You are here: Home Subject Guides Race & Ethnic Studies

Race & Ethnic Studies

— filed under:

Welcome to the Race & Ethnic Studies research guide. This guide will assist researchers identify electronic subject specific databases, internet resources, and other resources for conducting research.  Use the navigation tabs to view books, journals, and other helpful sources.  If you require additional research assistance, class or individual instruction contact  subject specialist, Rebecca Hankins, rhankins@tamu.edu, 979-845-1951.

INDEXES & DATABASES

 
Academic Search Complete
: Scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed, indexes over 4300 periodicals and contains full text for over 3400 scholarly publications. Dates: Varies.

Alternative Press Index: Leading guide to alternative press with international and interdisciplinary scope indexing 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Dates: 1991 - present.

American History & Life: A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Dates: 1964- present.

Anthropological Literature: International index to articles and essays on anthropology, archaeology, art history, demography, economics psychology, ethnohistory, ethnomusicology and religious studies. Dates: 19th century - present.

Asian American Drama: Includes more than “250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.” Dates: 19th century-present

Biography Resource Center: A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Chicano Database: A comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for and about Chicanos. This database also includes the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants and the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database which covers psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Dates 1960-present.

Digital Dissertations: Consult this authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses related to any discipline. Includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to present. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author and citations for master's theses from 1988 include 150-word abstracts.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center): This database is a national information system designed to provide access to education literature. Established in 1966 by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences and the National Library of Education. Contains more than 1,000,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. Dates 1966-present.

Ethnic NewsWatch
ENW features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 250 publications offering both national and regional coverage.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index): Worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Includes complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Dates 1970 - present.

Historical Abstracts: A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts currently indexes over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Dates: 1450 - present.

HRAF Collection of Ethnography: A cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Dates: 1949 - present.

JSTOR: Full-text searchable database of articles from an archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Searches may be limited to a specific subject category of journals.

Lexis Nexis Academic: Includes trade journals, newspapers, wire services and transcripts. Dates: varies

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service): A bibliographic index to political, economic, and social issues in current debate. The database covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, health care, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. Dates: 1972 - present.

PCI (Periodicals Contents Index): Indexes complete runs of journals, some right back to 1770. Its coverage is broad: every area of the humanities and social sciences with an international scope. Dates: 1770 - 1993.

Political Science Abstracts: Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Dates: 1975 - present.

Project MUSE
A collection of electronic journals in the humanities and liberal arts. Unlike JSTOR, which has complete retrospective runs, MUSE holds current journal titles. The older issues of selected MUSE journals are electronically available through JSTOR.

PsycInfo: Indexes international literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and related disciplines from over 1,400 professional journals, book chapters, books, reports, and dissertations. Dates: 1872 - present.

SAGE Race Relations Abstracts: Provides abstracts of periodical articles about race, race relations. Covers issues related to discrimination, education, employment, health, politics, law and legislation.    

Sociological Abstracts: Primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database indexes information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, books and dissertations. Dates: 1963 - present.

Selected Journals

**This is not a comprehensive list of journals, check LIBCAT for additional titles.

 

 

Other Recommended Guides

Document Actions
Your Librarian
Position
Africana Resources Librarian/Curator
Department
Cushing Library
Contact Information
Annex, Room 409.G
(979) 845-1951 x (979) 845-5874
 
Giving to the Libraries