University Libraries Subject Guides Geography

Geography

— filed under:

Welcome to the library’s geography website.  This guide is designed to help students, faculty, and researchers at Texas A&M University locate print and electronic resources in the area of geography.  The guide contains links and descriptions of sources of information made available through the Texas A&M University Libraries.  Maps and GIS data can be found on the Map and GIS Collections and Services page.  See the Department of Geography for academic information.

Use these Indexes to locate journal articles and other publications on the topic of geography:

GeoRef - [WebSpirs]:
American Geological Institute's geoscience database that contains over 2.2 million records from North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. The database is the equivalent of four major reference publications: Bibliography of North American Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Geophysical Abstracts, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. Additional items come from special bibliographies produced from state surveys or societies, and annual subject and author indexes.

GEOBASE - [WebSpirs]:
GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. This database covers the worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, and their related disciplines.  Over 2,000 books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports are included. Beginning in 1989, Ph.D. and Masters theses are also indexed.   Coverage is from 1990 to the present.  The database provides current coverage of over 2000 journals and archival coverage of several thousand additional titles. GEOBASE is unequalled in it’s coverage of international literature. It offers unique coverage of non-English language items and less readily available publications -plus books, conference proceedings and reports, making this the best resource available for multidisciplinary searches of the international literature.

Document Actions
Your Librarian
Position
Coordinator of Map and GIS Collections and Services
Department
Info and Coll Svc - Sci, Eng and Liaison Svc - Maps and GIS
Contact Information
Evans, Room 1.202
(979) 845-6588
 
Giving to the Libraries