University Libraries Subject Guides Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

— filed under:

Annotated List of Indexes and Databases for Chemical Engineering

Search within the databases listed below to identify journal articles, conference papers, etc., by subject, author or keyword.

Full-Text Retrieval Options: Some of the databases contain links to the full-text of articles. When no direct full text link is available, click on the SFX link to identify additional retrieval options. If no SFX link is present, use the Search for E-Journal on the library home page to determine whether TAMU owns electronic access to the journal's articles. For access to print journal subscriptions, do a journal title search in LibCat, the libraries' online catalog, to determine the journal's holdings, call number, and physical location. When the TAMU libraries have neither electronic nor print access for the desired journal title, TAMU patrons may use the Get it for me service to obtain electronic copies of journal articles.

Academic Search Complete
    
Coverage: Varies with title - Through Present, Source: EBSCO Publishing
     Provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications, 3,100 of which are peer reviewed. Multi-disciplinary and includes chemistry. Some material back to 1975. A very good database for undergraduates to use.

Applied Science and Technology Full Text
     Coverage: 1993 - Through Present, Source: Wilson OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition
     One of the Wilson collection of databases in various disciplines with selected full-text coverage. These resources may be searched together or separately. Applied Science and Technology Index and General Science Index will be useful to undergraduate engineering students.

ArticleFirst (FirstSearch)
     Coverage: 1990 - Through Present, Source: OCLC
     Indexes articles from the contents pages of journals. It is multi-disciplinary and covers over 12,000 journals in all fields, including chemical engineering. Good source for very recent information. Updated daily.

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
     Coverage: Varies with database - Through Present, Source: CSA
     Multiple databases that may be searched individually or in groupings by related subject areas. The biotechnology, environmental, and materials science databases, as well as the NTIS database, may be of interest to chemical engineers. Coverage is generally from the 1970s to the present.

Canadian Intellectual Property Office
     Coverage: Patents1920-present; Copyrights 1991-present; Trademarks 1979-present - Through Present, Source: CIPO
     Databases for Canadian patents, trademarks, copyrights. Patent images and text available after Aug 1978.

Conference Papers Index
     Coverage: 1982 - Through Present, Source: CSA
     Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings. Ordering information is included. Biochemistry, chemistry, chemical engineering, environmental science, biotechnology and clinical medicine are included in the coverage; subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life, aquatic, and environmental sciences.

Compendex on Ei Engineering Village2
     Coverage: 1884 - Through Present
     Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering abstract database, Compendex indexes journal & magazine articles, conference papers, technical reports, etc. from 1970 to the present. This index/abstract database links to some of the libraries’ other full text resources. This database provides worldwide coverage for all fields of engineering and should be searched in every chemical engineering literature search.

Discovery Gate

Coverage: 1779 - Through Present,Source: MDL Information Systems
Interface to multiple databases containing data for synthesis, bioactivity, physical properties, metabolism, toxicity, or sourcing of chemicals, and citations to the original literature report of the data. Includes the Beilstein Organic Chemistry Handbook, Gmelin Inorganic Chemistry Handbook, and other MDL databases, plus integration and linking to public databases such as NCI and Toxnet.  Beilstein is much easier to use on the Web based Discovery Gate system.  However, a few heavy users may still wish to use the Beilstein Commander interface, which is still available (See instructions under (MDL CrossFire Commander Beilstein Organic Chemistry Handbook below.).  Chemical engineers will really like being able to search across databases.  The information on sources and properties of chemical substances can be a great time saver.  The reaction databases provide details on reactions in graphic and tabular form.

European Patent Office
     Coverage: - Through Present, Source: European Patent Office
     Search 30 million patent applications worldwide with English titles and abstracts. Links to full-text and images of patents.

MDL CrossFire Commander (Beilstein Organic Chemistry Handbook)
     Coverage: 1779 - Through Present, Source: MDL Information Systems
     Crossfire Commander is the interface to the online Beilstein organic chemistry handbook, which provides property and reaction data for organic chemicals, and citations to the original literature report of the data. Very important resource for organic chemists.
     To establish a connection to the Beilstein server from off campus you must either dial through the campus modems bank or use the PPTP VPN client. The Cisco VPN client used to access campus resources will not provide access to the Beilstein server, which is located off campus.
     On-campus users may install the Beilstein dedicated client on office computers to replace the Citrix-mediated access used in the libraries and open-access computing labs.

NTIS
     Coverage: 1964 - Through Present, Source: CSA
     Indexing of the reports and analyses of U.S. government-sponsored research in all fields, prepared by federal agencies, contractors or grantees. Use the accession number (AN) in the citation to locate NTIS reports housed in the Course Reserves/Current Periodicals Dept., which is located on the 2nd floor of the Evans Library.

PapersFirst (FirstSearch)
     Coverage: 1993 - Through Present, Source: OCLC
     An international database which indexes every paper received by the British Document Supply Centre. Theses papers are from congresses, symposia, conferences, expositions, workshops and meetings. Look up the name of the conference or meeting in LibCat to determine whether the University Libraries own the item. Do not look up the title of the paper or the author of the paper in LibCat.

Papers Invited

     This database was conceived and developed to assist researchers at all levels- scientists, professors, post-docs and students who are seeking publishing opportunities for their research papers. PapersInvited presents an exhaustive list of Calls for Papers issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines.

Patent full-text and full-page image databases
     Coverage: 1790-present (images) 1976-present (bibliographic and full-text files) - Through Present, Source: U.S. Government
     U.S. patents and trademarks. Both full-text and bibliographic information for patents (1976-) and patent images (1790-). Enter “patents” in the “Find an Index/Database” search box to obtain a list of all electronic patent sources available through the Evans Library. (Also use SciFinder Scholar to obtain information about chemical patents.)

ProceedingsFirst (FirstSearch)
     Coverage: 1993 - Through Present, Source: OCLC
     The companion database to PapersFirst listed above. While PapersFirst contains entries for each paper presented at a conference, ProceedingsFirst will contain information for the conference as a whole, along with a list of the papers presented at it.

Proquest Dissertations and Theses
     Coverage: 1861 - Through Present, Source: UMI
     A comprehensive index to doctoral dissertations in all disciplines. Some master’s theses are indexed as well, but many schools do not contribute information about their master’s theses. Dissertations published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available. TAMU users may borrow or purchase copies of non-TAMU dissertations via the Get it for me service.

SAI Global Standards 
     Over 250 standards-issuing authorities are covered, including all of the major worldwide standards. Order standards not owned by the University Libraries through this site, at no cost to you. Search by standard number, title, keyword, publisher.

SciFinder
     Coverage: 1907 - Through Present, Source: CAS
     Comprehensive index for chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, and related subjects, covering the world's literature back to 1907. It includes information on substances, reactions, and provides structure and substructure searching. It also covers patents, chemical catalogs, regulated chemicals, spectra, and experimental and calculated properties. SciFinder Web does not require client software or a Virtual Private Network (VPN) for off-campus. On-campus users may install the SciFinder dedicated client on their computers. Note that there are different clients and database versions for PCs and Macs. For off-campus use of the client version, install the dedicated SciFinder Scholar client and VPN listed in the download instructions.

TOXNET
     Coverage: - Through present, Source: National Library of Medicine
     Toxicology Data Network is a cluster of 11 databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. Some of the databases in this group are TOXLINE, HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System), CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System), and GENE-TOX (Genetic Toxicology).

Web of Science
     Coverage: 1900 - Present
     Includes the Science Citation Index, which covers the most important science and engineering journals. Search by author, subject, or look for all the papers which have cited another paper.

Chemical Engineering - Related Links

 

American Chemical Society Website – The Website of the American Chemical Society.  Check out the ACS Library section on the society website, which has information on searching the chemical literature, ACS journals, magazines, and books; finding chemical supplies or equipment; an outstanding list of recommended chemistry web sites, and more.

American Institute of Chemical Engineers

BUBL Link:  Chemical Engineering – A catalog of internet resources.  This site lists the most important URLs, including those for the major chemical engineering societies and those that are rated as the best for the field.

ChemFinder - CAS registry numbers, properties, alternative names, links to other sites

Chemical Production Figures for the USA - includes the usage statistics for the top 50 industrial chemicals

NIST Chemistry WebBook – provides access to data compiled and distributed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) under the Standard Reference Data Program.  Look here for thermochemical data for over 7,000 organic and small inorganic compounds; reaction thermochemistry data for over 8,000 reactions; IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds; mass spectra for over 15,000 compounds, and much more.  You can search for data on specific compounds in the Chemistry WebBook based on name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, etc.   http://webbook.nist.gov

NIST Data Gateway – provides easy access to over 80 of the NIST scientific and technical databases.  These databases cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines.  The Gateway includes links to free online NIST data systems as well as to information on NIST databases available for purchase.  Search options for the Gateway include keyword, property, and substance name.   http://www.nist.gov/srd

Physical Reference Data – Includes physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopic data, X-ray and gamma-ray data, condensed matter data, etc. http://physics.nist.gov/PhysRefData/contents.html

SciFinder Scholar Support and Training page
– The Chemical Abstracts Serviced (CAS) web page provides  guides for SciFinder Scholar’s many features.  Tutorials on SciFinder Scholar can also be accessed through this site.

WWW Virtual Library:  Chemical Engineering (U. of Florida) http://www.che.ufl.edu/WWW-CHE/

Yahoo - Chemical Engineering

Document Actions
Your Librarians
Position
Science and Engineering Librarian
Department
Info and Collection Svc - Sciences, Engineering and Liaison Svc
Contact Information
Evans, Room 111E
979.862.1902
Position
Science and Engineering Librarian
Department
Info and Collection Svc - Sciences, Engineering and Liaison Svc
Contact Information
1.207G
(979) 862-4235
 
Giving to the Libraries