Health & Kinesiology
—
filed under:
Life Sciences
Health Professions | Software | Statistics, Datasets, & Maps | Writing & Grant Resources
Dentistry | Dietitian | Health Education | Nurse | Physical/Occupational Therapy | Physician
Dentistry
- Overview: Dentist Forensic Odontology Outlook for dentists
- Associations: American Dental Association
- Education: Dental Program Search
- Journals: Journal of American Dental Association Journal of Dental Research
Dietitian
- Overview: Dietitian Outlook for dietitians
- Associations: American Dietetic Association
- Education: Getting started (ADA) Accredited Programs
- Journals: Journal of the American Dietetic Association
Health Education
- Overview: Health Educators Health Educators Outlook
- Associations: Graduate Programs
- Education: American Association for Health Education Society for Public Health Education
- Journals: American Journal of Health Education Health Education & Behavior
Nurse
- Overview: Nurse Practitioner Registered Nurse more Outlook for nurses
- Associations: American Nurses Association
- Education: Search for nursing program
- Journals: American Journal of Nursing British Journal of Nursing
Physical and Occupational Therapy
- Overview: Physical Therapy Occupational Therapy Outlook for Physical therapists
- Associations: American Physical Therapy Association
- Education: Physical Therapist Education Programs Physical Therapy Graduate School Programs
- Journals: Physical Therapy Physical Therapy in Sports
Physician
- Overview: Becoming an MD (AMA) Outlook for physicians
- Associations: American Medical Association
- Education: Medical Schools
- Journals: BMJ JAMA
-
AnSWR: Analysis Software for Word-based Records, free software used for "coordinating and conducting large-scale, team-based analysis projects that integrate qualitative and quantitative techniques" from CDC
-
CDC EZ-Text: free software to "create, manage, and analyze semi-structured qualitative databases"
-
DataFerrett: free data mining and extraction tool
-
Epi Info: free software for creating questionnaires and other forms, entering and analyzing data
-
Link Plus: free software for working with data
-
NPCR-EDITS Tools for Writing Portable Edits: free software for defining standards of data, checking data collection processes, and preparing data for analysis
-
SABER: Statistical Analysis Battery for Epidemiological Research, free software for epidemiologic analysis
-
SETS: Statistical Export and Tabulation System, free software to access and manipulate large data files
General Resources
-
LexisNexis Statistical: database of tables on variety of topics by various areas (city, state, country)
-
TableBase (RDS): provide information on market share, healthcare, demographics, and more
-
Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL): contains 8 free dataset downloads on AIDS, STDs, child well being, maternal drug abuse data, and more
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States: from the U. S. Census Bureau, this site covers a wide variety of topics
-
SourceOECD: includes health data, economics, and more
-
Uniform Data System (UDS) from HRSA Bureau of Primary Health Care
Texas Statistics and Data Sets
General Resources
-
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) state statistics on hospital stays
-
State Health Facts wide variety of statistics including demographics, health status, and more from Kaiser Network
-
State Public Health: data by state on variety of topics
Child and Adolescent Health
-
Kids Count: state level data online on a variety of health related topics (disease, insurance, poverty, and more)
-
PeriStats: March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center
-
Special Health Care Needs data resource center on children
Demographics (education, population, economics, diversity, and more)
-
Diversity data: social measurements in metropolitan areas from Harvard School of Public Health
Infectious Diseases
-
HIV/STD Program statistics and trends from Texas Department of State Health Services
-
Vaccine-Preventable Disease Statistics from Texas Department of State Health Services
-
Zoonotic Health Topics statistics, surveillance, information and more from Texas Department of State Health Services
Specific Diseases
-
Cancer Statistics from Texas Dept. of State Health Services
-
Cancer links from CHARTing Health Information for Texas
-
Cardiovascular Disease links from CHARTing Health Information for Texas
National Statistics and Data Sets
General Resources
-
DATA 2010 Data from Healthy People 2010
-
General Datasets and documentation from CDC Wonder
-
Healthcare Cost and Utlization Project (HCUP) data and statistics on hospital stays
-
StateMaster variety of statistics (demographics, health, economy, and much more) for all states
Alcohol, Smoking, Substance Abuse, and other related issues
-
Alchol Use from CDC
-
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System statistics and data alcohol and tobacco use
Births, Maternal Child, and Reproductive health
-
Birth/Natality data from CDC
-
Breast Feeding Practices from CDC
-
Child Trends Data Bank from Child Trends, a non-profit organization; provides data and research on over 100 key indicators of health
-
Healthcare cost and Utilization Project statistics includes hospital stay information on children
-
Growth Charts from CDC
-
Perinatal Mortality data sets and statistics from CDC
-
PeriStats: March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center
-
Vaccine Adverse Events Reporting System from CDC Wonder
-
Reproductive Health from CDC
Deaths
-
Deaths/Mortality data from CDC
-
Infant Deaths data from CDC Wonder
-
Life Expectancy data from CDC
-
Mortality Files data files based on ICD 10 and ICD 9 codes from CDC Wonder
Demographics
- Census Bureau Maps
- Current Population Survey (CPS)
- National Vital Statistics System
-
Population and Household Economic Topics from U. S. Census
-
Population Finder type in city or zip code
-
Population Information data requests for National Center for Health Statistics and U. S. Census
Education
-
Education correlated with other characteristics from U. S. Census
-
Educational Services from U. S. Census Bureau
-
National Assessment of Educational Progress (The Nation's Report Card)
-
National Center for Education Statistics statistics for U. S. on all levels of education
- National Education Longitudinal Study
- Postsecondary Students, Costs, and Financial Aid
- School Districts
- School Enrollment
Environmental and Occupational Health
-
AirData from EPA
-
Envirofacts Data Warehouse from EPA covering waster, water, toxics, air, land, radiation, and more
-
EnviroMapper from EPA search by zipcode
-
Environmental Public Health Data from CDC
Infectious Diseases (HIV/AIDS, STDs, immunizations, and more)
-
AIDS Public Information Data Set from CDC
-
HIV/AIDS Statistics from CDC
-
STDs Surveillance and Statistics from CDC
-
STD Morbidity Reports customizable charts and maps from CDC Wonder
Injuries, Accidents, and Violence
-
Injury Maps provides geographic distribution of injury-related mortality
-
WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System)
-
Work-RISQS (Work-Related Injury Statistics Query System)
Physical Activity and Obesity
-
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System statistics and data on physical activity, obesity, and dietary surveillance
-
Overweight and Obesity Trends from CDC
-
Physical Activity Statistics from CDC by state
Specific Diseases
-
Arthritis Related Statistics from CDC
-
Asthma Data and Surveillance from CDC
-
Cancer Data from CDC
-
Diabetes Data & Trends from CDC
-
Heart Disease from CDC
-
Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS) How American find and use cancer information from National Cancer Institute
-
Online Tuberculosis Information System (OTIS) Data request forms
-
State Cancer Profiles from CDC: incidence and death rates, historical trends, maps, charts, and more
International and Data Sets
General Resources
-
InfoNation economies, population, health, and more for United Nations members
-
National Health-Related Websites links of agencies and organizations listed by country
-
Nation Master provides statistics on variety of topics from economics, education, and health in forms of charts and maps
-
SourceOECD: includes health data, economics, and more
-
WHO Statistical Information System database of statistics of 50 indicators on 193 countries
-
WHO Global InfoBase data warehouse on chronic diseases and risk factors
-
World Development Indicators: data on people, environment, economy, and more
-
WorldMapper maps on population, disease, causes of death, and more
-
United Nations Common Database: reports from UN on variety of topics including health, environment, education, and economics by topic, coutnry, and more
Child and Adolescent Health
-
Child and Adolescent Health and Development data and statistics from WHO
Demographics
-
Census Data for Countries and Areas of the World from 1945-2014, U. S. Census Bureau
-
Demographics and Social Statistics from United Nations
-
Economic Statistics from United Nations
-
International Data Base (IDB)
-
People statistics by country from Nation Master
-
Population Reference Bureau demographics, health and environment variables for 200 countries
-
State of World Population from United National Population Fund
Economics
-
FAOSTAT: database of data relating to food and agriculture for 200 countries on over 200 products
-
International Financial Statistics: database on commodity prices, trade, and more
Education
-
EdStats: World Bank database of education statistics
-
International Archive of Education Data: from the National Center for Education Statistics
Environmental and Occupational Health
-
Environment and Energy Statistics from United Nations
Infectious Diseases
-
Global Health Atlas interactive interface to the WHO Communicable Disease global database
-
Global Health Reporting global data on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, and more
Grant writing
- Craft of Grant Writing Workbook from TAMU Office of Proposal Development
- Columbia University's Guide to Grantmanship
- Environmental Protection Agency (tutorial)
- Foundation Center
- GrantWriters.com
- Logic Model Development Guide from Kellog Foundation
- National Science Foundation proposal and award policies
- Non-profit guides grant writing tips for non-profit organizations
- Resources for National Institutes of Health from TAMU Office of Proposal Development
- Resources for Programs ton Enhance Diversity from TAMU Office of Proposal Development
Finding grants
General
- Community Foundation Locator from Council on Foundations
- COS Funding Opportunities (CSA) Offers personal alerts and searching by keyword, geography, and sponsor
- Corporate Giving Database list of corporations
- Federal Register funding
announcements from federal sources
- Funding Opportunities list maintained by TAMU Office of Proposal Development
- Grants.gov
portal for government funding opportunities; direct application through site
- Grantsnet.org from American Association for the Advancement of Science (includes student support)
- National Science Foundation guide to programs and funding opportunities general descriptions of programs for all National Science Foundation directorates.
- SPIN database of grants from government and private
sources. Use the Advance Search options for best results.
Health
- CRISP Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects, database of federally funded biomedical research
- Funding Opportunities and Notices publication of National Institutes of
Health's grant programs
- Fund Source tool for behavioral and social scientists
- Grants Alert grant notices for K-12 and higher education
- GrantsNet from U. S. Dept of Health & Human Services
- National Center for Environmental Research grants on environmental health research from the EPA
- Robert Wood Johnson Foundation grants on a variety of health related topics
- Rural Assistance Center rural communitiy funding
- Women's Health grants from National Women's Health Information Center
Education
- Braitmayer Foundation educational grants for K-12
- Grants & Fellowships from Chronicle of Higher Education
- Grants for teachers grants for K-12 teachers
- NEA foundation grants for teachers and faculty
- Premier Funding educational grants for K-12 using Premier's student agenda program
- School grants educational grants for K-12