Genetics
Important Databases of Genetics Information:
Genetics Abstracts (CSA) - listed under Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
Coverage: all aspects of genetics.
Indexes: journal articles and proceeding.
GENE-TOX (NLM)
Part of the National Library of Medicine TOXNET set of databases.
Coverage: peer-reviewed mutagenicity test data from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
Indexes: EPA test data distilled from expert review of peer reviewed scientific literature.
Nucleic Acids Abstracts (CSA) - listed under Biological Sciences
Coverage: gene manipulation, gene regulation, protein synthesis, DNA, RNA.
Indexes: journal articles.
Oncogene and Growth Factor Abstracts (CSA) listed under Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
Coverage: oncogene research.
Indexes: journal articles.
BIOSIS Previews (OVID)
Coverage: medicine, biomedicine, veterinary medicine, agriculture, and life sciences.
Indexes: journals, books and conference proceedings.
CAB Abstracts (OVID)
Coverage: agriculture, veterinary medicine, and nutrition.
Indexes: journal articles, proceedings, books, some European theses, and some European patents.
CAB is the primary database for locating veterinary information.
Current Contents (ISI)
Coverage: life, physical, and social sciences as well as the arts and humanities.
Indexes: journal articles, books, and Web sites.
MEDLINE (OVID)
Coverage: biomedical information including medicine, genetics, biochemistry and biophysics, and veterinary medicine.
Indexes: journal articles.
The primary focus is human medicine. Its coverage of veterinary medicine coverage is not as extensive as CAB Abstracts.
MEDLINE (PubMed)
Free MEDLINE access from the National Library of Medicine.
PubMed also provides links to Entrez and the NCBI genetics databases and includes BioMed Central journal citations and direct article links.
NCBI
The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) provides free access to a large number of databases for researchers in genetics and molecular biology. Information in the databases is linked to citation information in PubMed. Software programs for visualization and analysis are also made available.
PapersFirst (FirstSearch) and ProceedingsFirst (FirstSearch)
Coverage: all subjects.
Indexes: conferences, meeting and proceeding information received by The British Library, the national library of the United Kingdom.
U.S. conferences are included if information is submitted to The British Library.
PapersFirst can be searched by author.
TOXNET (NLM)
Free from the National Library of Medicine.
Coverage: an aggregation of databases indexing pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
Indexes: selected books, reports, government documents, and journal articles Databases: HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System), GENE-TOX, CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System), TOXLINE, DART/ETIC (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center), TRI (Toxics Release Inventory), ChemIDplus.
Web of Knowledge (ISI)
Coverage: the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
Indexes: journal articles.
Provides access to references made in journal articles and allows location of articles which have cited a specific article.
Other Recommended Guides |