Health Policy & Management
Databases | Guidelines/Reports | Journals | Organizations | Reference Books & Tools | Software Resources | Statistics & Datasets | Writing/Grant Resources
- CINAHL (Ebsco) covers nursing, nutrition, exercise, and physical therapy
- Cochrane Library systematic reviews and clinical trials
- DoPHER : Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews, collection of articles on interventions (free)
- Federal Register: daily reports on rules and notices from federal agencies (1994-present)
- Health Disparities Database: database from APHA and United Health Foundation programs (free)
- Health Evidence: reviews on interventions (requires free registration) (free)
- Health Reference Center - Academic covers fitness, medicine, nutrition, public health, and more.
- Intergovernmental organizations: google search engine
- Military & Government Collection (Ebsco)
- National CAHPS Benchmarking Database: Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems surveys from AHRQ (free)
- RAND Health publications: research reports on health, healthcare, education, and more from RAND (free)
- RePEc: Research Papers in Economics, over 500,000 publicatios
- Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
- General Accountability Office Reports & Testimonies: 1970-present
-
Healthy People reports (free)
- Informed Decisions Toolbox: finding and using management research evidence
- National Clearinghouse Guidelines: evidence based practice guidelines on variety of conditions and diseases, includes measures section
- American Journal of Public Health
- Behavioral health management
- BMC health services research
- Frontiers in health services management
- Group and organization management
- Health Affairs
- Health care management review
- Health care management science
- Health facilities management
- Health Management
- Health management technology
- Health Research Policy and Systems
- Healthcare Financial Management
- Home health care management and practice
- Hospital access management
- Hospital case management
- Hospital payment and information management
- Journal of behavioral health services & research
- Journal of cardiovascular management
- Journal of healthcare management
- Journal of Health Economics
- Journal of health and human services administration
- Journal of public health management and practice
- Marketing health services
- Medeconomics
- Occupational health management
- Patient care management
- Patient education management
- Quality management in health care
- Social Science & Medicine- Medical Economics
- Topics in health information management
- Alliance for Health Policy and Systems Research
- American Academy of Medical Administrators
- American Public Health Association, Health Administration section
- National Association of Health Services Executives
- National Association for Healthcare Quality
Health Policy, Economic, and Management
- Chief Elected Officials of Texas
- Declaration of Independence
- Directory of Health Organizations
- Handbook of Texas
- Health Services Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)
Medical references
- AccessMedicine: from McGraw-Hill; includes Harrison's Online, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, pharmaceutical index, guidelines, and more.
- Anatomy TV: no articles, interactive 3D anatomy reference resource includes sport injuries, MRIs, and more
- Books@Ovid : Collection of full text medical, nursing, and pharmaceutical textbooks
- Directory of Health Organizations: free database on organizations from National Library of Medicine
- GIDEON (Ebsco): includes diagnosis symptom guide, epidemiology (maps of infectious diseases), drug therapy, and microbiology reference tools
- Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale): a Medical encyclopedia, Drug & Herb Finder, Alternative Health Encyclopedia, Health Assessment Tools, Health Organization Directory, and more.
- LANGE educational library: Includes medical education resources for course study, self-assessment tool, and LANGE Case Files.
- MD Consult: provides e-books, patient education handouts, guidelines, images, and more
- Oxford English Dictionary: comprehensive dictionary of the English language
- StatRef 1: Collection of full text medical and pharmaceutical textbooks including the DSM IV. Also provides a medical dictionary and medical calculators (click on the resources tab).
- StatRef 2 : Collection of full text pharmaceutical textbooks
Commercial Software
Free software
- EpiInfo: free software from CDC for creating and analyzing questionnaires/surveys
- R-Project: free software for statistical computing and graphics
- SABER: Statistical Analysis Battery for Epidemiological Research, free from CDC
- SETS: Statistical Export and Tabulation System, free from CDC
- StatLib software download software for various tasks
- Adolescent Health: stats on risk factors, access to health care, mortality, and more from CDC
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System: health risk behavior statistics from 1996-present
- CDC Wonder (variety of health topics)
- Child Health USA: statistics on children's health
- Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR): public use data sets from US Dept of Energy, environmental health, radiation, and more
- Current Population Survey (CPS) includes data on income, health insurance coverage, and more
- Healthy People DATA 2010: data by focus area, data source, specific population group, and more
- Health Poll Search: interactive results from polls on health related issues
- Infant Health: stats on risk factors, access to health care, mortality, and more from CDC
- Men's Health: stats on risk factors, access to health care, mortality, and more from CDC
- Minority Health data from State Health Facts includes interactive tables, bar graphs, and maps
- Office of Minority Health & Health Disparities (OMHD) cultural specific pages (demographics, 10 leading causes of death, and more):
- African American
- American Indian & Alaska Native
- Asian American
- Hispanic or Latino
- Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander
- Multiracial
- White
- U. S. Physical Activity Statistics from CDC
- Women's Health: stats on risk factors, access to health care, mortality, and more from CDC
- World Health Organization: data and statistics on health, and other issues around the world (interactive tables)
Grant writing
- Craft of Grant Writing Workbook from TAMU Office of Proposal Development
- Columbia University's Guide to Grantmanship
- Environmental Protection Agency (tutorial)
- Foundation Center
- GrantWriters.com
- Logic Model Development Guide from Kellog Foundation
- National Science Foundation proposal and award policies
- Non-profit guides grant writing tips for non-profit organizations
- Resources for National Institutes of Health from TAMU Office of Proposal Development
- Resources for Programs ton Enhance Diversity from TAMU Office of Proposal Development
Finding grants
General
- Community Foundation Locator from Council on Foundations
- COS Funding Opportunities (CSA) Offers personal alerts and searching by keyword, geography, and sponsor
- Corporate Giving Database list of corporations
- Federal Register funding announcements from federal sources
- Funding Opportunities list maintained by TAMU Office of Proposal Development
- Grants.gov portal for government funding opportunities; direct application through site
- Grantsnet.org from American Association for the Advancement of Science (includes student support)
- National Science Foundation guide to programs and funding opportunities general descriptions of programs for all National Science Foundation directorates.
- SPIN database of grants from government and private sources. Use the Advance Search options for best results.
Health
- CRISP Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects, database of federally funded biomedical research
- Funding Opportunities and Notices publication of National Institutes of Health's grant programs
- Fund Source tool for behavioral and social scientists
- Grants Alert grant notices for K-12 and higher education
- GrantsNet from U. S. Dept of Health & Human Services
- National Center for Environmental Research grants on environmental health research from the EPA
- Robert Wood Johnson Foundation grants on a variety of health related topics
- Rural Assistance Center rural communitiy funding
- Women's Health grants from National Women's Health Information Center
Education
- Braitmayer Foundation educational grants for K-12
- Grants & Fellowships from Chronicle of Higher Education
- Grants for teachers grants for K-12 teachers
- NEA foundation grants for teachers and faculty
- Premier Funding educational grants for K-12 using Premier's student agenda program
- School grants educational grants for K-12