Environmental Studies
Encyclopedias
These are divided into subjects related to Environmental Studies/Environmental Sciences:
| General | Agriculture/Natural Resources | Biology/Health | Chemistry |
| Engineering | Geosciences | Policy/Law | Toxicology |
Encyclopedia of Energy (Elsevier) - All forms of energy are
thoroughly covered, as well as the interplay between energy use and the
environment and the effect of energy on history and society.
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (Elsevier) - This work corresponds to the print third edition, which comprises 18 volumes and more than 14,000 pages.
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science (Elsevier) - The quaternary sciences constitute a dynamic, multidisciplinary field of research that has been growing in scientific and societal importance in recent years. This branch of the Earth sciences links ancient prehistory to modern environments.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Environmental Science - Search for Title within NetLibrary
Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences (Elsevier) - addresses the core knowledge, theories and techniques employed by plant scientists, including the application of current advances in the biological sciences in both research and industry, especially in the areas of ecology, plant pathology, genetics, physiology, biochemistry and biotechnology.
Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences (Elsevier) - topics in forests, forestry and forest sciences.
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment (Elsevier) - Encompasses the present knowledge of the world's variegated soils, their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere.
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity (Elsevier) - More than 300 overview articles in 20 different subject areas treat all aspects of species diversity, from Acid Rain and Deposition to Zoos and Zoological Parks.
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics (Wiley) - reference to support the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry (Elsevier) - Encompasses all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics, and biophysics.
Handbook of Paleanthropology - Subjects covered include lifes sciences, evolutionary biology, paleontology, and anthropology. Search for title within Springer Books
e-EROS Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (Wiley) - Covers around 3,800 of the most frequently used
reagents and over 50,000 reactions. It is fully searchable by
structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental
conditions, etc. It provides information on uses and characteristics
of each reagent.
Encyclopedia of Catalysis (Wiley) - Covering the aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous,
asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis. The principles of
catalysis, the scope of catalytic reactions, the preparation,
characterization, and use of catalysts including catalytic technology,
the modeling of catalytic processes, and related reaction engineering
techniques are included.
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science (Elsevier) - Comprehensive coverage of techniques used for the determination of
specific elements, compounds and groups of compounds, in physical or
biological matrices.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (Wiley) - Chemical encyclopedia covering all aspects of chemical technology, including the properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemicals and materials, processes, and engineering principles, coupled with insights into current research, emerging technologies and economic aspects. Environmental and health concerns are also addressed.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering - Search for Title within NetLibrary
Green Building Handbook. Vol. 1 Guide to Building Products and Their Impact On the Environment - Search for Title within NetLibrary
Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences (Elsevier)
- Covering all major aspects of atmospheric science and related subjects such as oceanography and hydrology. As well as the traditional topics of atmospheric dynamics, cloud physics, and weather forecasting, more recently established fields such as atmospheric chemistry and global climate change are fully covered.
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science - Search for title within Springer Books
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences (Wiley) - this encyclopedia describes the the availability and exploitation of fresh
water resources through population increase, pollution and degradation
of resources, and variations in distribution from regional and global
change in the climate.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences (Elsevier) - Covers the physical processes that drive the oceans and the chemical, biological, and geological regimes. All methods of studying the oceans, from ship-based systems to satellite remote sensing are covered, as are ancillary topics such as the law of the oceans, use of the oceans for food and energy, and the impact of pollution and climate change.
Encyclopedia of Water Science- Procedures in agricultural water engineering.
Encyclopedia of World Climatology - Search for title within Springer Books
Environmental Geology - Search for title within Springer Books
Geochemistry - Search for title within Springer Book
Hydrology and Lakes - Search for title within Springer Books
Treatise on Geochemistry (Elsevier) - Summary of the present state of geochemistry. All major parts of geochemistry are dealt with, ranging from the chemistry of the solar system to environmental geochemistry.
Handbook of Air Pollution Prevention and Control - Search for Title within NetLibrary
Back to Top
Dictionary of Environmental Law - Search for Title within NetLibrary
International Environmental Law, Policy, and Ethics - Search for Title with NetLibrary
Encyclopedia of Toxicology (Elsevier) - Covers specific
chemicals, the international scope of organizations included has been
broadened, and articles describing a number of toxic-related incidents
such as Chernobyl and Three-Mile Island are included. Along with the
traditional scientifically-based entries, new articles focus on the
societal implications of toxicological knowledge, including
environmental crimes, chemical and biological warfare in ancient times,
and a history of the U.S. environmental movement.
Writing and Communication Help | Additional Data and Information | Departments/Organizations/Societies | News Links
Writing and Communication Help:
- A short history of science writing:
- Developing Reserach Papars:
- Technical writing guides:
- Common errors in technical writing:
- Mathematical grammar site:
- Writing skills information structures:
- Guide to figures and tables:
- Documentation:
- Editing skills:
- Grammar review:
- Presentation skills resources:
- Poster design resources:
Additional Data and Information:
- List of E-Print servers in Environmental Sciences and Ecology
- List of E-Print servers in Environmental Management and Restoration Technologies
- Preprint Resources on the Web
- Enviro-Science E-print Service from US EPA
- National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (NCEAS) Data Repository
- USEPA National Environmental Publications Information System (NEPIS)
Departments/Organizations/Societies:
- Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
- Biodiversity Heritage Library
- United States Environmental Protection Agency
- Environment Canada
- European Union: Activities Related to the Environment
- United Nations Environmental Program (UNEP)
- UNEP Tourism Library
- UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre
- International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources
- The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
- IUCN Species Survival Commission
News Links:
- Newspapers:
- New York Times
- Los Angeles Times
- Chicago Tribune
- Search For the Following Newspapers in Custom Newspapers (Gale):
- Dallas Morning News
- Houston Chronicle
- Detrioit Free Press
- New York Times: Environment
- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Newsroom
- Climate Change, BBC News
- Global Climate Change, CNN News
- The Green Room, BBC News
- Planet in Peril, A CNN Worldwide Investigation
- Planet Under Pressure, BBC News
Please let me know if you find a bad link. karikozak@tamu.edu
Other Recommended Guides |