Oceanography
—
filed under:
Physical and Mathematical Sciences
Remember!!
I attend the weekly Oceanography Dept. Seminars on Monday afternoons and I am available afterwards for any library help, so grab me if you need anything. See you there!!
NEW!
Bathymetry resources from the Maps Dept
Indexes/Databases
Use these indexing and abstracting databases to locate journal articles and other non-book publications in Oceanography, Ocean Engineering, and related disciplines. Most of these databases are proprietary, fee-based resources, with access fees paid by the University Libraries, student fees, and donors. Licensing agreements limit access to these resources to Texas A&M University students, faculty, and staff.
-
ASFA Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Overwhelmingly cited by a majority of aquatic science librarians as their primary database, the ASFA series is the premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners. Major areas of coverage include: aquaculture, aquatic organisms, aquatic pollution, brackish water environments, conservation, environmental quality, fisheries, freshwater environments, limnology, marine biotechnology, marine environments, meteorology, oceanography, policy and legislation, and wildlife management. Coverage is from 1971 – present. -
Biological Abstracts (Call Number: QH301 .B37 or use Biosis Previews)
-
BIOSIS Previews
Indexes research reports, reviews, books, meeting abstracts and reports, papers, posters, notes, letters, technical data reports, U.S. patents, bibliographies, nomenclature rules, and taxonomic keys. Coverage includes botany, zoology, microbiology, biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology, medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. The BIOSIS Previews database includes the contents of Biological Abstracts, Biological Abstracts/RRM and BioResearch Index. Biological Abstracts is one of the main bibliographic references to the life sciences journal literature. It indexes biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, discoveries of new organisms, agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. -
Chemical Abstracts (through SciFinder Scholar 2006 -Citrix access)
Coverage: 1907- - Through Present, Source: CAS The most important and comprehensive index for chemistry, covering the world literature back to 1907. This online version of Chemical Abstracts contains over 23 million references, including 4.1 million patents from over 45 active patent-issuing authorities. It indexes material from more than 9000 journals and 150 countries. Sources include journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more. The CASREACT database portion includes reaction information for single- and multiple-step reactions. (Off-campus use of this Citrix-mediated access to SciFinder requires installation of the Citrix client and Virtual Private Network software. Instructions are available on the copyright statement page that you will encounter as you initiate access to this resource. On-campus users may install the SciFinder dedicated client on office computers to replace the Citrix-mediated access used in the libraries and open-access computing labs.) -
Current Contents Connect
Current Contents Connect is a weekly table-of-contents database that presents the contents pages of current issues of the world's scholarly and technical journals, books, and proceedings literature. -
Engineering Index Monthly (Call Number: Z5851 .E622)
-
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Abstracts and citations from over 5980 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Major areas of coverage include: Agricultural biotechnology; Air quality; Aquatic pollution; Bacteriology; Ecology; Energy resources; Environmental biotechnology; Environmental engineering; Environmental impact statements (U.S.); Hazardous waste; Industrial hygiene; Microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues; Pollution: land, air, water, noise, solid waste, radioactive; Risk assessment; Safety science; Toxicology & toxic emissions; Water pollution; Waste management; Water resource issues. Allows simultaneous searching of the following Cambridge Scientific Abstracts databases: Conference Papers Index; Environmental Sciences and Pollution Mgmt; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements; Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts; NTIS; TOXLINE. -
GEOBASE - [OvidSP]
GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database supplying citations and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics, development studies, as well as some coverage in leisure, recreation and tourism, fisheries, wildlife, botany, zoology, microbiology. Coverage includes books; refereed scientific papers; trade journal and magazine articles; product reviews; directories; conference proceedings; and reports. Also covers non-English language publications. -
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) contains records drawn from the World's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs, are included. Major areas of coverage include: Air pollution, Astrophysics, Atmospheric disturbances, Atmospheric structure, Climatology, Geomagnetism, Glaciology, Groundwater/surface water hydrology, Hydrologic cycle, Meteorological observations, Physical Oceanography, Radiation and temperature, and Weather forecasting. Coverage is from 1974 to the present. MGA is produced by the American Meteorological Society. -
Oceanic Abstracts (CSA)
Starting its 32nd year, Oceanic Abstracts is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. The database has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. This database is totally comprehensive in its coverage of living and non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Major areas of coverage include: Biological Oceanography, Ecology, Physical and chemical oceanography, Marine geology, Geophysics, Geochemistry, Marine pollution, Nonliving marine resources, Navigation and communications, Maritime law, Desalination, Ships, Shipping, and Marine biology. Coverage: 1981 – current. -
Petroleum Abstracts
This database is often the primary research tool for petroleum exploration, development, transportation, and production, as well as related topics that concern environmental, safety, and health issues. It contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from literature around the world on upstream petroleum operations -plus relevant patent information. Dates of coverage: 1995 - March 2005. Subjects covered include: Drilling, Geochemistry, Geology, Geophysics, Reservoir Engineering & Recovery Methods, and Well Logging from upstream petroleum operations. Also included are journal articles, conference proceedings, books, government reports, and patent filings. -
Science Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Also includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Some of the disciplines covered include: Agriculture, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Neuroscience, Oncology, Pediatrics, Pharmacology, Physics, Plant Sciences, Psychiatry, Surgery, Veterinary Science, and Zoology. Coverage: 1900 to the present. -
Zoological Record
Comprehensive index to zoological literature, including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, etc. Indexes professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, reviews, and conference proceedings.
Other Recommended Guides |