Biomedical Engineering
Annotated Lists of Databases & Sources
Databases Grouped By Subject | Databases Listed Alphabetically | Reference Shelf
Step by Step Instructions to Finding Full-Text Journal Articles using the Databases
Subject Grouping of Databases
Biomaterials & Materials Science
CSA Biological Sciences (Calcified Tissue subfile) | CSA Materials Research Database | SciFinder
Biomedical & Biotechnology
BIOSIS | CSA Biological Sciences | CSA Biotechnology | Medline (Ovid Web) | PubMed | SciFinder
Computing, Electronics, Engineering, Instrumentation, Physics, Optics
ACM Portal | Compendex | CSA Engineering Research | CSA Technology Research | IEEE | INSPEC | IOP | Safari | Scitation | Scitopia | SPIE Digital Library | Spin Web
Multidisciplinary Science/Engineering Databases
CSA Scientific Abstracts | Current Contents | Dissertations | Ebsco Academic Search
FirstSearch | ISI Web of Knowledge | ScienceDirect | Wilson Periodical Indexes
Multidisciplinary Science/Engineering E-journal Collections
EBSCOhost | HighWire Press | ScienceDirect | Scitation | Springer | Synergy | Taylor & Francis | Wiley
News: Business & Industry, Legal & Regulatory
ABI/Inform | Ebsco Business | Newspaper Source (EBSCO) | Lexis-Nexis | Wilson
Patents & Intellectual Property
Canadian IPO | CSA Biotechnology | European PO | Japan PO | SciFinder (chemical patents) | USPTO
| World IPO | Patents Searching Guide
Reference Data and Handbooks
ASM | ChemNetBase | DiscoveryGate | EngNetBase | ESDU | Knovel
Standards and Specifications
IEEE | SAI Global Standards Database | NSSN | Standards Subject Guide
Technical Papers, Government Research Reports
GPOAccess | GrayLit Network | IEEE | NASA | NTIS | STINET
Alphabetic Listing of Databases & E-Journal Packages
A-B C-D E-G H-K L-O P-S T-Z
A-B
ABI/Inform
Coverage 1971-present. Worldwide business and management information from 1500-plus periodicals, full text available from more than half.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
Coverage varies with title. Full text of >3000 scholarly publications; multi-disciplinary, including computer science, engineering, and medical sciences.
ACM Portal: The ACM Digital Library
Coverage varies with title, from 1947-. Full text of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journal articles, transactions, proceedings, magazines, and newsletters.
Aerospace & High Technology (CSA)
Coverage from 1962-. Now called CSA High Technology Research Database, covering aeronautics, computer and information technology, electronics, and physics. Indexes the periodical literature, and NASA and other government reports.
Applied Science and Technology (Wilson)
Indexing and abstracting, and selected full text, of >500 journals in the applied sciences, including artificial intelligence, biotechnology, materials science, and all types of engineering.
ArticleFirst (FirstSearch)
Coverage 1990-. Multidisciplinary journal article index; citations only, no abstracts.
Biological and Medical Sciences (CSA)
Coverage 1982-. Includes biotechnology, biomedical engineering, Medline, NTIS, etc.
BIOSIS Previews (OVID)
Coverage 1993-. Indexing and abstracting of approximately 5500 life sciences journals, also technical data reports, content summaries, meeting abstracts, and patents.
Top of Page
C-D
Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage 1982-present. Now a subfile within CSA Biological. Indexing and abstracting of the literature on bone grafts, implants and biomaterials, as well as the role of calcium in all body systems.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage varies with sub-database. Multiple databases indexing and abstracting the research and applied literature of agriculture, biology, medicine and biotechnology; aquatic, atmospheric, and geoastrophysical sciences; computers, engineering, and materials science; education; business and marketing; and social sciences. Links to TAMU catalog, to some full text, and related Web sites.
Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Coverage: Patents1920-present; Copyrights 1991-present; Trademarks 1979-present. Databases for Canadian patents, trademarks, and copyrights. Patent images and text available after 1978.
Compendex
Coverage 1880s to present. Evolved from the print Engineering Index. Indexes and abstracts the literature of all engineering fields. Combined search of Compendex and Inspec databases available on this site.
Computer and Information Systems Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage 1981-present. Now available through CSA High Technology Research Database. Theoretical and applied research in computer science.
Conference Papers Index (CSA)
Coverage 1982-present. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life, environmental, and aquatic sciences; older material also covers physics, engineering, and materials science.
CRC ENGnetBASE
Searchable full text of ~1200 engineering handbooks from CRC Press. Engineering fields covered include: avionics, biomedical, communications, computer, environmental, electrical, HVAC, materials science, mechanical, micro- & nanotechnology, neural networks, ocean, structural, thermal, etc.
CSA Engineering Research Database
Coverage 1966-Current. Indexing and abstracting of the literature of civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, and transportation engineering.
CSA High Technology Research Database
Coverage 1962 - Current. Aeronautics, computer and information technology, electronics, physics.
CSA Materials Research Database
Coverage 1966-Current. Indexing and abstracting of the literature of materials science, metals and alloys, engineered materials, and ceramics.
Current Contents Connect (ISI)
Multidisciplinary, international coverage; indexing and bibliographic information from the tables of contents of >7500 journals. Abstracts for 85% of science articles. Links to full text of articles from e-journals to which TAMU subscribes.
Digital Dissertations
Coverage from 1861-present, citations and abstracts. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
Top of Page
E-G
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
Search or browse thousands of electronic journals from many different publishers; access full text for journals to which TAMU subscribes.
EBSCOhost Research Databases
List of Ebsco databases: full-text, multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases.
Electronics and Communications Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage 1981-present. Now available through CSA High Technology Research Database. Topics include new hardware and instrumentation research, electromagnetic waves, electric circuits, network analysis, electric filters, electronic circuits and components, control engineering, lasers, optics, electro-optical communications, sound systems.
Elsevier Science Direct Journals
Coverage varies with title. Indexing and abstracting of major journals in many fields of science and engineering; full text of >1000 Elsevier-published journals.
Engineered Materials Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage 1986-present. Now available through CSA Materials Research Database. Literature on research, manufacturing practices, properties and applications of polymers, ceramics, and composites.
European Patent Office
Click on Search Engines > Espacenet to search 30-million-plus patent applications having English titles and abstracts, or search EPO and World PCT applications in their original language. Link to full text and images of EPO, PCT patents.
Federal Gateway
Guide to U.S. Government WWW sites.
FirstSearch Databases
Multidisciplinary collection of databases indexing the journal literature (ArticleFirst) and conference papers and proceedings. Also worldwide library holdings searchable through WorldCat.
Global Books in Print
Find information about English-language books, audios, or videos published worldwide. TAMU users can customize to receive alerts of forthcoming books in subjects of interest.
GPO Access
Online government publications through U.S. Government Printing Office.
GPO Monthly Catalog
Coverage 1976-present. Records on all subjects of interest to the U.S. government. Links to full text of many recent items.
H-K
Health Reference Center - Academic
Coverage 1996-present. Health reference resources, both consumer publications and academic journals.
Highwire Press
Indexing and abstracting of biomedical literature; full text of about 400 titles in biological, medical, physical, and social sciences. Browse articles by topic map, a graphical viewer, as well as retrieval by conventional searching.
IEEE Electronic Library Online
Full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards.
SAI Standards
Over 250 standards-issuing authorities are covered, including all of the major worldwide standards. For IEEE standards go to IEEE Xplore database. For ASTM standards visit the Reference Desk.
Ingenta Online Journals
Multidisciplinary collection of electronic journal articles; links to full-text of TAMU e-journal subscriptions.
INSPEC on Ei Engineering Village 2
Indexing of world literature of physics, electronics, electrical and control engineering, and computer science.
Institute of Physics Journals
Full-text of 35 current titles from 1993-present, plus archives of all IOP journals from 1874-1993.
Japan Patent Office
Coverage 1971-present English translations of abstracts of unexamined patent applications; 1922-1996 examined. Databases of Patent Abstracts of Japan, Trademarks of Japan.
Journal Citation Reports
Citation data providing quantitative tools for ranking, evaluating, categorizing, and comparing the journals from most academic disciplines.
Journals of the American Heart Association
Full text of AHA journals (6 titles) from 1995-present; indexing and abstracting of archival titles. Topic Map graphical viewer available as well as keyword search.
Journals of the American Medical Association
Full text from 1998-present for JAMA and 10 medical specialities Archives titles.
Journals of the American Physical Association
Search PROLA (Physical Reviews Online Archive from 1893); full text of current Physical Review titles; search Virtual Journals, an online collection of relevant papers in hot research areas assembled from a broad range of "source" journals in the physical sciences, jointly established by APS and AIP.
JSTOR
Archival journal collection; coverage varies with title, from as early as 17th century, up to moving wall of 3-5 years preceding current year. Arts and humanities, social sciences, botany and ecology, general science, and mathematics and statistics.
KNOVEL
Full-text of approximately 1800 electronic reference books on biochemistry and biotechnology, chemistry and chemical engineering, electrical engineering, food science, materials science, mechanical engineering, safety engineering and more.
Kluwer Journals Online
Multidisciplinary scholarly ejournal package, approximately 700 titles.
Top of Page
L-O
Materials Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Molecular modeling, polymers, membranes for biological use, biomaterials, composites, plastics, mechanics of solids.
MD Consult
Professional clinical medical literature; textbooks, journals, drug information, patient handouts, practice guidelines, topic updates.
Medline (Ovid Web)
Subject coverage: medicine, biomedicine, veterinary medicine, and other related health sciences. Ovid interface with mapping of search terms to official MeSH terms.
Medline (CSA)
Coverage 1997-present. Subject coverage: medicine, biomedicine, veterinary medicine, and other related health sciences.
Medline (Ebsco)
Subject coverage: medicine, biomedicine, veterinary medicine, and other related health sciences.
NASA Technical Reports Server
Abstracts of technical literature from the various NASA centers and programs; more than 600,000 records, updates weekly.
Nature Journals Online
The journal Nature plus nearly 50 biomedical titles.
netLibrary
Large multidisciplinary collection of e-books, full text and images. TAMU users can create a free personalized account with personal lists and notes, and access books from any WWW connection.
NTIS
Reports, analyses of U.S. government-sponsored research, development, and engineering world-wide; prepared by federal agencies, contractors or grantees. Includes gov. patent applications. Use AN number (from NTIS record) to find in NTIS microfiche collection in the Microtext Department on the second floor of Evans.
NSSN
Indexing of national and international standards, database is freely available to the public, but not the full text of standards. To order copies of standards TAMU users should use the ILI Standards database.
Top of Page
P-S
PapersFirst (FirstSearch)
Citations to papers included in every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received at The British Library.
Patent full-text and full-page image databases
Contains both full-text and bibliographic information for patents (1976-present) and patent images (1790-present). Please go to http://www.uspto.gov/patft/help/images.htm for help on images.
ProceedingsFirst (FirstSearch)
Citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received at The British Library.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine)
The Medline database searchable by the NCBI/NLM sophisticated Entrez retrieval system, plus access to many resources in genetics and bioinformatics. Links to full-text biomedical journals and books. Freely available to the public. To reap the full benefits of this resource the online tutorial is recommended.
Safari Tech Books Online
Searchable full-text books on computer applications and information technology.
Science Citation Index (ISI)
Now known as the Web of Knowledge, the portal for the ISI citation databases that index the scholarly journal literature, count the number of times a work has been cited, and link to the citing articles.
ScienceDirect
Coverage varies with title. Indexing and abstracting of major journals in many fields of science and engineering; full text of >1000 Elsevier-published journals.
SciFinder is the major database for the worldwide chemical literature, including Chemical Abstracts citations and abstracts, and links to the full text of articles from electronic journals to which TAMU subscribes. Structure and reaction searching available. BMEN users will find it particularly useful for biomedical materials research. There are two different methods for accessing SciFinder, as described below.
SciFinder Scholar (download dedicated client)
The dedicated SciFinder client, which enables Web-based access to SciFinder, is recommended for download to departmental (classrooms, offices) or personal computers (home, laptops); see SciFinder Citrix Access below if you are using a public computer in the library or in an on-campus OAL computing center. If you are using a computer located on campus or dialing into the campus
modems bank or using campus DSL service you will be able to download and use
the SciFinder client software without additional configuration. If you are located off campus using a third party Internet Service Provider
you will need to establish a VPN
connection to the campus before you download or use this software. Please
contact the CIS main helpdesk if you have
any questions or need assistance with setting up this kind of connection to
campus.
SciFinder Scholar (Citrix Access)
On-campus users in the library and open access computing centers should use this interface. Since there is no proxy access to this resource, off-campus users with cable modems will need to use the Citrix access also. There are download links from the SciFinder copyright statement page for the installation of the necessary Citrix client and VPN software.
Scitation
AIP's online journal hosting service for more than 110 titles in the physical sciences, engineering, and technology. Cross-links to content in many other scientific databases; TAMU users may register and customize the site.
SIAM Journals Online
Applied mathematics and computational science.
Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts
Now available through the CSA High Technology Research Database. World literature on the theory, production, and application of solid state materials, solid state devices, and superconductivity technology; topics include electric, magnetic, and thermionic materials, electronic components, lasers, and solid state physics.
SPIN Web (Searchable Physics Information Notices)
Abstracts from over 80 journals published by AIP and its member societies.
Springer-Verlag LINK
Multidisciplinary online collection of scholarly journals; about 500 titles.
Standards Subject Guide
Overview and description of the available print and online resources to locate and obtain copies of standards, specifications, and codes. Links to electronic standards resources.
StatRef
Collection of clinical medical textbooks, drug information, evidence-based medicine articles, and practice guidelines.
STINET Quick Search: Scientific and Technical Documents
The publicly-available technical reports collection from the Defense Technical Information Center. Defense-related research and some basic science research in biomedical, environmental, and behavioral sciences.
Springer-Verlag Link
Multidisciplinary online collection of scholarly journals; about titles.
Synergy
Multidisciplinary online collection of scholarly journals; about 700 titles.
Top of Page
T-Z
U.S. Government Databases
Search across multiple databases of legislative and regulatory materials simultaneously, or locate government resources grouped in broad subject areas such as education, science and technology, or the environment.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Data on over 210,000 regularly-published and irregularly-issued serials, including over 47,000 cessations since 1979.
USPTO Patent Reference Databases
Patent reference resources.
Web of Knowledge (ISI)
The portal for the ISI citation databases that index the scholarly journal literature, count the number of times a work has been cited, and link to the citing articles.
Web of Science (ISI)
Now known as the Web of Knowledge, the portal for the ISI citation databases that index the scholarly journal literature, count the number of times a work has been cited, and link to the citing articles.
WELDASEARCH
Now available through the CSA Materials Research Database. Scientific and technical literature in the areas of joining metals, plastics, and ceramics, metal and ceramic spraying, thermal cutting, brazing, soldering and related topics.
Wiley Interscience Journals
Collection of >400 scholarly titles covering many scientific disciplines.
World Intellectual Property Organization
Link to News & Information Resources > PCT Electronic Gazette to search for Patent Cooperation Treaty applications; PCT links to EPO's espacenet for full-text images from June 1998 forward.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. OCLC is a consortium of more than 45,000 libraries in 84 countries and territories. Use the Get it for me link in WorldCat records to order materials not owned by the TAMU Libraries.
Top of Page
Step by Step Instructions to Finding Full-Text Journal Articles using the Databases
-
Use the recommended databases and E-journal packages to search for journal articles, conference papers, and other indexed material.
-
Some of the databases contain links to the full-text of articles, but when the full text of an article is not linked directly from the database, click on the Find Text@TAMU or the SFX link, if present, to identify additional retrieval options.
-
When no Find Text/SFX link is present, use the Search Now for E-Journal on the library home page to search for TAMU electronic subscriptions to the journal title (not the title of the article) and browse through the journal's archival list of volumes to go to the volume, issue, and page number of the article that you are seeking.
-
If no electronic source is available, search the catalogs LibCat (Evans & WCL) and Chiron (Medical Sciences Library) for the TAMU print holdings of the journal, or use the Get it for me service to order an electronic copy of the article from a consortium of libraries. (Available to TAMU faculty, staff, and students only).
Top of Page
Under Construction
Reference Shelf (How do I find?...)
- Abbreviations, Acronyms, & Initialisms Acronyms Lookup
-
Associations & Societies
- Biochemical Information
- Biomaterials Information
- Chemical Names & Structures
- Chemical Reactions & Syntheses
- Chemical Suppliers
- Chemical & Physical Properties
- Conference Papers & Proceedings
- Conversion Factors
- Crystallography
- Dissertations & Theses
- Dictionaries & Glossaries
- Encyclopedias
- Engineering Design Data
- Government Information
- Handbooks & Texts Online
- How many times a paper / an author is cited?
- Journal information / rankings
- News (Industry & Trade)
- Patents
- Periodic Tables
- Safety; MSDS
- Spectra
- Standards & Specifications
- Statistical Data
- Statistical Methodology
- Technical & Research Reports
- Thermochemical & Thermodynamic Data
- Tutorials & Learning Resources
- Unit Convertors
- Web Portals and Meta-sites
- Writing and Publishing Resources
Related Links |
Other Recommended Guides |