English

— filed under:

Citation Guides

 

Online Help

 

 

These handouts and Web pages will provide you with quick information on how to cite sources in your research papers.

In Print and In the Library

The resources listed below are just some of the many Citation Guides we have in our collection. To search for other guides check our online catalogs, Libcat and Chiron .

 Chicago manual of style (CMOS)
Call Number: Z253 .U69

  • Evans Library Stacks
  • Reference Desk (Evans Library)
  • Policy Sciences & Economics Library Reference
  • West Campus Library Reference Index Tables
  • West Campus Library Stacks

MLA handbook for writers of research papers (MLA)
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 

  • Cushing Library/Reference
  • Evans Library Stacks
  • Reference Desk (Evans Library)
  • Reserves (Evans Library) –Temporarily shelved here from Ref

Manual for writers of term papers, theses, and dissertations (Turabian)
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 

  • Evans Library Stacks
  • Reference Desk (Evans Library)
  • West Campus Library Index Tables
  • University Textbook Collection (Evans Library)

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) 
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83

  • Evans Library Stacks
  • Reference (Evans Library)
  • Reference Desk (Evans Library)
  • Reserves (Evans Library) –Temporarily shelved here from Ref
  • West Campus Library Reference Index Tables

Online: A reference guide to using Internet sources
Call Number: TK5105.875 .I57 H364 

  • West Campus Library Reference (1998 Edition)
  • Reference (1997 Edition)

Columbia guide to online style
Call Number: PN171 .F56 W35 

  • Evans Library Stacks (1998 Edition)
  • Reference Desk (1998 Edition

  • Archival Materials


  • RLIN and Worldcat may provide access to some archival collections, and the Gale Dictionary of Literary Biography (see below) often lists the location of major collections of papers and manuscripts. In addition, these databases may also provide good sources of information.

    Archives USA provides access to archives, repositories and research collection of libraries in the United States. It does not provide title-level access, but it purports to be the complete electronic version of the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC).

    UK Archives Hub. The Archives Hub provides a single point of access to descriptions of archival collections that are available for research in universities and colleges. Anyone may use the Hub. The Hub includes descriptions for the archives of a wide range of individuals, families, and organisations, from medieval times right up to the present day. The Hub does not include the text or images of the archival collections described here - only their descriptions.

    UK Access to Archives The A2A database contains catalogues describing archives held throughout England and dating from the 900s to the present day. A2A does not yet offer a full description of all the archives in England, but it is regularly updated, so revisit often for newly-included catalogues. The A2A database is regularly updated, and catalogues over 8.5 million filed items from 390 record offices and other repositories.

 

 

Useful Links

 

Organizations, Conferences

MLA Online
http://www.mla.org/

College English Association (CEA)
http://www2.widener.edu/~cea/

College English Association (CEA) Web Archive
http://www.as.ysu.edu/~english/cea/ceaindex.htm

Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association
http://library.albany.edu/subject/guides/rg-english.html

South Central Modern Language Association
http://www.ou.edu/scmla/

Conference of College Teachers of English
http://www.wmich.edu/medieval/congress/

Texas College English Association
http://www.wtamu.edu/%7Esfurnish/tcea/

International Congress on Medieval Studies
http://www.wmich.edu/medieval/congress/

American Library Association, Association of College and Research Libraries, Literatures in English Section
http://www.ala.org/ala/acrl/aboutacrl/acrlsections/literaturesineng/leshomepage.htm

E-texts and More
General

Project Gutenberg
http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Electronic Poetry Center
http://wings.buffalo.edu/epc/

English Department Home Pages Worldwide
http://www.nyu.edu/gsas/dept/english/links/engdpts.html

The Internet Public Library—Literary Criticism
http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/
Internet Sites Related To Electronic Literature, Choice Magazine
http://www.jsu.edu/depart/english/choice.htm

Literary Resources on the Net
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/

Online Writing Lab at Purdue
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/

Victorian Web:
http://www.victorianweb.org/

Postcolonial Web:
http://www.postcolonialweb.org/

Cyberspace, Hypertext, & Critical Theory:
 http://www.cyberartsweb.org/cpace/

Indiana Resources for English and American Literature
http://www.libraries.iub.edu/index.php?pageId=350

NEH Scholarly Editions Grants
http://www.neh.gov/grants/guidelines/editions.html

SparkNotes online study guides
http://www.sparknotes.com/

The Electric Eclectic  links to resources on a wide variety of topics
http://bloxword.ca/research.htm

SUNY Albany University Libraries Brief Guide to Literary Resources & Criticism
http://library.albany.edu/subject/guides/rg-english.html

The Victorian Literary Studies Archive
http://victorian.lang.nagoya-u.ac.jp/index.html

The British Library’s English Short Title Catalogue
http://estc.bl.uk/F/?func=file&file_name=login-bl-list

Voice of the Shuttle
http://vos.ucsb.edu/

History of English

History of the English Language Website
http://ebbs.english.vt.edu/hel/hel.html

Indo-European Roots Index
http://www.bartleby.com/61/IEroots.html

Yourdictionary.com
http://www.yourdictionary.com/

Medieval Resources

The Middle English Collection
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/collections/languages/english/mideng.browse.html

Beowulf in Hypertext
http://www.humanities.mcmaster.ca/~beowulf/main.html

Old English Pages
http://www.georgetown.edu/faculty/ballc/oe/old_english.html

The Labyrinth:  Resources for Medieval Studies
http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/

Net SERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources
http://www.netserf.org/

A Page for ArthurNet  Arthurian links and resources
http://www.clas.ufl.edu/users/jshoaf/Arthurnet.htm

Arthuriana

http://faculty.smu.edu/arthuriana/
Document Actions
Your Librarian
Position
Humanities Librarian
Department
Info and Coll Svc - Humanities, Social Sci and Instructional Svc
Contact Information
Evans, Room 1.111H
(979) 862-1044
 
Giving to the Libraries