Atmospheric Science
Electronic Reference Tools | Citation Guides | Climatology Data | Related Links
Electronic Reference Tools:
Encyclopedias:
The Digital Encyclopedia of Applied Physics provides the basic principles and in-depth coverage of all technically pertinent areas of modern-day physics, coupled with technological applications from real life. It originally appeared in print in 23 volumes plus 2 update volumes, covering some 15,500 pages and over 650 articles with a total of 7,800 figures and 980 tables. As of July 2004, the Digital Encyclopedia of Applied Physics appears in a thoroughly updated form, containing 14 new contributions on optics and 30 completely revised articles.
A unique wide-ranging encyclopedia covering all major aspects of atmospheric science and related subjects such as oceanography and hydrology. As well as the traditional topics of atmospheric dynamics, cloud physics, and weather forecasting, more recently established fields such as atmospheric chemistry and global climate change are fully covered. This encyclopedia is a companion reference work to the Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences.
Pressures are increasing on the availability and exploitation of fresh water resources through population increase, pollution and degradation of resources, and variations in distribution from regional and global change in the climate. A compilation of knowledge in this area, therefore, has become a prerequisite for education and training of practising and research hydrologists. The Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences is the definitive research level multi-volume treatment of these important fields.
Written and edited by global authorities in the field, and comprising approximately 200 substantial articles, the Encyclopedia provides detailed, expert coverage of the subject. Organized into 17 themed parts for the reader’s convenience, it offers up-to-date, scientifically rigorous information on all key aspects of the subject, from sub-catchment to the global scale.
An ambitious reference work that covers the physical processes that drive the oceans and the chemical, biological, and geological regimes. All methods of studying the oceans, from ship-based systems to satellite remote sensing are covered, as are ancillary topics such as the law of the oceans, use of the oceans for food and energy, and the impact of pollution and climate change. This encyclopedia is a companion reference work to the Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences.
An acclaimed encyclopedia that has served readers through three different editions over a span of 15 years. As released on ScienceDirect in 2004, this work corresponds to the print third edition, which comprises 18 volumes and more than 14,000 pages. Robert Meyers, chief editor for all three editions, directs a highly renowned editorial board that includes eight Nobel laureates.
Procedures in agricultural water engineering.
Continuing the long tradition of making chemistry accessible to all, the Fifth Edition of Van Nostrand’s Encyclopedia of Chemistry reflects the progress and change of the past two decades. Chemistry is of vital importance to today’s world with applications in areas such as communications and electronics, energy sources and conversation, waste handling and pollution control, biotechnology, molecular biology, food growth and production, and the development of pharmaceuticals, biologicals, and chemotherapeutic methodologies. Containing over 75% new text, this single-volume source has been significantly restructured to capture the expansion of chemistry into new fields and the impact related sciences have had on the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of chemistry. In addition to “classic” topics in chemistry, the Fifth Edition covers such new topics as nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, combinational chemistry, and materials science.
- Springer Books
- Search for the following titles:
- Encyclopedia of World Climatology
- The World's Coasts: Online
- Encyclopedia of Coastal Science
- Atmosphere and Climate
Citation Guides
Researchers in the Atmospheric Science use a variety of formats for citing references.
American Meteorological Society (AMS) Formatting Style:
American Geophysical Union (AGU) Formatting Style:
Royal Meteorological Society (RMetSoc) Formatting Style:
Other Guides:
Climatology Data
United States Data:
Monthly summaries of temperature and precipitation for stations (cities) across the United States.
Center for climate data across the United States. The information can be found as tab-delimited files or Geographic Information Systems (GIS) files
Data for primarily the United States but does have some world data. This data can be very thorough creating large files that may be difficult to manage.
Climate normals (including temperature and precipitation means from 1971-2000). This is a good resource for data on extreme events, degree days, snow, precipitation, and various other climate variables.
Australia Data:
Canada Data:
United Kingdom Data:
European Data:
Includes data from 41 countries within Europe and along the Mediterranean.
Other Regions of the World:
-
Atmospheric Science Librarians International Climate Data Links
-
National Meteorological or Hydrometeorological Services links to websites
Advanced Data:
This data is in NetCDF format.
-
European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts: Data Server
-
WMO/UNEP Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change: The IPCC Data Distribution Centre
Related Links
Writing and Communication Help | Additional Data and Information
Departments/Organizations/Societies | News Links
Writing and Communication Help:
- A short history of science writing:
- Developing Reserach Papars:
- Technical writing guides:
- Common errors in technical writing:
- Mathematical grammar site:
- Writing skills information structures:
- Guide to figures and tables:
- Documentation:
- Editing skills:
- Grammar review:
- Presentation skills resources:
- Poster design resources:
Additional Data and Information:
- arXiv.org e-Print archive in Atmospheric and Oceanic Physics
- Atmospheric Science Librarians International: Atmospheric Science Resources
- FirstGov for Science - Government Science Portal
- International Polar Year (IPY) 2007-2008: Polar Resources in the NOAA Library Network
- National Climate Data Center's (NCDC) Annual Climatological Summary
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Central Library publication sources
- NOAA WindandSea Internet Locator
- OceanWorld
- METLIS
- Scirus - science search engine
- Transboundary Movement of Airbourne Pollutants: A Methodology for Integrating Spacebourne Images and Ground Based Data
- World Meteorological Organization (WMO) Science Products
Departments/Organizations/Societies:
- American Geophysical Union
- American Meteorological Society
- Atmospheric Science Librarians International
- Community of Science
- National Climatic Data Center
- NOAA's Climate Monitoring & Diagnostics Laboratory (CMDL)
- NOAA National Weather Service
- Pew Center on Global Climate Change (free PDF reports)
- Texas A&M University Atmospheric Sciences Department
- World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
News Headlines:
- Climate Change, BBC News
- Global Climate Change, CNN News
- The Green Room, BBC News
- Planet in Peril, A CNN Worldwide Investigation
- Planet Under Pressure, BBC News
Open Access Journals in the area of Meteorology and Climatology
There are presently 21 Open Access journals in the area of Meteorology and Climatology .
For full details, see the Directory of Open Access Journals at:
http://www.doaj.org/doaj?func=subject&cpid=86
Atmósfera
Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics
Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics Discussions
Atmospheric Measurement Techniques
Atmospheric Measurement Techniques Discussions
Carbon Balance and Management
CLIMEP : Climatologia e Estudos da Paisagem
The Cryosphere
The Cryosphere Discussions
E-Journal of Severe Storms Meteorology
Geofizika
History of meteorology
Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems
Journal of King Abdulaziz University : Meteorology, Environment and Arid Land Agriculture Sciences
Journal of Lightning Research
Journal of the Meteorological Society of Japan
Natural Hazards and Earth System Sciences
Open Atmospheric Science Journal
Revista Brasileira de Meteorologia
Revista de Climatología
SOLA : Scientific Online Letters on the Atmosphere