Educational Administration
—
filed under:
Education
Finding Articles
- ERIC (Ebsco) 1966-
Probably the most extensive coverage on all educational-related literature. - Education Full-Text (Wilson) 1982-
Indexed coverage since 1982, abstracted coverage since 1994 and full text coverage since 1996. A good starting point for full-text articles. - Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
Multi-disciplinary full-text database including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. - Educational Administration Abstracts (Ebsco) 1999-
Covering essential areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas. -
ABI/Inform (ProQuest) 1971-
A leading database for business-related periodicals covering management, human resources, organizational behavior, managerial economics, information systems, telecommunications, and more.
TIPS: How to find out if the articles are scholarly?
-------------------------------------------------
Go to Ulrichsweb. Enter a journal name in "Quick Search". Submit and look for "Document Type" descriptions. If scholarly, you will see descriptions like - Document Type: Journal; Academic/ Scholarly. Refereed: Yes.
Finding Books
- LibCat.tamu.edu [Use LibCat to locate books or other materials in the Library]
- Clickable Subject Headings or Keywords in LibCat:
-
TIPS: "school management and administration" is also a useful subject heading. If you want me to add other useful terms to this quick search list, just email them to me.
Finding Data
- The Condition of Education
- The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
- Digest of Education Statistics
- Research & Statistics - ED.gov
Evaluating Resources
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities (finding journals acceptance rate)
- Journal Citation Reports, Science and Social Sciences 2001-Present (finding journal citation impact)
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (finding journals status - is it scholarly / peer-reviewed?)
- What Is a Scholarly Article?
Selected E-Journals
- Educational Administration Quarterly
- Journal of Educational Administration
- American educational research journal
- International Journal of Educational Management
- Educational management administration & leadership
TIPS: See more e-journals?
Selected Reference Works
- Handbook of research on educational administration
- Encyclopedia of school administration and supervision
- Fundamental change : international handbook of educational change
TIPS: See more handbooks or encyclopedia on school management?
Useful Websites
Library Services:
- AskNow (chat, answering questions via email)
- Reference Desk (Evans Library): (979) 845-5771
- Get it for me (interlibrary loan service, book and document delivery)