University Libraries Subject Guides Geology & Geophysics

Geology & Geophysics

Remember!!

I attend the weekly Geology Dept. seminars on Thursday afternoons and I am available afterwards for any library help, so grab me if you need anything.  See you there!!

Indexes/Databases

Search within the databases listed below to identify journal articles, conference papers, etc., by subject, author or keyword.

Full-Text Retrieval Options: Some of the databases contain links to the full-text of articles. When no direct full text link is available, click on the Find Text @ TAMU link to identify additional retrieval options. If no Find Text @ TAMU link is present, go to the Library Homepage for the following features. Use the Search Now interface to determine whether TAMU owns electronic access to the journal's articles. For print journal subscriptions, use LibCat, the libraries' online catalog, to determine the journal's holdings, call number, and physical location. When the TAMU libraries have neither electronic nor print access for the desired journal title, TAMU patrons may use the Get it for me service to obtain electronic copies of journal articles.

Most Important Databases

  • GeoRef - [OvidSP]:
    American Geological Institute's geoscience database that contains over 2.2 million records from North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. The database is the equivalent of four major reference publications: Bibliography of North American Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Geophysical Abstracts, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. Additional items come from special bibliographies produced from state surveys or societies, and annual subject and author indexes.
  • AAPG Datapages
    A petroleum geology database containing text and images from publications produced by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. These include the AAPG Bulletin, AAPG Special Publications and GCAGS transactions. (Books are added two years after their original publication.) Also includes abstracts of meeting papers from 1990 to the present.
  • AGU's Digital Library:     

This database features all of the publications by the American Geophysical Union in full-text from the very first issue.  The journals contained are:
Earth Interactions
Geochemistry, Geophysics, Geosystems
Geophysical Research Letters
Global Biogeochemical Cycles
International Journal of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy
Journal of Geophysical Research, including
        Terrestrial Magnetism
        Terrestrial Magnetism and Atmospheric Electricity
Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics
Paleoceanography
Radio Science
Reviews of Geophysics
Space Weather
Tectonics
Water Resources Research
AGU has never allowed these publications to be indexed in GeoRef, so don't miss searching this database.

Other Geoscience & related Databases

The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science literature available. Bringing together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform, the Lyell Collection is a unique resource for researcher and student alike. This database includes the full set of GSL journals, back to the first issue, in full-text:
Journal of the Geological Society, London 1972 - current   
Geological Society, London, Special Publications
Journal of the Geological Society, London 1845 - 1971   
Geological Society, London, Engineering Geology Special Publications
Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology   
Geological Society, London, Memoirs
Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis

  • Petroleum Abstracts:  
     
    NOTE: This is a new interface by EBSCO with the 'Find Text at TAMU' linking.  Check it out!!
    This database is often the primary research tool for petroleum exploration, development, transportation, and production, as well as related topics that concern environmental, safety, and health issues.  It contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from literature around the world on upstream petroleum operations -plus relevant patent information. Dates of coverage: 1995 - March 2005.  Subjects covered include: Drilling, Geochemistry, Geology, Geophysics, Reservoir Engineering & Recovery Methods, and Well Logging from upstream petroleum operations.  Also included are journal articles, conference proceedings, books, government reports, and patent filings.
  • SPE Library on the Web:   
    NOTE: Be sure to note the numeric Login/Password that are posted on the intermediate page going into this database.  You will again be prompted for these when you put PDF articles into your 'Cart'.           
    This is a comprehensive petroleum technology database covering topics ranging from drilling, formation evaluation, production geology, reservoir engineering, well logging to fluid mechanics, offshore technology, secondary and tertiary oil recovery processes, and well completions.  Other topics include mineral economics and evaluation, management, and emerging technology areas of geothermal, solution mining in-situ leaching, in -situ coal liquefaction and gasification.  Dates of coverage: 1951-present.

General Databases

  • Academic Search Complete   
    Searchable index/abstract database that covers a variety of publications, both scholarly and popular, in a wide variety of disciplines. It also contains a fair amount of full text, but coverage (years) varies.
  • ArticleFirst (OCLC -FirstSearch):
    This database covers over 15,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, humanities and popular culture from 1990 to the present.  It is updated daily.
  • Biosis Previews:
    This database contains citations relevant to paleontology (both vertebrate and invertebrate).   Coverage is from 1993 to the present.
  • Compendex:
    Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over eight million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.   Coverage is from 1969 to the present.
  • EI Engineering Village 2:
    The Combined Compendex® & Inspec® database allows for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Coverage is from 1969 to present. The database is updated weekly.
  • GEOBASE - [OvidSP]:
    GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. This database covers the worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, and their related disciplines.  Over 2,000 books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports are included. Beginning in 1989, Ph.D. and Masters theses are also indexed.   Coverage is from 1990 to the present.  The database provides current coverage of over 2000 journals and archival coverage of several thousand additional titles. GEOBASE is unequalled in it’s coverage of international literature. It offers unique coverage of non-English language items and less readily available publications -plus books, conference proceedings and reports, making this the best resource available for multidisciplinary searches of the international literature.
  • Global Books In Print:
    This database allows searching by topic, title, author, ISBN, and publisher information on books available in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K.   It also Includes forthcoming and out of print books.
  • GPO Monthly Catalog:
    This database provides indexing for United States Government publications from 1976 to the present.  Many of the cited works may be purchased through the GPO.
  • MasterFILE Premier:
    Offers information on a broad variety of subjects, including general interest, multicultural, business, and much more  Coverage is from 1975 to the present.  This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
  • netLibrary:
    Online access to full text scholarly, reference and professional e-books (electronic books) from leading university, academic and professional publishers.
  • NTIS:
    The National Technical Information Service database is a comprehensive abstract collection and index of the results of U.S. government-sponsored research, development, and engineering, plus analyses prepared by federal agencies, their contractors, or grantees. Some state and local government agencies contribute their reports to the database.  This database allows one to determine what type of research is currently funded by the U.S. government.
  • PapersFirst: (FirstSearch):
    This database covers over 580,000 papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.  It is updated monthly.
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses:
    This database is a comprehensive index to doctoral dissertations and master’s theses, and it includes all of the entries in the Dissertation Abstracts Database. It contains citations from institutions in the North America and Europe.
  • ScienceDirect:
    International in scope, ScienceDirect is a database of scientific, technical and medical literature from publishers such as Elsevier, Pergamon, Academic Press, etc. It contains scientific research from journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet.  It includes reference books as well as journals. When the library subscribes to a journal or book via ScienceDirect, the full text can be retrieved as well. The library does not, however, subscribe to every journal, or to the complete run of every journal in ScienceDirect. When the full text is not available, check the ERL, or LibCat to determine whether or not that journal is available from a source other than ScienceDirect.
  • SPIN:
    A funding database for faculty and administrators, colleges and universities, hospitals, libraries and other research institutes in the United States.
  • SpringerLink:
    This is an information service database containing journals and e-books. Covers life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, economics, and law.
  • Web of Knowledge:
    Web of Science includes three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  The databases contain over 2.8 million bibliographic records which are indexed so that they are searchable for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address.  Each article includes the article’s cited reference list, enabling the user to search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
  • WorldCat (FirstSearch):
    This database covers over 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries worldwide.  It Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century and is updated daily.
Document Actions
Your Librarian
Position
Science and Engineering Librarian
Department
Info and Collection Svc - Sciences, Engineering and Liaison Svc
Contact Information
Evans, Room 1.111D
(979) 862-1909
 
Giving to the Libraries