
The CARE website
provides information on estimating the costs of and returns to agricultural
enterprises of commodities. The American
Agricultural Economics Association’s Commodity Costs and
Returns Estimation Handbook is included as well as crop and livestock budgets
for each of the 63 Production Regions in the United States.
The EXtension TOXicology NETwork
http://ace.orst.edu/info/extoxnet/
The EXTOXNET InfoBase
provides a variety of objective, science-based information about pesticides
written for the non-expert. A search on pesticide chemical names leads to
Pesticide Information Profiles on the desired chemicals.
Agribusiness Online
http://www.agribusinessonline.com/
An advertising supported
commercial site with a variety of ag information resources.
Small Business Administration
http://www.sba.gov/
"The U.S. Small
Business Administration, established in 1953, provides financial, technical and
management assistance to help Americans start, run, and grow their
businesses."
Business.gov
http://www.business.gov/
"The official
business link to the U.S. government – Direct entry to information, forms, and
assistance when you need it."
National Ag Risk Education Library
http://www.agrisk.umn.edu/
The National Ag Risk
Education Library is developed and maintained by the Center for Farm Financial Management in the Department
of Applied Economics at the University of Minnesota. The National Ag Risk
Education Library is a major component of the USDA’s risk management education
initiative. It contains hundreds of annotated links to documents and
information on managing farm risks.
National Agricultural Law Center
http://www.nationalaglawcenter.org/
The
National Agricultural Law Center at the University of Arkansas School of
Law "conducts research and analysis and provides up-to-date information to
farmers and agri-businesses, attorneys, community groups, and others
confronting agricultural law issues."
Agriculture: A Glossary of Terms, Programs, and
Laws, 2005 Edition
http://ncseonline.org/NLE/CRS/abstract.cfm?NLEid=464
A glossary to
agricultural terms used in farm bills prepared by the Congressional Research
Service.
CSREES Legislative Affairs
http://www.csrees.usda.gov/about/offices/legislative.html
Cooperative State
Research, Education, and Extension Service web page with links to current and
past legislation and budget information about the USDA.
Thomas Global Register
http://www.thomasglobal.com/
Searchable directory of
over 700,000 manufacturers and distributors in 28 countries provied
by Thomas Publishing Company.
STAT-USA
http://www.stat-usa.gov/
STAT-USA, an agency in
the Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce has
statistical data on all forms of foreign trade and many other types of economic
data. It is a subscription service.
Business.gov - International Trade
http://www.business.gov/topics/international_trade/
"International
Trade -- Many small businesses
today find it essential to trade overseas. Know the various elements of trading
on a global level. This page includes: laws and regulations, trade finance,
exporting, and associations and agencies."
Agricultural Businesses
http://agrinet.tamu.edu/agbus/home.htm
This directory listing
of agricultural businesses produced by the Agricultural Economics Department at
Texas A&M University is arranged by SIC Codes.
The Agriculture WebRing
http://www.trwebworks.com/agwebring/
The Agriculture WebRing
is a listing of links to web sites of over 400 members. It includes
agricultural producers, suppliers, and associations.
World Wide Web Virtual Library for Agriculture
Commercial Agricultural Sites
http://ipmwww.ncsu.edu/cernag/commercial.html
This directory web site
is an extensive subject arranged link listing of agricultural business web
sites.
AgBiosafety
http://agbiosafety.unl.edu/index.htm
A source of scientific, regulatory and educational
materials relevant to crop biotechnology and the current debate on the
genetic modification of food.
Agriculture: A Glossary of Terms, Programs, and
Laws
http://www.cnie.org/nle/AgGlossary/AgGlossary.htm
A glossary to
agricultural terms produced by the Committee for the National Institute for the
Environment as a Congressional Research Service Report.
Chemical Health & Safety Data
http://ntp-server.niehs.nih.gov/Main_Pages/Chem-HS.html
Health and safety
information on over 2000 chemicals collected by the National Toxicology
Program, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.
National Atlas of the United States
http://www.nationalatlas.gov/
The National Atlas of
the United States is provided by the US Department of the Interior, creating an
online version of a previously printed atlas. The interactive map browser
allows the user to create customized maps that can include graphic
representations of agricultural statistics. It draws data from national
geospatial and geostastical data sets including climate, soils, water and
agricultural production.
Pesticide Action Network Pesticide Database
http://www.pesticideinfo.org/
The Pesticide Action
Network (PAN) Pesticide Database Web site, has a searchable database of of
current toxicity and regulatory information for about 5400 pesticide active
ingredients and their brand name products.
State Partners of the Cooperative State
Research, Education, and Extension Service
http://www.reeusda.gov/1700/statepartners/usa.htm
Links to the Cooperative
Extension Service and Agriculutral Experiment Stations in all 50 states.
The Universal Currency Converter
http://www.xe.com/ucc/
The Universal Currency
Converter converts any amount in one currency to the equivalent value in any
other currency.
WorldWideScience.org
http://worldwidescience.org
A gateway search site to government published scientific information from many countries.
Agricultural Weather Information Service, Inc.
http://www.awis.com/
This commercial
agricultural weather service requires a paid subscription. It provides detailed
agriculutral data and forecasts including such parameters as soil temperature,
drying potential, rain forecasts, pan evaporation, chill hours, growing degree
days, livestock heat stress, and harvest guidance.
Average Dates of Last Spring Freeze -- USDA
http://www.usda.gov/oce/waob/mississippi/mwcacp/22.pdf
Produced by the USDA,
this map of the US shows contour lines for the Average Last Spring Freeze
dates.
Climate of 1999 -- Annual Review
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/ol/climate/research/1999/ann/ann99.html
A National Climatic Data
Center summary and analysis of U.S. and global weather data for 1999.
Climate of 2005 -- Annual Review
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/research/2005/perspectives.html
A National Climatic Data
Center summary and analysis of U.S. and global weather data for 2005.
U.S. Drought Monitor
http://www.drought.unl.edu/index.htm
http://drought.unl.edu/dm/monitor.html
A national drought
status map and text commentary on the current situation. It also includes an
archive of drought status maps issued weekly for 1999 to the present.
National Climatic Data Center
http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/
The National Climatic
Data Center is the world's largest archive of weather data. This site provides
current and historical weather and climate data.
National Weather Service
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/
The National Oceanic and
Atmospheric Administration's National Weather Service home page that provides
access to United States offical forecast products and weather observations.
UM Weather: WeatherSites
http://cirrus.sprl.umich.edu/wxnet/servers.html
The University of Michigan
at Ann Arbor WeatherSites page lists links to over 380 weather sites.
USDA NOAA Joint Agricultural Weather Facility
http://www.usda.gov/agency/oce/waob/jawf/
The Joint Agricultural
Weather Facility (JAWF) is jointly operated by the World Agricultural Outlook
Board of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the National Oceanic and
Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) of the U.S. Department of Commerce. This site
provides up to date weather information that impacts agriculture worldwide. It
provides weather map data by world regions and specialized products like
the Average
Dates of Last United States Spring Freeze and the U.S. Drought Monitor.
The Weather Channel
http://www.weather.com/
Use a city or zip code
search to display local US weather forecasts and weather radar maps provided by
this commercial site.
4000 Company Job Web Pages
http://www.interbiznet.com/hunt/companies/
Links to 4000 company
sites and their employment web page.
CSREES Job Opportunities
http://www.csrees.usda.gov/about/jobs.html
Federal Cooperative
State Research, Education, and Extension Service jobs.
USA Jobs
http://www.usajobs.opm.gov/
"The U.S.
Government's official site for jobs and employment information provided by the
United States Office of Personnel Management."
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United
Nations
http://www.fao.org/VA/Employ.htm
Vacancy announcements at
FAO.
Journal of Agricultural Lending Jobs On-Line
http://www.agricultural-lending.com/jobs/index.htm
Agri-Lending employment
opportunities available and those seeking such positions.
eHARVEST.com Careers
http://eharvest.com/careers/default.asp
Canadian and US
agricultural jobs listings and resume posting.
AgJobsUSA
http://www.agjobsusa.com/
"AgJobsUSA is a
nationwide computerized employment service that matches employees' interests
and abilities with agricultural employers' needs..."
Ag-Biz.com
http://www.ag-biz.com/
Ag-Biz.com is a free to
job seekers agriculture related Internet recruiting website.
Agriculture Biotech Chemical Jobs Page
http://www.nationjob.com/ag