University Libraries Subject Guides Industrial & Systems Engineering

Industrial & Systems Engineering

— filed under:

How Do I ...?

Find particular types of sources (i.e. books, scholarly articles, technical reports, etc.? | Manage citations? | Write & cite the literature? | Get additional help? | Useful Definitions

HOW DO I find particular types of resources?

Articles (scholarly, peer-reviewed, trade, popular)
Books
Books -- electronic & handbooks
Conference papers & proceedings
Data or statistics
Dissertations & theses
Journals & magazines
News reports (industry & trade)
Technical reports/papers
Reference works


To find ARTICLES on a research topic, search or browse one or more of the following databases:

TIP: When the full text (html or pdf) is not present, click on the "Find text@TAMU" (or SFX) link for article or paper retrieval options.
Click on of these subject areas for a list of databases in that subject area:

Eng & Tech | Science & Math | Psychology & Soc. Sci | Business & Economics

Engineering & Technology Databases

ACM Portal (computer science) -- full text
Applied Science & Technology (Wilson)
Compendex (on Ei Village)
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
  1. CSA Engineering Research Database
  2. CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace
  3. CSA Materials Research Database with Metadex
IEEE Xplore -- full text
Inspec (on Ei Village)
Science Citation Index
Science Direct
Scopus
Web of Science

Science & Math Databases

MathSciNet
Medline (Ovid interface) -- medicine
Pubmed -- medicine
Science Citation Index
ScienceDirect
Scopus
SIAM Journals -- applied math
Web of Science

Psychology & Social Science Indexes & Databases

Academic Search Complete -- multidisciplinary
PsycInfo
-- psychology
PsycArticles
ScienceDirect

Scopus
Social Sciences (Wilson)

Business & Economics Indexes & Databases

ABI/Inform
Business Source Complete
EconLit (CSA)
Business (Wilson)
ScienceDirect
Web of Science


To Find Electronic BOOKS & HANDBOOKS (2 options):

Option 1: Search LibCat, the libraries online catalog:

Step 1: enter words in the search terms box
Step 2: choose a search type (keyword, title keyword, title starts with, etc.)
Step 3 (optional) on the LibCat search screen: "Limit your search" to World Wide Web)
TIP: notice that LibCat records for e-books have the phrase "electronic resource" in their titles.
More >

Option 2: Access & search (or browse) one of the libraries'E-BOOK collections (databases):

CRC EngNetBase -- engineering handbooks
Ebrary -- multidisciplinary
Knovel -- science & engineering
NetLibrary -- multidisciplinary
PsycBooks
Referex -- engineering
Safari Tech Books Online -- computer manuals, C+ programming, etc.
SpringerLink Books

To Find CONFERENCE PAPERS / PROCEEDINGS (3 options):

Option 1: Browse or Search one of the following FULL TEXT databases:

ACM Portal -- computer science
IEEE Xplore -- engineering & computer science

Option 2 (find proceedings):

Search the literature for conference papers on a topic by searching one, or more of the indexing/abstracting databases below:
TIP 1: Limit search to conference papers
TIP 2: Use the "Find text@TAMU" (or SFX) link to find the text of the paper, or to request a paper through Get it for me.

Applied Science & Technology (Wilson)
Compendex (on Ei Village)
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Inspec (on Ei Village)
MathSciNet
PapersFirst
SciFinder Scholar -- chemistry
Scopus

Option 3 (Find proceedings):

Search LibCat, the libraries' online catalog.
Use this option if you have the name/title of a conference -- do a keyword search on words from the conference name/title -- do NOT search for the title of the individual conference paper in LibCat. For help finding conference proceedings, come to Evans Reference (1st floor), or contact the aerospace reference librarian (Jane Stephens)


To Find DATA and/or statistical information, search or browse one or more of the following:

AccessUN -- United Nations
Business & Industry (RDS)
Business Resource Locator
Business Source Complete TIP: limit before or after the search
CRC EngNetBase -- engineering handbooks
Economic Census
FAOStat -- Food & Agricultural Organization
GPO Access
Handout with selected sources
Knovel -- science & engineering books -- try the advanced search when looking for data
LexisNexis Statistical
Statistical Abstract of the United States Print call # Online version
StatUSA
TableBase (RDS)

To find DISSERTATIONS & THESES, search one or more of the following:

Index to Theses
LibCat, the libraries' online catalog
Proquest Dissertations & Theses -- national & international -- some full text
TAMU Digital Library (formerly TxSpace; ~2000 to present)
WorldCat -- national, international. When not owned by TAMU, request via Get it for me

To find specific JOURNALS & MAGAZINES (4 options):

Option 1: List of journals for industrial & systems engineering
Option 2: Electronic journal databases (search or browse)
Option 3: Search LibCat for specific journals
Option 4: Search E-journal list -- for specific journals

Option 1: List of journals relevant to Industrial & Systems Engineering

Selected I&SE journals:

Option 2 (find journals or magazines): Search or browse one of the following electronic journal databases:

ACM Portal
Emerald -- emphasis on management science, industrial engineering, library & info science
IEEE Xplore
JSTOR
ScienceDirect
SIAM Journals -- applied mathematics
Springer
Wiley

Option 3 (find journals): Search LibCat for journal/magazine titles:

Step 1: Access LibCat, the libraries' online catalog
Step 2: Enter search terms in search terms box -- enter the title of the journal or keywords from the title (depending on step 3).
Step 3: Choose a search type (journal title starts with or journal title keyword)
TIP: For a journal title starts with search, omit initial articles. For example, the journal title: The Journal of the Whatnot Society is entered as: journal of the whatnot society.

Option 4: Search for electronic journals owned by TAMU libraries:

Step 1: Access the e-journals search and follow the rest of these steps:
Step 2: enter keywords from the title of the journal
Step 3: Review results list
TIP 1: Notice the "available online from" information -- if you need 1997 and the available online from specifies 2000 to present, the library does NOT have access to 1997.
TIP 2: If the results screen displays the message "sorry no results found," search LibCat (option 3 above). Journals, or articles not owned by A&M can be requested through Get it for me.
TIP 3: If the library does not own a journal, make a purchase recommendation for it.


Find NEWS REPORTS (industry & trade), search one or more of the following databases:

ABI/Inform
Business & Industry (RDS)
Business Source Complete
LexisNexis Academic

To Find TECHNICAL reports/papers (2 options):

Option 1: Search through the literature:

Compendex
GPOAccess
Inspec
NTIS -- government funded research (use the accession # to find the microform)
Science.gov or WorldScience.org
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Global Mobility Full text coming soon
STINET

How do I manage citations?


How do I write & cite the literature?


HOW DO I get additional library help?

Contact: Jane Stephens, the Industrial & Systems Engineering Librarian:
E-mail: jstephens@tamu.edu
Phone: 979-845-5382 (voice mail)
Online: AskNow, Class Guides, Subject Guides, Tutorials, Handouts
Telephone: Evans Ref Desk: 979-845-5741 | Library phone numbers
In Person: Evans Reference (1st floor Evans) | Hours | Maps & Parking
Individual consultations: I&SE Subject Librarian | Subject Librarian Directory
Group Instruction: Tours, Classes, Orientation | Library Instruction Request I&SE Librarian


Useful Definitions (library jargon):

Article—scholarly: See periodical

 

Book—scholarly:

A book that covers a specialized topic, written by a expert in the field and that is intended to be read by people in that field. Clues (not absolutes) that indicate that a book is scholarly include the author affiliations indicating expertise, university press imprints, books edited by one or more experts in the field. These books usually have references or a bibliography.

Indexing/abstracting database:

This particular category of database contains citations (descriptions) of material (articles, conference papers, book chapters) usually in a particular subject area, but sometimes in multiple areas. Searching one or more of these databases is the first step in performing a literature review; it leads to the identification of relevant material (journal articles, conference papers, books, etc.), but does not necessarily to retrieval of the documents (articles, papers, etc.) themselves. When the actual article is not present with the citation, use the "Find text@TAMU" button sometimes seen as SFX) for document (articles, papers,etc.) retrieval options. Remember that Get it for me will scan articles into pdf files when TAMU has the print (paper) format but no electronic access to it.

Journal: see periodical

 

Library Catalog:

A comprehensive list of material (books, journals, magazines, maps, newspapers, directories, proceedings, DVDs, etc.) owned by one or more libraries. WorldCat is a catalog for many libraries around the world. LibCat is the catalog for the A&M libraries' collections (Evans, the Annex, WCL, PSEL, & Cushing). The catalog allows retrieval of bibliographic records (descriptions) via a variety of access points (i.e. search types such as: author, title, subject heading, call number), and also via keyword. The material itself is then retrieved using the location and call number, or the URL, etc. provided in the LibCat record (bibliographic record).

Periodical – Journal – Magazine:

Publications that are issued on a regular (periodic) basis, such as: weekly, monthly, semi-monthly, bimonthly, etc. These publications contain articles (feature, or short), book reviews, etc.
      Trade magazine: "A periodical devoted to disseminating news and information of interest to a specific category of business or industry, often published by a trade association."
      Scholarly journal: A periodical devoted to disseminating original research and commentary on current developments in a specific discipline, sub-discipline, or field of study… Journal articles are usually written by the person (or persons) who conducted the research. Longer than most magazine articles, they almost always include a bibliography or list of works cited at the end. In journals in the sciences and social sciences, an abstract usually precedes the text of the article, summarizing its content. Most scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.
      Peer review is the process by which one's peers (experts in a given field) evaluate the article prior to its publication.
      Popular Magazines: "A popular interest periodical usually containing articles on a variety of topics, written by various authors in a non-scholarly style. Most magazines are heavily illustrated, contain advertising, and are printed on glossy paper…." Examples are: Time; Newsweek; Discover.
Quotes & definition source: OLIS: Reitz, J.M. Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science. Viewed August 27, 2008 http://lu.com/odlis/about.cfm

Document Actions
Your Librarian
Position
Science and Engineering Librarian
Department
Info and Collection Svc - Sciences, Engineering and Liaison Svc
Contact Information
Evans, Room 1.110F
(979) 845-7572
My Other Guides
Biology
Environmental Studies
 
Giving to the Libraries