University Libraries Subject Guides Educational Curriculum (PreK-12)

Educational Curriculum (PreK-12)

Welcome to the subject guide for

Educational Curriculum (PreK-12).


The Curriculum Collection, located on the fourth floor of Evans Library near the skywalk to the Annex, is a special collection of materials and resources that can be used to support K-12 curriculum objectives. The collection is divided into two main sections: the Textbook Collection and the Literature Collection.

  • The Textbook Collection consists of those instructional materials specifically adopted by the Texas State Board of Education and currently in use in the public schools of the state. The collection contains textbooks by subject and grade, both teacher and student editions, and some teacher resource materials, including kits, folios, and big books.
  • The Literature Collection consists of K-12 reading materials, both fiction and nonfiction, that support curriculum objectives and promote individual reading interests. The collection contains award-winning children’s literature and some foreign language reading materials.

 

Finding Books

In Libcat, you may limit your search choosing Curriculum Collection from the limit search drop down menu.  This will greatly increase your chances of locating titles written for juvenile readers when conducting a simple search.

Curriculum Resources

TAMU Library Databases

  • goENC - Curriculum resources and lesson plans for math and science educators
  • KCDLOnline – Curricula, standards, and instructional strategies for PreK-12
  • CultureGrams (Kids Edition)- Multi-media cultural reference and curriculum product

Internet

 


Print Resources

  • Matthew, Kathryn L.  and Joy L. Lowe.  Neal-Schuman Guide to Recommended Children’s Books and Media for Use with Every Elementary Subject.   (New York:  Neal-Schuman, 2002).  Evans Reference – Ref Z 1037 M2865 2002
  • Wright, Cora M.  More Hot Links:  Linking Literature with the Middle School Curriculum (Greenwood Village, CO:  Libraries Unlimited, 2002).  Evans Reference- Ref Z 1037 W957 2002

Book Review Sources

TAMU Library Databases

Internet     

  • Pbwiki provides links to children’s book reviews featured on blogs.

Journals


 

Other Recommended Guides

Document Actions
Your Librarian
Position
Education/Social Sciences Librarian
Department
Info and Coll Svc - Humanities, Social Sci and Instructional Svc
Contact Information
Evans, Room 1.110E
979.862.1047
My Other Guide
Education (PreK-12)
 
Giving to the Libraries