Biology

— filed under:

 

Biology - Links to Web Sites

 

Taxonomy and Systematics Resources on the Web

·         Algaebase http://www.algaebase.org/ "listing the world's algae"

·         AmphibiaWeb http://www.amphibiaweb.org/ information on amphibian biology and conservation

·         Amphibian Species of the World http://research.amnh.org/herpetology/amphibia/index.php

·         Catalog of Fishes (W. N. Eschmeyer) http://www.calacademy.org/research/ichthyology/catalog/fishcatsearch.html

·         CephBase http://www.cephbase.utmb.edu/ "A database-driven web site on all living cephalopods (octopus, squid, cuttlefish and nautilus)"

·         Crustacea.net http://www.crustacea.net/index.htm An information retrieval system for crustaceans of the world

·         Digital Taxonomy - Biodiversity Search Engines http://digitaltaxonomy.infobio.net/index.php?Data:Biodiversity_Search_Engines

·         ePIC - Electronic Plant Information Centre http://www.kew.org/epic/index.htm Search plant species information from the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

·         FishBase http://www.fishbase.org/home.htm Global information system on fishes

·         Flora of North America http://www.fna.org/FNA/ "names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized found in North America north of Mexico."

·         FlyBase http://flybase.bio.indiana.edu/ database of the Drosophila genome

·         GRIN Taxonomy for Plants http://www.ars-grin.gov/cgi-bin/npgs/html/index.pl Taxonomic data from the USDA Germplasm Resources Information Network

·         GulfBase http://www.gulfbase.org/ a database of resources about the Gulf of Mexico

·         HerpNet http://www.herpnet.org/  -- Taxonomic information on reptiles and amphibians

·         Integrated Taxonomic Information System (USDA) -- Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

·         LPSN (List of Prokaryotic names with Standing in Nomenclature) http://www.bacterio.cict.fr/

·         NatureServe http://www.natureserve.org/ information and data on science, conservation, ecosystem management, and natural heritage

·         NCBI Taxonomy Homepage from the National Library of Medicine

·         PLANTS Database http://plants.usda.gov/index.html "standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories" from the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service

·         Tree of Life Web Project http://tolweb.org/tree/phylogeny.html (information about the characteristics and evolutionary history of organisms)

·         TreeBase http://www.treebase.org/treebase/index.html Phylogenetic data on trees

·         uBio (Universal Biological Indexer and Organizer) http://www.ubio.org

·         World Biodiversity Database http://ip30.eti.uva.nl/bis/index.php Search by taxa or view a taxonomic tree

·         Wikispecies - View the taxonomic hierarchy for species and higher groups

Other links of interest:

American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS)

Bioinformatics Organization

Biological collections at Texas A&M

Biology Department (Texas A&M)

BIOSIS BiologyBrowser (conferences, news, issues forum,  Web resources, etc.)

BioSciRegister (An online biotechnology buyer's guide)

The Birds of North America Online

National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) U.S. Geological Survey
portal for data, information, and tools on biological resources

Electronic Pre-Prints and E-Prints in the Biological Sciences:

arXiv.org e-Print archive in Biological Physics http://arxiv.org/list/physics.bio-ph/recent

arXiv.org e-Print archive in Quantitative Biology http://arxiv.org/archive/q-bio

Behavioral and Brain Sciences Online http://www.bbsonline.org/

Bioline International EPrints Repository (Subject: Biological Sciences) http://bioline.utsc.utoronto.ca/view/subjects/blgc.html

Cogprints Cognitive Sciences Eprint Archive http://cogprints.ecs.soton.ac.uk/

Cogprints Subject:Biology http://cogprints.ecs.soton.ac.uk/view/subjects/bio.html

GenomeBiolgy.com preprint depository http://genomebiology.com/preprint/

List of Preprint Resources on the Web http://www.lib.iastate.edu/services1/ref/preprint.html

List of E-Print servers in Biology and Medicine  http://www.osti.gov/eprints/pathways/biologyandmedicine.shtml

List of E-Print servers in Biotechnology  http://www.osti.gov/eprints/pathways/biotechnology.shtml

List of E-Print servers in Environmental Sciences and Ecology  http://www.osti.gov/eprints/pathways/environmentalsciences.shtml

 

Related Links

Document Actions
Your Librarians
Position
Science and Engineering Librarian
Department
Info and Collection Svc - Sciences, Engineering and Liaison Svc
Contact Information
Evans, Room 1.110F
(979) 845-7572
Position
Agriculture and Life Sciences Librarian
Department
Info and Collection Svc - Sciences, Engineering and Liaison Svc
Contact Information
Evans, Room 207A Evans
(979) 862-1066
 
Giving to the Libraries