Biological Oceanography
Biological Oceanography - Indexes/Databases
Use these indexing and abstracting databases to locate journal articles and other publications in Biological Oceanography, Marine Biology, and related disciplines.
Quick list of major indexing and abstracting services for Biological Oceanography:
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts
BIOSIS Previews
Science Citation Index
Zoological Record -1978 to Current
Zoological Record -Archive 1864-1977
CAB Abstracts
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Oceanic Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar
GEOBASE
Biological Oceanography annotated database list:
Academic Search Complete
AccessUN
AGRICOLA - [WebSpirs]
AGRICOLA (NAL)
AGRIS
ArticleFirst (FirstSearch)
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Biological and Agricultural Index
Biological Sciences (CSA)
BIOSIS Previews-Web version
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
CAB Abstracts
Conference Papers Index
Current Contents Connect
Digital Dissertations
Fish & Fisheries Worldwide
GeoBase - [WebSpirs]
GrayLit Network
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic
OmniFile Full Text Mega
PapersFirst (FirstSearch)
ProceedingsFirst (FirstSearch)
Science Citation Index
ScienceDirect
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Web of Science
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Zoological Record - [WebSpirs]
Database Details:
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 4,000 scholarly journals, and includes full text from over 3,000 journals. Subject areas include conservation, environment, recreation, tourism, and life sciences as well as news and politics, social sciences, humanities, education, business, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Also search for images and search citations.
AccessUN
Index to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Also includes the full-text of several thousand UN documents. Indexes documents from the United Nations General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, Secretariat, and International Court of Justice; includes full-text resolutions from the General Assembly, Security Council and Economic and Social Council. Locate UN documents on natural resources, biodiversity, endangered species, ocean fisheries, ocean policy, tourism, etc.
AGRICOLA - [WebSpirs]
The SilverPlatter interface to AGRICOLA, a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
AGRICOLA (NAL)
Accesses NAL's (National Agricultural Library) Online Public Access Catalog and Journal Article Citation Index, a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature. Subject coverage includes agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
AGRIS
AGRIS, the International System for the Agricultural Sciences and Technology, is an international bibliographic database indexing the collections from participating national, intergovernmental, or international centers. Published by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), Rome, Italy. Covers technical, economic, and sociological aspects of agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, the aquatic sciences, fisheries, and human nutrition. Includes citations to articles, unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, and government publications.
ArticleFirst (FirstSearch)
Interdisciplinary journal article index. Contains bibliographic citations describing items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Common interface to search ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology,Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; Conference Papers Index; Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts; NTIS; Oceanic Abstracts; Water Resources Abstracts.
Biological and Agricultural Index
WilsonWeb database that indexes popular and professional English-language periodicals that pertain to biology and agriculture. Includes abstracts and full text coverage for selected journals published in the United States and elsewhere.
Biological Sciences (CSA)
This interdisciplinary database from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts offers abstracts and citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some areas of agriculture and veterinary science. Provides access to over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Major areas of coverage include: AIDS; Algology; Amino acids; Animal behavior; Aquaculture; Aquatic organisms; Bacteriology; Bioengineering; Biological membranes; Biotechnology (agricultural, medical, environmental, marine & pharmaceutical); Calcified tissue; Calcium; Chemoreception; Ecology; Entomology; Genetics (plant, animal and human); Human genome research; Immunology; Marine biology; Microbiology; Molecular biology; Mycology; Neurosciences; Nucleic acids; Oncogenes & growth factors; Peptides; Proteins; Protozoology; Safety science; Toxicology; Virology; Zoology. Simultaneous search of any or all of the following databases through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts: Biological Sciences; ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts; Biology Digest; Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts; Conference Papers Index; MEDLINE; NTIS; Physical Education Index; Plant Science; TOXLINE.
BIOSIS Previews-Web version
Indexes research reports, reviews, books, meeting abstracts and reports, papers, posters, notes, letters, technical data reports, U.S. patents, bibliographies, nomenclature rules, and taxonomic keys. Coverage includes botany, zoology, microbiology, biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology, medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. The BIOSIS Previews database includes the contents of Biological Abstracts, Biological Abstracts/RRM and BioResearch Index. Biological Abstracts is one of the main bibliographic references to the life sciences journal literature. It indexes biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, discoveries of new organisms, agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Biological Abstracts/RRM complements Biological Abstracts by providing coverage of international reviews, reports, and meetings, as well as books. It covers biology, medicine, agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts to international research in all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology. Information is drawn from journals, conference proceeding, directories, and other sources. Major areas of coverage include: Agricultural applications; Antibiotics, hormones, and immunological substances; Antisense technology; Aquaculture and fisheries; Biochemical applications; Bioengineering; Biofouling, corrosion, and adhesives; Biomaterials; Biomedical engineering; Biomedical equipment; Biopesticides; Biopolymers; Bioreactors and enzymes; Bioremediation; Biotechnological methods; Breeding techniques; Chemical and mineral products; Cloning; Cybernetics; Drug delivery systems; Energy applications; Production and conservation; Environmental applications; Fermentation; Food production and food safety tests; Genetic engineering and gene therapy; Human rehabilitation engineering; Industrial lubricants; Marine applications; Medical applications.
CAB Abstracts
Database indexing the literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. Covers journal articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters. This is now the source for Leisure, Recreation, and Tourism Abstracts.
Conference Papers Index
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings. Include citations to papers and ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference. Major areas of coverage include: Agriculture; Biochemistry; Chemistry; Chemical engineering; Forestry; Biology; Environmental science; Soil science; Biotechnology; Clinical medicine.
Current Contents Connect
Current Contents Connect is a weekly table-of-contents database that presents the contents pages of current issues of the world's scholarly and technical journals, books, and proceedings literature.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
Includes citations for dissertations and master's theses, with abstracts and full text for many.
Fish & Fisheries Worldwide
Provides citations and some abstracts for journal articles, books, monographs, pamphlets, conference proceedings, symposia, government reports, gray literature, theses, dissertations, unpublished research reports, field studies, & surveys from U.S. state agencies. Aggregates eight major databases: Fish Subset of Medline; FISHLIT; Fisheries Review; Fishing Industry Research Institute (FIRI) Database; Fish Database; Castell's Nutrition References; AQUACULTURE; Fish Health News. Topical coverage includes: Aquaculture; Physiology; Ecology & Environment; Academic Ichthyology; Fish Diseases; Fisheries; Pollution Studies; Experimental Research; Directory of Fish Scientitsts; Distribution; Economic Aspects. Strengths include: tropical areas and African freshwater fish; fin fish; North American resources; veterinary science; detection and control of fish diseases in aquaculture species; human nutrition as it relates to fish or shellfish diet, including fish oils, allergies to fish and shellfish, poisonous fish; fish and shellfish processing and quality control of fish products; fish management, streams, wetlands, and endangered species; fish, crustacean, and mullusc nutrition references; fish culture (not nutrition); marine, freshwater, and brackishwater organisms; fish diseases and infections.
GeoBase - [WebSpirs]
GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database supplying citations and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics, development studies, as well as some coverage in leisure, recreation and tourism, fisheries, wildlife, botany, zoology, microbiology. Coverage includes books; refereed scientific papers; trade journal and magazine articles; product reviews; directories; conference proceedings; and reports. Also covers non-English language publications.
GrayLit Network
Portal to simultaneously search technical reports from Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Report Collection (including biological and medical sciences; environmental pollution and control; behavioral and social sciences; and patents and patent applications); DOE Information Bridge Report Collection (physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy); EPA - National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) (water quality, wastewater, pesticides, ecological issues, wetlands); NASA Jet Propulsion Lab (JPL) Technical Reports (propulsion, deep space developments, and robotic missions); and NASA Langley Technical Reports (aeronautical and space science).
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic
Full-text and abstracts for news, business, and legal information.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
A multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text from several full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
PapersFirst (FirstSearch)
Indexes papers presented at conferences, symposia, etc.
ProceedingsFirst (FirstSearch)
Indexes papers presented at conferences, symposia, etc.
Science Citation Index
Part of the Web of Science, an integrated search tool to find articles on a topic and locate articles that cite or are cited by that article or author. Covers thousands of journals in all disciplines in sciences and social sciences.
ScienceDirect
Indexing, abstracting, and full-text of research journals in many scientific disciplines.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Directory to periodical literature including magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, and electronic formats. Find information about circulation, publisher contacts, subscription price, title changes, and standard numbers (ISSN). Use this source to find out which abstracting and indexing services cover a particular journal.
Web of Science
Portal for ISI databases, including bibliographic and citation indexing. An integrated search tool to find articles on a topic and locate articles that cite or are cited by that article or author. Covers thousands of journals in all disciplines in sciences and social sciences.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Search a union catalog of books and periodicals held by libraries worldwide. A good general resource for locating materials held by TAMU and not held by TAMU. Includes links to request items through Get it for me and Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Zoological Record -1978 to Current
Zoological Record -Archive 1864-1977
Comprehensive index to zoological literature, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, etc. Indexes professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, reviews, and conference proceedings.
Other Recommended Guides |