Communication & Journalism
—
filed under:
Social Sciences
Health | Organizational | Rhetoric and Public Affairs | Telecommunications | Journalism |
Science Communication/Journalism | Other Resources
Selected Databases
- Global Health : covers international health issues
- Medline : Bibliographic database covering multiple fields of medicine.
- Nationmaster.com :
- PsychInfo : Premier bibliographic database for psychology. Also covers related fields including education, medicine, and social work.
- PubMed : Provides the Medline database as well as additional periodicals not found in Medline.
- Sociological Abstracts : Provides abstracts for over 1700 sociology journals as well as journals from related disciplines
- Statemaster.com :
- Statistical Abstract of the United States : Summarizes socio-political statistics for the United States since 1878.
- Science.gov (www.science.gov) U.S. government portal to over 36 science databases.
- Web of Science Hard sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Selected Journals
- Health Communication
- Journal of Health Communication
- Journal of Science Communication
- Public Understanding of Science
- Qualitative Health Research
- Science Communication
- Social Science and Medicine
Selected Print Reference Sources
- Access to Health Risk Behavior : Results of a 2001 survey contains statistical tables reporting health behaviors cross-tabulated with demographic information (US).
- Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior :
- Handbook of Health Communication (also available as an e-book) :
Selected Web Resources
- American Medical Writers Association : The leading professional association for medical writers.
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention : The CDC's online presence provides current news, data and statistics, policies, etc.
- Health and Science Communication Resources : Comprehensive list of online resources created by the University of Iowa Department of Communication Studies.
- TAMU Medical Sciences Library (MSL) Homepage
Selected Databases
- ABI/INFORM : database of scholarly and trade articles concerning all aspects of business.
- Business Source Complete : Full-text database of business popular, trade, and academic journal.
- Factiva : Financial and business news from over 14,000 periodicals.
- Lexis-Nexis : Contains global business news and corporate information.
Selected Journals
- Journal of Business Communication
- Academy of Management Executive
- Academy of Management Journal
- Academy of Management Review
- Business Communication Quarterly
- Business Communication Review
- European Journal of Work and Organizational Psychology
- Group Dynamics
- Journal of Business Communication
- Journal of Social Psychology
- Management Communication Quarterly
- Organization Science
- Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes
- Organizational Dynamics
- Research in Organizational Behavior
- Small Group Research
Selected Print Reference Sources
- Handbook of Group Communication Theory and Research : Documents and synthesizes 50 years of group communication theory.
- Handbook of Research Methods in Social and Personality Psychology : Overview of research methods in social psychology.
- IABC Handbook of Organizational Communication : Practical knowledge for effective corporate communication. Includes case studies.
- New Handbook of Organizational Communication : Covers latest advances in organizational communication.
Selected Web Resources
Selected Databases
- Political Science: A Sage Full-Text Collection : Indexes 23 Sage political science journals. Covers political science, American Government & politics, policy studies, political communication, and many other topics.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts : Citations and abstracts of political science related fields.
- PsychInfo
- Sociological Abstracts
Selected Journals
- Argumentation and Advocacy
- Political Communication
- Quarterly Journal of Speech
- Rhetoric & Public Affairs
- Rhetoric Review
- Southern Communication Journal
- Text and Performance Quarterly
- Western Journal of Communication
Selected Print Reference Sources
Selected Web Resources
- American Rhetoric : Contains text, audio, and video of famous speeches.
- Communication Studies Listservs : Listserv links for several communication subdisciplines including communications studies, mass media studies, journalism, and advertising.
- Rhetorical Studies, Theory & Philosophy Resources : Comprehensive list of Web resources for rhetoric created by the University of Iowa Department of Communication Studies
- Speech and Transcript Center : Impressive list of links to national and international speeches.
Selected Databases
- ABI/INFORM
- A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies : Web-based index of US government departments and agencies
- Business & Company Resource Center : Profiles
of 300,000 companies worldwide; reports may include financial
information, company histories, investment reports, rankings,
and product information. Also includes market research reports,
in-depth industry overviews, and lists of related trade associations.
Business Source Complete : Includes Company Reports and Industry Profiles. - GlobalComms : Database of global wireline and wireless communications competitors. Tracks more than 900 companies, provides statistics and industry updates, and provides daily news summaries.
Selected Directory Databases for locating global media corporation information
- Associations Unlimited : Online version of the Encyclopedia of Associations and the National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations.
- Business & Company Resource Center : Profiles of 300,000 companies worldwide; reports may include financial information, company histories, investment reports, rankings, and product information. Also includes market research reports, in-depth industry overviews, and lists of related trade associations.
- Business Source Complete : Includes Company Reports and Industry Profiles.
- GlobalComms : Provides news and company overviews for over 100 countries. It contains a "browse company profiles" section and a "search company data" section
- Guidestar : Directory information for nonprofits
- Hoovers : Directory that includes business overviews, histories, and news,
- Mergent Online : Allows the user to create company reports.
Selected Journals
- Broadcasting and Telecommunications (government publication)
- Communications News (trade publication)
- European Transactions on Telecommunications
- Journal of Telecommunications Management
- Computer Science and Telecommunications
- Telecommunications Policy
Selected Print Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of Information Communication Technology
- Encyclopedia of Television, Cable, and Video : Dated but useful collection of short entries. Covers major industry figures, productions, and concepts.
- Encyclopedia of Wireless Telecommunications
- Television and Cable Factbook : Directory of television and cable providers
- Telecommunications Directory : "a comprehensive 'one-stop' source of information on the products, services, and related activities of organizations in the telecommunications field
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Telecommunications
Selected Web Resources
- Telecommunication Web Directory : An international directory of telecommunications organizations.
Selected Databases
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
The most comprehensive Communication and Journalism database/search engine. - Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection : Contains full-text articles for forty SAGE journals. Covers communication studies, cultural studies, mass media communication, journalism, and many more communication sub-disciplines.
- Compile : An ongoing inventory of publications in post-secondary composition, rhetoric, ESL (English as a second language), and technical writing.
- Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications : Online Encyclopedia with 200 articles covering communication and mass media concepts.
- Journalism and Mass Communication Abstracts : Abstracts journalism and mass communication journals. Also includes abstracts for dissertations and theses.
- JSTOR : Archive of historically important academic journals in science, social science, and humanities. Many articles are full-text.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive : Access video to television news broadcasts since 1968.
Selected News Aggregators
- Factiva : News from over 14,000 newspapers, magazines, and trade journals.
- Google News : Google's news aggregator.
- Lexis Nexis : Well respected news aggregator indexing full text from over 6000 publications.
- SiloBreaker : Free online news search service that includes several useful analytical tools
Selected Journals
- American Journalism Review
- Columbia Journalism Review
- Critical Studies in Mass Communication
- Harvard International Journal of Press/Politics
- Newspaper Research Journal
- Journalism & Mass Communications Quarterly
- Journalism History
- Journalism Educator
- Journalism Quarterly
- Mass Communication and Society
- Washington Journalism Review
Selected Print Reference Sources
- Consider the Source: A Critical Guide to 100 Prominent News and Information Sites on the Web : Critical reviews on online news and information sites
Newspaper Databases : (links to History subject guide, then scroll down)
Selected Web Resources
-
Journalism Resources : List of online resources for Journalism.
-
Digital Journalist : Online magazine for photo-journalists. Contains articles as well as equipment reviews.
-
Newseum Front Pages : Images of newspaper front pages from across the world
Science Communication/Journalism
Selected Databases
- Agricola Agriculture and life sciences.
- Biosis Biology
- Geo Ref Geology and Earth Science
- Illustrata Natural science statistical tables
- Inspec Engineering, physics, astronomy, computer science.
- Medline Worldwide biomedical literature.
- Nationmaster.com :
- Science.gov (www.science.gov) U.S. government portal to over 36 science databases.
- SciFinder Chemistry, biochemistry, and applied chemistry.
- Statemaster.com :
- Web of Science Hard sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Selected Journals
- Journal of Health Communication
- Journal of Science Communication
- Media Culture & Society
- New Media & Society
- Public Opinion Quarterly
- Public Understanding of Science
- Science Communication
Selected Print Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of American Journalism : Contains articles on topics germane to print, radio, television, and Internet journalism.
Selected Web Resources
- American Medical Writers Association : The leading professional association for medical writers.
- Health and Science Communication Resources : Comprehensive list of online resources created by the University of Iowa Department of Communication Studies.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
- Journalism and Mass Communication Abstracts
- TXSpace Dissertations and Theses (TAMU and Texas)
- Index to Theses (Great Britain and Ireland)
Related Links |
Other Recommended Guides |