Environmental & Occupational Health
Databases | Guidelines/Reports | Journals | Organizations | Reference Books & Tools | Software Resources | Statistics & Datasets
- Agricola (Ebsco): agriculture research (articles, proceedings, and more)
- Breast Cancer and Environmental Risk Factor Database: from Sprecher Institute for Comparative Cancer Research
- Canary Database: animals as sentinels of human environmental health hazards
- Carcinogenic Potency Project Database: chemical structures, chemical sheets, and more
- Center for Earth Science Information Network: browse reports on agriculture, biodiversity, climate change, natural hazards, land use, and more
- ChemIDPlus: search by chemical name or registry #, includes structure, physical properties, and health consequences
- CRS Reports: Congressional Research Service reports on environmental and related topics
- Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database (DART): research literature
- DTIC Online- Public Scientific & Techical Information from Department of Defense (U. S.)
- Ecotox: toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife from EPA
- EnviroChem and Cancer Database (ECCD): search by chemical, CAS#, or major use
- GIDEON (Ebsco): infectious disease symptom finder, statistics, maps, vectors, therapy, & more
- Health Reference Center - Academic covers fitness, medicine, nutrition, public health, and more.
- Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information- from Department of Energy (U. S.)
- National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences: browse conditions, agents, and more
- National Service Center for Environmental Publications: full text EPA reports
- OSHA Regulations: Code of Federal Regulations, CFR Title 29, Parts 1901-2400
- Turf Pesticides and Cancer Risk Database: search by CAS#, product type, active ingredient, and more
-
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) browse reports by topics
-
Healthy People reports (free)
-
DATA 2010: data by focus area, data source, specific population group, and more
- National Clearinghouse Guidelines: evidence based practice guidelines on variety of conditions and diseases, includes measures section
- United Nations Environmental Program: browse publications
- World Health Organization: browse occupational health publications from WHO
- American Journal of Public Health
- Archives of environmental and occupational health
- Ecotoxicology and environmental safety
- Environmental Economics and Policy Studies
- Environmental Health
- Environmental Health & Preventive Medicine
- Environmental Health Perspectives
- Environmental Law Review
- Environmental Nutrition
- Ethics and the Environment
- International journal of Environmental Health Research
- International Journal of Occupational Medicine and Environmental Health
- Journal of Environmental Health Research
- Journal of Nutritional and Environmental Medicine
- Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health
- Consumer Product Safety Commission
- Environmental Health Accreditation Council
- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
- International Union for Conservation of Nature
- National Environmental Health Association
- Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
- United Nations Environmental Program
- StatRef: full text medical, nursing, and pharmaceutical textbooks (no journal articles)
-
Commercial Software
- S-Plus
- SAS Homepage
- STATA homepage
Free software
- EpiInfo: free software from CDC for creating and analyzing questionnaires/surveys
- R-Project: free software for statistical computing and graphics
- SABER: Statistical Analysis Battery for Epidemiological Research, free from CDC
- SETS: Statistical Export and Tabulation System, free from CDC
- Adolescent Health: stats on risk factors, access to health care, mortality, and more from CDC
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System: health risk behavior statistics from 1996-present
- CDC Wonder (variety of health topics)
- Child Health USA: statistics on children's health
- Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR): public use data sets from US Dept of Energy, environmental health, radiation, and more
- Current Population Survey (CPS) includes data on income, health insurance coverage, and more
- Healthy People DATA 2010: data by focus area, data source, specific population group, and more
- Health Poll Search: interactive results from polls on health related issues
- Infant Health: stats on risk factors, access to health care, mortality, and more from CDC
- International Earth Science Information Network: includes data sets by the Center for Globalization and Sustainable Development, the Center for Hazards and Risk Research.
- Men's Health: stats on risk factors, access to health care, mortality, and more from CDC
- Minority Health data from State Health Facts includes interactive tables, bar graphs, and maps
- Office of Minority Health & Health Disparities (OMHD) cultural specific pages (demographics, 10 leading causes of death, and more):
- African American
- American Indian & Alaska Native
- Asian American
- Hispanic or Latino
- Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander
- Multiracial
- White
- U. S. Physical Activity Statistics from CDC
- Women's Health: stats on risk factors, access to health care, mortality, and more from CDC
- World Health Organization: data and statistics on health, and other issues around the world (interactive tables)