University Libraries Subject Guides Psychology

Psychology

— filed under:

Core Databases

PsycINFO (CSA)
Most comprehensive psychology database -- produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) -- covering scholarly literature from the 1800s to the present.  Use this to search for articles, books, conference papers, and selected dissertations, including links to full-text journal articles found in PsycARTICLES, full-text book chapters found in PsycBOOKS, and full-text reviews found in PsycCRITIQUES.  Roughly 98% of the journals are peer-reviewed; all content is scholarly.
PsycARTICLES (CSA)
Collection of over 60 full-text, peer-reviewed journals published by APA and others.  Coverage begins with volume 1 for all journals, oldest starting in 1894.  New issues are loaded about 2 weeks after print copies are mailed to subscribers.  All journals are searchable through PsycINFO with links to full text.
PsycBOOKS (CSA)
Collection of over 1500 full-text scholarly books -- many published by APA -- including some "classic" and out-of-print books with importance to the history of psychology.  Newer books are added during the year following publication (copyright) date. Also includes entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.  All books/chapters are searchable through PsycINFO with links to full text.
PsycCRITIQUES (EBSCO)
Use this to find full-text, up-to-date reviews of very current books, films/videos (both education and popular), and some software related to psychology.  PsycCRITIQUES replaced the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books in January 2005, with greatly expanded content and weekly updates.  The historical file, published from 1956-2004, is included.  Over 900 reviews published annually.  All reviews are searchable through PsyCINFO with links to full text.

Related Databases

Annual Reviews
Each full-text annual volume provides about 20 scholarly, comprehensive review articles critiquing the most important research published during the year.  Articles are written by leading scientists in each of the 29 disciplines and include extensive reference lists.  Access the following psychology-related Annual Reviews using the the link above:
     Annual Review of Psychology (1950 - present)
     Annual Review of Clinical Psychology (2005 - present)
     Annual Review of Neuroscience (1978 - present)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (CSA)
Use this to find scholarly articles, books, conference papers, and selected dissertations on topics such as language acquisition, bilingualism/multilingualism, language behavior, learning and language disabilities, speech, verbal/non-verbal communication, and psycholinguistics.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
A subset of over 600 scholarly, psychology-related journals covered in Academic Search Complete -- mostly full-text and peer-reviewed.
Psychology: a Sage Full-Text Collection
Collection of over 30 full-text psychology journals covering areas such as clinical and counseling topics, Black and Hispanic psychology issues, measurement and assessment, and development.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)
Use this to find descriptions and full-text critiques/reviews of commercial (published) standardized test instruments -- including validity and reliability data -- in 18 areas such as educational skills, intelligence, aptitude, personality, and achievement.  Content is taken from the 9th to current editions of the MMY series. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska. Previous 8 editions available in print only, Evans Library, call#: Z5814 P8 B932.
Tests in Print (EBSCO)
Use this to identify over 2,000 currently available commercial (published) test instruments in the English language.  Test descriptions include: administration time, intended test population, price, publication date, acronym, author(s), publisher, and test purpose (what is being measured).  Also serves as an index to ALL editions of MMY and includes citations (but no links) to reviews found in MMY (1st - 8th editions in print; 9th to current editions online).  Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska.
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Psychology & Psychiatry
Provides descriptive information on roughly 625 journals related to psychology including: contact, publisher, link to journal website, frequency of publication, topics covered, manuscript submission guidelines, and instruction for authors.  Also describes review process: acceptance rate, % invited articles, type of review (editorial/blind), and turnaround time to review submissions.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Good starting place for scholarly articles on interdisciplinary topics, including behavioral sciences.  Find full-text access to over 6,100 scholarly journals and abstracts to an additional 4,000 journals in all areas of social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson)
Use this to find citations and abstracts to English-language articles in over 600 scholarly journals and full-text articles from over 200 journals, published world-wide, covering a wide range of social sciences disciplines, including psychology and behavioral sciences.
Web of Science (ISI/Thomson Reuters)
Links to ISI's Web of Knowledge home page where you can search one or all of the following: Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  Use SSCI to find citations and abstracts for articles from roughly 1,950 journals covering over 50 social sciences disciplines, including behavioral sciences; or use the "Cited Reference Search" feature to find out who has cited a specific article and how many times it has been cited within journals covered by Web of Science.  Each article description includes a "Times Cited" link which allows you to move forward in time by viewing a list of articles that cited the original article; and a "Cited References" link which allows you to move back in time by viewing the reference list for the original article.
Journal Citation Reports (ISI/Thomson Reuters)

Theses & Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
TXSpace: TAMU Theses and Dissertations

Online Encyclopedias

Comprehensive Clinical Psychology (Elsevier)
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology (Elsevier)
Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy (Elsevier)
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement (Elsevier)
Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science (Wiley)
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain (Elsevier)
Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences (Elsevier)
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (Elsevier)

 

Document Actions
Your Librarian
Position
Social Sciences and Education Librarian
Department
Info and Coll Svc - Humanities, Social Sci and Instructional Svc
Contact Information
Evans, Room Evans 1.111F
(979) 862-1048
My Other Guide
Educational Psychology
 
Giving to the Libraries