University Libraries Subject Guides Environmental Studies

Environmental Studies

Articles & Databases

Core databases

  • Energy Citations (DOE)

    The Energy Citations Database (ECD) contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related STI from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates.

  • Environmental Sciences + Pollution Management (CSA)

    This multidisciplinary database, provides comprehensive coverage for the environmental sciences. It features information on many of the areas of research in environmental science including pollution of the land, air, water, noise, and solid waste; risk assessment; environmental engineering; and the United States' environmental impact statements. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Allows for simultaneous searching of ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality, Bacteriology Abstracts, Biotechnology Research Abstracts, Ecology Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Health and Safety Science Abstracts, Human Population and Natural Resource Management, Industrial and Applied Microbiology abstracts, Pollution abstracts, risk abstracts, sustainability abstracts, toxicology abstracts, and water resources abstracts.

  • Environmental Impact Statements (CSA)

    The National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) requires that U.S. federal agencies or anyone receiving federal funding prepare detailed analyses of any of their actions that significantly affect the quality of the environment. Almost all developments, such as roads, houses and airports, have an impact on the environment. Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) are documents that help the government and the general public understand the effects of developments on the environment and to decide whether developments should go ahead. NEPA does not prohibit the federal government or its licensees/permittees from harming the environment, but requires that the prospective impacts be understood and disclosed in advance and may mandate various modifications and safeguards designed to protect the environment.

Search for specific article

Step 1: Please enter either a Journal Title or an ISSN (or both)

Step 2: Please enter a year

Step 3: Use the remaining fields to narrow your search, all remaining fields are optional

Document Actions
Your Librarians
Position
Science and Engineering Librarian
Department
Info and Collection Svc - Sciences, Engineering and Liaison Svc
Contact Information
Evans, Room 1.110F
(979) 845-7572
Position
Agriculture and Life Sciences Librarian
Department
Info and Collection Svc - Sciences, Engineering and Liaison Svc
Contact Information
Evans, Room 207A Evans
(979) 862-1066
 
Giving to the Libraries