Finance
—
filed under:
Business and Economics
| Databases | Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks |
|Professional & academic associations | Business information portals |
| U. S. Government Agencies |
Databases
- Accounting Research Manager (ARM)
- Contains published material from the following organizations:
- American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)
- Emerging Issues Task Force (EITF)
- Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
- Governmental Accountability Office (GAO)
- International Accounting Standards Board (IASB)
- Office of Management & Budget (OMB)
- Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCOAB)
- Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC)
- CCH Publications & Guides
- CCH Capital Changes Reporter (available only in the WCL Barclay Reference Center)
Traces the capital histories of corporations. Provides chronological data on each company, including date of incorporation, stock rights, stock splits, dividends, and mergers. Covers over 58,000 corporations in a database that spans over 100 years.
- Compact Disclosure (Compact D) / Global Researcher (available only in the WCL Barclay Reference Center)
- SEC (1988 - present)
Contains selected financial information from the SEC filings of 12,000 publicly traded U.S. companies. Reports include up to 10 years of annual and quarterly historical financials. CDA/Spectrum ownership data are included for many companies. - Worldscope (1991 - present)
Contains selected financial information from the SEC filings of more than 15,000 publicly traded companies from 54 countries. Includes financial statements, company specific accounting standards, and product and geographic segment data. - Datastream Advance
One of the largest historical numerical financial databases in the world, with data on stock prices, market indices, bonds, interest and exchange rates, commodities, options and futures going back, in some cases, as far as 1950. Data are available on approximately 170 countries. Updated continuously. NOTE: Some Excel macro features only available in the West Campus Library, Barclay Reference Center. Remote users must download a Citrix client program to access this database. - Economatica
Provides historical data for over 1,400 major companies which trade on the exchanges of Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela. The information tracked includes financial statements, stock prices, shareholder breakdowns, and corporate actions. Additionally, information on major commodities and stock exchanges of the Japan, United Kingdom, and United States, are included. - EDGAR - U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC)
Since 1996, foreign and domestic companies traded on American exchanges have been required to file financial reports and registration statements electronically with the Securities and Exchange Commission. This governmental site provides free access to those documents. - Galante’s Venture Capital & Private Equity Directory
Provides names, dates and sizes of investment pools that private investment managers have raised during the past ten years. NOTE: Remote users must download a Citrix client program to access this database. - Investext Plus
Contains the full text of over 3,000,000 analysts’ reports, ranging from brief financial snapshots and morning meeting notes to lengthy, extensive analyses, covering more than 11,000 companies in over 50 industries. A good source of information on the strengths and weaknesses of individual companies, as well as larger industry trends. Updated daily. - Mergent Online
Provides current and historical financial data, links to extensive lists of SEC filings, and several years of annual reports for over 10,000 U.S. companies and 17,000 non-U.S. companies. Special strengths of this database include its detailed company histories, discussions of debt and equity structure and hard-to-find annual reports for international companies. - Morningstar
Provides daily updates on approximately 13,000 mutual funds and another 7,000 stocks. Includes Morningstar fund and stock screeners, all 3,500 fund and stock Analyst Reports, Portfolio X-Ray and other interactive features. - Research Insight
Provides access to two Standard & Poor’s databases:- Compustat PC Plus - Contains detailed financial information (over 800 data items) on 11,100 active and 11,000 inactive companies in the U.S. and Canada. For each company, the database contains up to 20 years of annual data and twelve years of quarterly data. Updated annually.
- Global Vantage - The international version of Compustat PC Plus. It supplies twelve years of annual data for over 13,000 firms representing more than eighty countries. Updated annually.
- Securities Data Company (SDC) (available only in the WCL Barclay Reference Center)
Provides access to two modules of Thomson Financial SDC data:- Mergers & Acquisitions - Worldwide M&A data from 1979 for U.S. firms; from 1985 from non-U.S. firms. Covers more than 273,000 transactions. Find target and acquirer profiles, deal terms, financial and legal advisor assignments and fees, deal value and stock premiums, deal status and more.
- Global New Issues - Find info on global equity issues including IPOs & private placements. New Issues covers more than 290,000 transactions from 1970 for the U.S. International coverage varies, but no info prior to 1978. Divided into sub-databases by geographic region.
- NetAdvantage
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage provides web access to the S&P Industry Surveys, Mutual Fund Reports for 12,000+ funds, Stock Reports, Quarterly & Annual Earnings Estimates, Bond Guides and Dividend Records, Corporate Records for 12,600 publicly held US, Canadian and international companies and directory information for more than 100,000 public and private international companies. - Thomson One Banker
Brings together multiple sources including Worldscope, Thomson First Call, NewsEdge, Datastream and Extel to provide current financial and market information for U.S. and international public companies. Deal information covers mergers & acquisitions, equity & bond issues, and major loans. Price and constituent information on major indices and government economic data is also included.
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Economics & Finance
H91 .C24 - The Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-1999
HB235 .U6 V35 - Who's Who in Finance and Industry
HF3023 .A2 W5 - A Financial History of the United States
HG181 .M297 - Dunn & Bradstreet Reference Book of American Business: Texas
HG3751.75 T4 D86 - Treasurer's and Controller's Desk Book
HG4027.3 .G68 - Financing Start-ups: How to Raise Money for Emerging Companies
HG4027.7 .B74 - Handbook of Small Business Valuation Formulas and Rules of Thumb
HG4028 .V3 D478 - In the Market: The Illustrated History of the Financial Markets
HG4521 .F563 - The 2004 Corporate Secretary's Answer Book
KF1422.Z9 K78 - 1001 Financial Words You Need to Know
HG151 .A15 2003 - Canadian Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms
HG151 .W47 2000 - Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms
HG151 .D69 2003 - Dictionary of Financial Abbreviations
HG151.3 .P39 2003 - Financial Lexicon: A Compendium of Financial Definitions, Acronyms, and Colloquialisms
HG151 .B2697 2005 - International Dictionary of Finance
HG151 .B274 2003 - Webster's New World Finance and Investment Dictionary
HG151 .E88 2003
Professional & academic associations
- American Finance Association
- Association for Financial Professionals
- American Association of Individual Investors
- Institute of Management Accountants
- International Swaps & Derivatives Association
- National Futures Association
- Non-profit Finance Fund
- North American Securities Administrators Association
Other Recommended Guides |