Chemistry
Online Sources for Chemistry
Article Databases | E-Books | E-Journals | Reference Sources | Related Links
Indexing/Abstracting Databases for the Chemical Literature
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: Varies with title - Through Present,Source: EBSCO Publishing
Provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications, 3,100 of which are peer reviewed. Multi-disciplinary and includes chemistry. Some material back to 1975. A very good database for undergraduates to use.
Applied Science and Technology Full Text
Coverage: 1993- - Through Present,Source: Wilson OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition
One of the Wilson collection of databases in various disciplines with selected full-text coverage. These resources may be searched together or separately. Applied Science and Technology Index and General Science Index will be useful to undergraduate chemistry students.
ArticleFirst (FirstSearch)
Coverage: 1990- - Through Present,Source: OCLC
Indexes articles from the contents pages of journals. It is multi-disciplinary and covers over 12,000 journals in all fields, including chemistry. Good source for very recent information. Updated daily.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Coverage: Varies with database - Through Present,Source: CSA
Multiple databases that may be searched individually or in groupings by related subject areas. The biological and medical, biotechnology, environmental, and materials science databases, as well as the NTIS database, may be of interest to chemists. Coverage is generally from the 1970s to the present.
Conference Papers Index
Coverage: 1982- - Through Present,Source: CSA
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings. Ordering information is included. Biochemistry, chemistry, chemical engineering, environmental science, biotechnology and clinical medicine are included in the coverage; subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life, aquatic, and environmental sciences.
NTIS
Coverage: 1964- - Through Present,Source: CSA
Indexing of the reports and analyses of U.S. government-sponsored research in all fields, prepared by federal agencies, contractors or grantees. Use the accession number (AN) in the citation to locate NTIS reports housed in the Course Reserves/ Current Periodicals Dept. , which is located on the 2nd floor of the Evans Library.
PapersFirst (FirstSearch)
Coverage: 1993- - Through Present,Source: OCLC
An international database which indexes every paper received by the British Document Supply Centre. Theses papers are from congresses, symposia, conferences, expositions, workshops and meetings. Look up the name of the conference or meeting in LibCat to determine whether the University Libraries own the item. Do not look up the title of the paper or the author of the paper in LibCat.
Papers Invited
This database was conceived and developed to assist researchers at all levels- scientists, professors, post-docs and students who are seeking publishing opportunities for their research papers. PapersInvited presents an exhaustive list of Calls for Papers issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines.
ProceedingsFirst (FirstSearch)
Coverage: 1993- - Through Present,Source: OCLC
The companion database to PapersFirst listed above. While PapersFirst contains entries for each paper presented at a conference, ProceedingsFirst will contain information for the conference as a whole, along with a list of the papers presented at it.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Coverage: 1861- - Through Present,Source: UMI
A comprehensive index to doctoral dissertations in all disciplines. Some master’s theses are indexed as well, but many schools do not contribute information about their master’s theses. Dissertations published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available. TAMU users may borrow or purchase copies of non-TAMU dissertations via the Get it for me service.
SciFinder
Coverage: 1907- Present
Comprehensive index for chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, and
related subjects, covering the world's literature back to 1907. It includes
information on substances, reactions, and provides structure and substructure
searching. It also covers patents, chemical catalogs, regulated chemicals,
spectra, and experimental and calculated properties. SciFinder Web does not
require client software or a Virtual Private Network (VPN) for off-campus.
On-campus users may install the SciFinder dedicated client on their computers.
Note that there are different clients and database versions for PCs and Macs.
For off-campus use of the client version, install the dedicated SciFinder
Scholar client and VPN listed in the download instructions.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - Present
Includes the Science Citation Index, which covers the most important science and engineering journals. Search by author, subject, or look for all the papers which have cited another paper.
E-Book Databases with Chemistry Content
Most, but not all, e-books have records in LibCat (title, author, subjects); to search the full text of e-books use the e-book databases listed below.
- eBrary (multidisciplinary)
- EngNetBase (~900 CRC handbooks)
- Knovel (~800 engineering handbooks; interactive data interface)
- netLibrary (multidisciplinary)
- Referex (reference titles & texts)
- Safari (computing applications & languages)
- Science Direct (reference titles & texts)
- Springer Online (multidisciplinary)
- Synthesis Digital Library (engineering, computer science)
- Wiley (reference titles)
Chemistry Reference Sources
CHEMnetBase | CINDAS | Crystallography | Discovery Gate | Science of Synthesis
CHEMnetBase
A collection of databases from the CRC Press. It includes: Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - The online version corresponds to the 86th edition of the print Handbook. Some of the larger tables have been revised and expanded in the 86th edition.
CRC Polymers: A Property Database
Properties of Organic Compounds is a database that contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compound, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.
Combined Chemical Dictionary is a structured database on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. The components can be searched simultaneously or separately. The Combined Chemical Dictionary online contains all those records published in:
- Dictionary of Organic Compounds
- Dictionary of Natural Products
- Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
- Dictionary of Drugs
- Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds
CINDAS
Includes the Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database.
Crystallography Resources
- International Tables for Crystallography (through Springer Online Books)
- Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD-for-WWW)
Discovery Gate
Coverage: 1779 - Through Present,Source: MDL Information Systems
Interface to multiple databases containing data for synthesis, bioactivity, physical properties, metabolism, toxicity, or sourcing of chemicals, and citations to the original literature report of the data. Includes the Beilstein Organic Chemistry Handbook, Gmelin Inorganic Chemistry Handbook, and other MDL databases, plus integration and linking to public databases such as NCI and Toxnet.
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II
A comprehensive review of research in the field of Coordination Chemistry covering literature from 1980 onwards. In this set, organometallic compounds have been excluded. These are defined as compounds where metal-carbon bonds are greater than half the coordination number of the metal. While this is a specialized work, some upper division chemistry majors could find this database useful. The Library has Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry I in print (QD474 C65 1987 Evans Stacks). It covers the earlier years.
Comprehensive Organic Functional Group Transformations
Comprehensive Organic Functional Group Transformations (COFGT) aims to present the subject of organic synthesis in terms of the introduction and interconversion of functional groups. All organic structures can be considered as skeletal frameworks of carbon atoms to which functional groups are attached; it is the latter which are mainly responsible for chemical reactivity and which are highlighted in COFGT.
Comprehensive Organic Functional Group Transformations II
Comprehensive Organic Functional Group Transformations II (COFGT-II), designed for specialist and nonspecialist chemists active in academic, industrial, and government laboratories. It updates the developments of functional group transformations since the publication of the COFGT 1995.
e-EROS Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
This reference source covers around 3,800 of the most frequently used reagents and over 50,000 reactions. It is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions, etc. It provides information on uses and characteristics of each reagent.
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science
The encyclopedia covers all facets of modern analytical science. The articles cover three broad areas: analytical techniques (e.g. mass spectrometry, liquid chromatography, atomic spectrometry); areas of application (e.g. forensic, environmental, and clinical); and analytes (e.g. arsenic, nucleic acids, and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
This encyclopedia aims to cover major topics of modern biochemistry, Biological Chemistry is defined as the chemistry of the compounds and processes that constitute living organisms.
Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry
Contains both definition articles and in depth articles on computational chemistry.
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
This encyclopedia can be searched by author, article title, section title, or keyword. In addition, users can browse within the following broad subject areas:Main Group Elements; Transition Metals and Coordination Chemistry; Organometallic Chemistry; Bioinorganic Chemistry; Solid State, Materials, Nanomaterials and Catalysis. A pull down menu allows users to see all of the articles related to the broad topics.
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
This is an excellent encyclopedia for users who need basic information on one of the topics covered. The subject distribution is: 17% chemistry; 5% molecular biology and biotechnology; 11% physics; 10% earth sciences; 3% environment and atmospheric sciences; 12% computers and telecommunications; 8% electronics, optics, and lasers; 7% mathematics; 8% astronomy, astrophysics, and space technology; 6% energy and power; 6% materials; 7% engineering, aerospace, and transportation. The relative distribution between basic and applied subjects is: 60% basic sciences, 7% mathematics, and 33% engineering and technology.
Encyclopedia of Separation Science
Separations for the purposes of this work are defined as ‘processes of any scale by which the components of a mixture are separated from each other without substantial chemical modification’ .The editors of this work divided the area of separations into 12 topic areas, using separation principles based on affinity, centrifugation, chromatography, crystallization, distillation, electrophoresis, extraction, flotation, ion exchange, mass spectrometry, membranes and particle size.
Encyclopedia of Smart Materials
Provides coverage of intelligent materials, including theory, fabrication, processing, applications, and uses.
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
This encyclopedia is aimed at a professional scientific readership. Major divisions of the work are: Atomic Spectroscopy; Electronic Spectroscopy; Fundamentals of Spectroscopy; High Energy Spectroscopy; Magnetic Resonance; Mass Spectrometry; Spatially Resolved Spectroscopic Analysis; and Vibrational, Rotational and Raman Spectroscopies.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Comprehensive chemical encyclopedia covering all aspects of chemical technology.
Knovel database
Contains over 800 hundred full-text reference sources in the sciences and engineering. Some of the major categories to which TAMU subscribes include chemistry & chemical engineering (over 160 titles); biochemistry, biology & biotechnology; ceramics & ceramic engineering; environmental engineering; food science; general engineering references; mechanics & mechanical engineering; metals & metallurgy; pharmaceuticals, cosmetics & toiletries; plastics & rubbers; and safety and health & hygiene.
An important recent addition to Knovel is: DIPPR Project 801 - Full Version . This is a collection of Evaluated Standard Thermophysical Property Values in Knovel's interactive format. Nineteen fully searchable and filterable Interactive Tables enhanced with the Equation Plotter Applet for graphical representation of the data provide a convenient access to physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties for industrially important chemicals used in chemical process and equipment design.
Below is a sampling of the chemistry and chemical engineering titles contained in the Knovel collection:
- Biotechnological Innovations in Chemical Synthesis
- Chemical Properties Handbook
- Chemical Tradename Dictionary
- Chemistry of Nanostructured Materials
- Chemistry of Precious Metals
- Chemistry of the Elements (2nd edition)
- Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects (DOSE, 3rd Electronic Edition)
- DIPPR Project 801 (Evaluated Standard Thermophysical Property Values)
- Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry, Vols. 1 – 3
- Endocrine Disrupting Chemicals
- Handbook for Estimating Physicochemical Properties of Organic Compounds
- Handbook of Applied Surface and Colloid Chemistry
- Handbook of Emergency Response to Toxic Chemical Releases
- Handbook of Heterogeneous Catalytic Hydrogenation for Organic Synthesis
- Handbook of Industrial Membrane Technology
- Handbook of Inorganic Chemicals
- Handbook of Organic Solvent Properties
- Handbook of Solvents
- Handbook of Ultraviolet and Visible Absorption Spectra of Organic Compounds
- Handbook of Ultraviolet Methods
- Hawley’s Condensed Chemical Dictionary (14th ed.)
- HNMR Spectra of Physiologically Active Compounds
- Industrial Minerals and Their Uses – A Handbook and Formulary
- Industrial Solvents Handbook (5th ed.)
- Industrial Surfactants (2nd ed.)
- Knovel Critical Tables
- Knovel Solvents – A Properties Database
- Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry (15th ed.)
- Large-Scale Adsportion and Chromatography (Volumes 1-2)
- Materials Selection Deskbook
- Membrane Separation Systems – Recent Developments and Future Directions
- Metallocene Technology in Commercial Applications
- Microwave Molecular Spectra (3rd ed.)
- Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook (7th ed.)
- Purification of Laboratory Chemicals (5th ed.)
- Rate Equations of Polymerization Reactions
- Separation and Purification Techniques in Biotechnology
- Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th ed.)
- Survey of Industrial Chemistry (3rd ed.)
- Wiley Guide to Chemical Incompatibilities (2nd ed.)
- Yaw’s Handbook of Thermodynamic and Physical Properties of Chemical Compounds
Provides access to data compiled and distributed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) under the Standard Reference Data Program. Look here for thermochemical data for over 7,000 organic and small inorganic compounds; reaction thermochemistry data for over 8,000 reactions; IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds; mass spectra for over 15,000 compounds, and much more. You can search for data on specific compounds in the Chemistry WebBook based on name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, etc. http://webbook.nist.gov
NIST Data Gateway
Provides easy access to over 80 of the NIST scientific and technical databases. These databases cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to free online NIST data systems as well as to information on NIST databases available for purchase. Search options for the Gateway include keyword, property, and substance name. http://www.nist.gov/srd
Organic Reactions
Collection of over 140,000 important synthetic reactions, together with a critical discussion of the reaction and tables that organize all published examples of the topic reactions. Each reaction is presented with information about the reaction conditions, yield, and products, and is fully referenced with links via ChemPort and CrossRef to the primary literature.
Organic Syntheses Database
Contains tested and edited syntheses of organic and organometallic compounds. Provides details of the methods, yields, reaction conditions, and safety aspects.
Science of Synthesis
Online edition of the Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformation, currently 34 volumes in five categories covering the fields of Organometallics; Hetarenes and Related Ring Systems; Compounds with Four and Three Carbon--Heteroatom Bonds; Compounds with Two Carbon-Heteroatom Bonds; and Compounds with One Carbon-Heteroatom Bond.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc.
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry
In addition to “classic” topics in chemistry, the Fifth Edition covers such new topics as nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, combinational chemistry, and materials science.
Chemistry Journals
Top 20 Lists by JCR Impact Factor
Analytical Chemistry | Inorganic/Nuclear Chemistry | Organic Chemistry | Physical Chemistry
Top 20 Analytical Chemistry journals ranked by 2005 JCR impact Factor
Analytical Chemistry
(ISSN 0003-2700)
Trends in Analytical Chemistry
(ISSN 0165-9936)
Electrophoresis
(ISSN 0173-0835)
Journal of Analytical Atomic Spectrometry
(ISSN 0267-9477)
Journal of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry
(ISSN 1044-0305)
Biosensors & Bioelectronics
(ISSN 0956-5663)
Journal of Chromatography
(ISSN 0021-9673)
Rapid Communications in Mass Spectrometry
(ISSN 0951-4198)
The Analyst
(ISSN 0003-2654)
Analytica Chimica Acta
(ISSN 0003-2670)
Analytical and bioanalytical chemistry
(ISSN 1618-2642)
Analytical biochemistry
(ISSN 0003-2697)
Sensors and actuators. B, Chemical
(ISSN 0925-4005)
Journal of chromatography. B, Analytical technologies in the biomedical and life sciences
(ISSN 1570-0232)
Talanta
(ISSN 0039-9140)
Journal of electroanalytical chemistry and interfacial electrochemistry
(ISSN 0022-0728)
Electroanalysis
(ISSN 1040-0397)
Chirality
(ISSN 0899-0042)
Journal of fluorescence
(ISSN 1053-0509)
Journal of pharmaceutical and biomedical analysis
(ISSN 0731-7085)
Top 20 Inorganic/Nuclear Chemistry journals ranked by 2005 JCR impact Factor
Progress in solid state chemistry
(ISSN 0079-6786)
Coordination chemistry reviews
(ISSN 0010-8545)
Advances in organometallic chemistry
(ISSN 0065-3055)
Gold bulletin
(ISSN 0017-1557)
Advances in inorganic chemistry
(ISSN 0898-8838)
Organometallics
(ISSN 0276-7333)
Journal of biological inorganic chemistry
(ISSN 0949-8257)
Dalton transactions
(ISSN 1477-9226)
Comments on modern chemistry. Part A, Comments on inorganic chemistry
(ISSN 0260-3594)
European journal of inorganic chemistry
(ISSN 1434-1948)
Tetrahedron, asymmetry
(ISSN 0957-4166)
Journal of inorganic biochemistry
(ISSN 0162-0134)
Structure and bonding
(ISSN 0081-5993)
Journal of organometallic chemistry
(ISSN 0022-328x)
Polyhedron
(ISSN 0277-5387)
Inorganic chemistry communications
(ISSN 1387-7003)
Journal of solid state chemistry
(ISSN 0022-4596)
Solid state sciences
(ISSN 1293-2558)
Inorganica chimica acta incorporating f-Block elements
(ISSN 0020-1693)
<!--[if !supportLineBreakNewLine]--><!--[endif]--> <!--[if !supportLineBreakNewLine]-->
Top 20 Organic Chemistry journals ranked by 2005 JCR impact Factor
Aldrichimica acta
(ISSN 0002-5100)
Natural product reports
(ISSN 0265-0568)
Advances in organometallic chemistry
(ISSN 0065-3055)
Advanced synthesis & catalysis
(ISSN 1615-4150)
Organic letters
(ISSN 1523-7060)
Bioconjugate chemistry
(ISSN 1043-1802)
Journal of organic chemistry
(ISSN 0022-3263)
Biomacromolecules
(ISSN 1525-7797)
Journal of mass spectrometry
(ISSN 1076-5174)
Organometallics
(ISSN 0276-7333)
Current organic chemistry
(ISSN 1385-2728)
Synlett
(ISSN 0936-5214)
Tetrahedron
(ISSN 0040-4020)
Advances in carbohydrate chemistry and biochemistry
(ISSN 0065-2318)
European journal of organic chemistry
(ISSN 1434-193X)
Organic & biomolecular chemistry
(ISSN 1477-0520)
Bioorganic & medicinal chemistry letters
(ISSN 0960-894X)
Tetrahedron letters
(ISSN 0040-4039)
Tetrahedron, asymmetry
(ISSN 0957-4166)
<!--[if !supportLineBreakNewLine]-->Synthesis
(ISSN 0039-7881)
<!--[if !supportLineBreakNewLine]-->
Top 20 Physical Chemistry journals ranked by 2005 JCR impact Factor
Surface science reports
(ISSN 0167-5729)
Nature materials
(ISSN 1476-1122)
Annual review of physical chemistry
(ISSN 0066-426x)
Journal of photochemistry and photobiology. C, Photochemistry reviews
(ISSN 1389-5567)
Advanced functional materials
(ISSN 1616-301x)
Progress in nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy
(ISSN 0079-6565)
Catalysis reviews: science and engineering
(ISSN 0161-4940)
Current opinion in colloid & interface science
(ISSN 1359-0294)
Chemistry of materials
(ISSN 0897-4756)
Journal of catalysis
(ISSN 0021-9517)
International reviews in physical chemistry
(ISSN 0144-235x)
Advances in colloid and interface science
(ISSN 0001-8686)
The journal of physical chemistry. B, Condensed matter, materials, surfaces, interfaces & biophysical
(ISSN 1520-6106)
Applied catalysis. B, Environmental
(ISSN 0926-3373)
Langmuir
(ISSN 0743-7463)
Journal of materials chemistry
(ISSN 0959-9428)
Journal of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry
(ISSN 1044-0305)
ChemPhysChem
(ISSN 1439-4235)
Progress in surface science
(ISSN 0079-6816)
Carbon
(ISSN 0008-6223)
<Chemistry - Related Links
CAS Support & Training – The CAS SciFinder Scholar Resources page contains help guides for SciFinder Scholar’s many features. Tutorials on SciFinder Scholar can also be accessed through this site.
http://www.cas.org/support/academic/sf/index.html
American Chemical Society – The Website of the American Chemical Society. Check out the ACS Publications and Education sections, which have information on searching the chemical literature, ACS journals, magazines, and books; finding chemical supplies or equipment; an outstanding list of recommended chemistry web sites, and more. http://www.acs.org/
Links for Chemists – The Virtual Library Chemistry Section which indexes more than 8,000 chemistry resources in over 75 chemical categories. http://www.liv.ac.uk/Chemistry/Links/links.html
NIST Chemistry WebBook – provides access to data compiled and distributed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) under the Standard Reference Data Program. Look here for thermochemical data for over 7,000 organic and small inorganic compounds; reaction thermochemistry data for over 8,000 reactions; IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds; mass spectra for over 15,000 compounds, and much more. You can search for data on specific compounds in the Chemistry WebBook based on name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, etc. http://webbook.nist.gov
NIST Data Gateway – provides easy access to over 80 of the NIST scientific and technical databases. These databases cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to free online NIST data systems as well as to information on NIST databases available for purchase. Search options for the Gateway include keyword, property, and substance name. http://www.nist.gov/srd
<!--[endif]--> <!--[endif]-->
Related Links |