University Libraries Subject Guides Recreation, Park & Tourism Sciences

Recreation, Park & Tourism Sciences

— filed under:

HOW DO I...?

Find particular types of sources (i.e. books, scholarly articles, tech reports, etc.? |

Write & cite the literature? | Get more library help?


HOW DO I find particular types of resources?

Articles (scholarly, peer-reviewed, trade, popular)
Books
Books -- Electronic
Data or Statistics
Dissertations & theses
Government Documents

Journals & magazines
Maps & Atlases & Guidebooks

News reports (industry & trade)
Reference works (dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, etc.)


To find ARTICLES on a research topic, search or browse one or more of the following database:

TIP: When the full text (html or pdf) is not present, click on the "Find text@TAMU" (or SFX) link for article or paper retrieval options.

ABI/Inform -- business
Academic Search Complete
-- multidisciplinary
Agricola (EBSCO)
Agricola (National Agricultural Library, US)
Agris -- agricultural science & technology
America: History & Life
ASFA Aquatic Sciences
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Biological & Agricultural Index (Wilson)
BIOSIS -- life sciences
Business & Company Resource Center
Business Source Complete (includes Hospitality & Tourism Index)
CAB Abstracts -- includes Leisure Recreation &  Tourism Abstracts & much more
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) -- see individual entries

Note: Search individual CSA indexing databases, or search groups (natural science, social science, etc.

Current Contents
EconLit (CSA)
Education (Wilson)
Environmental Impact Statements (CSA)

ERIC education (CSA version, or Ebsco version)
GeoBase
GeoRef
Historical Abstracts
IBISWorld -- research on industries (statistics, analysis, forecasts); reports on companies

Lexis Nexis Environmental
PAIS
International -- public policy
PapersFirst -- multidisciplinary
Physical Education Index (CSA)
PsycInfo -- psychology, educational psychology (CSA)
Scopus
Social Sciences Abstracts (indexes some titles relevant to leisure research)
Sociological Abstracts
SportDiscus
Web of Science -- science, social science, arts & humanities -- journal articles only
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide


To Find ELECTRONIC Books:

Option 1: Search LibCat, the libraries' online catalog

Step 1: enter words in the search terms box
Step 2: choose a search type (keyword, title keyword, title starts with, etc.)
Step 3 (optional) on the LibCat search screen: "Limit your search" to World Wide Web)
Notice that LibCat records for e-books have the phrase "electronic resource" in their titles.
More >

Option 2: Access & search or browse one of the libraries' online e-book databases:

Ebrary - multidisciplinary
NetLibrary - multidisciplinary
Safari Tech Books -- computer manuals, programming books


To Find DATA and/or STATISTICAL information, search or browse one or more of the following:

AccessUN -- United Nations
American Time Survey from Bureau of Labor Statistics -- time spent at work, socializing, etc.
Business & Industry (RDS)
Business Source Complete
Gallup Poll Briefing (Ebsco)
LexisNexis Statistical
National Center for Education Statistics

NPS Stats -- National Parks Service Public Use Statistics Office
Office of Travel & Tourism Industries
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Sports Business Research Network (SBRN)
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Online) Print call number
TableBase (RDS)
Tourism Statistics -- from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics (American Travel Survey; America on the Go, etc.

US Physical Activity Statistics -- Center for Disease Control (CDC)
WHO Statistical Information system


To find DISSERTATIONS & THESES, search one or more of the following:

Index to Theses
LibCat, the libraries' online catalog
Proquest Theses & Dissertations -- national & international -- some full text
TAMU Digital Library (~2000 to present)
WorldCat -- national, international. When not owned by TAMU, request via Get it for me


To find GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS, search one of the following:

Government Periodicals Index
Google Uncle Sam
GPO Access
GPO Monthly Catalog (OCLC)
LibCat, TAMU's online catalog
NTIS - government sponsored research reports. Documents on microfiche
Stinet
WorldCat -- library holdings worldwide


To find JOURNALS & MAGAZINES (3 options):

Option 1: Electronic journal packages (search or browse)
Option 2: Search LibCat
Option 3: Search LibCat to find journals in a particular subject
Option 4: Search E-journal list

Option 1 (find journals or magazines): Search or browse one of the following electronic journal databases:

Haworth Press
JSTOR
Routledge
Science Direct
Wiley

Option 2 (find journals): Search LibCat for journal/magazine titles:

Step 1: Access LibCat, the libraries' online catalog
Step 2: Enter search terms in search terms box -- enter the title of the journal or keywords from the title (depending on step 3).
Step 3: Choose a search type (journal title starts with or journal title keyword)
TIP: For a journal title starts with search, omit initial articles. For example, the journal title: The Journal of the Whatnot Society is entered as: journal of the whatnot society.

Option 3: Search LibCat to find journals in one the following subjects:

TIP 1: Use the "Notes", "current issues owned", "Library owns", "Status", to determine if the library has the volume(s) and year(s) needed.
TIP 2: Get it for me will scan articles (free) if the library owns the journal in paper format only.
Camping
Ecology
Fishing
Leisure
Outdoor Life
Outdoor Recreation
Parks
Recreation
Tourism
Travel

Option 4: Use the "e-journal" search to find specific electronic journals owned by TAMU libraries:

Step 1: Access the e-journals search and follow the rest of these steps:
Step 2: enter keywords from the title of the journal
Step 3: Review results list
TIP 1: Notice the "available online from" information -- if you need 1997 and the available online from specifies 2000 to present, the library does NOT have access to 1997.
TIP 2: If the results screen displays the message "sorry no results found," search LibCat (option 3 above). Journals, or articles not owned by A&M can be requested through Get it for me.
TIP 3: If the library does not own a journal, make a purchase recommendation for it.


To Find MAPS, ATLASES & TRAVEL GUIDES:

Search LibCat, the libraries online catalog
TIP: Use the "set limits" button to limit results to "format" map and/or globe
TIP: Most print maps & atlases are located in the Map Room, which is on the 2nd floor of Evans. Use the "Location" in the LibCat record to determine the location.

Topographic Maps
Nautical Charts (subject search)
Navigation Maps (subject search)
Forest (subject search forest AND maps)
Wilderness (subject search wilderness AND Maps)

Map Room collections of particular interest to RPTS
TIP: Optional: Use "set limits" to limit results to material housed in the Map Room.

Al Stonestreet Parks & Recreation Collection -- date range: 1872-1997
Travel Guidebooks (current guides; older guides are in the regular shelves): Make the word guidebooks a subject keyword search and limit to location Map room. For the entries below, also limit to map room
DK guide books (keyword search on just dk)
Fodor's guides
Lonely Planet
Michelin travel
Off the Beaten Path

To Find NEWS REPORTS (industry & trade), search one or more of the following databases:

ABI/Inform
Business & Industry (RDS)
Business Source Complete
Campus Research (WestLaw) -- Search News & business, OR Law

LexisNexis Academic
TableBase (RDS)


To Find REFERENCE WORKS:

Search LibCat for the following types of reference works in the following subjects:
(travel or tourism) and dictionar?
(travel or tourism) and director?
(travel or tourism) and encycloped?
(travel or tourism) and handbook?
(leisure or recreation?) and dictionar?
(leisure or recreation?) and director?
(leisure or recreation?) and encycloped?
(leisure or recreation?) and handbook?


Other Reference Resources:

Al Stonestreet Parks & Recreation collection, located in the Map room (2nd floor of Evans). Make stonestreet a keyword search in LibCat
Thomas (federal & legislative information)


Write & Cite the Literature:

 


HOW DO I get additional library help?

Contact: Jane Stephens, the Recreation, Parks & Tourism Librarian:
E-mail: jstephens@tamu.edu
Phone: 979-845-5382 (voice mail)

Online: AskNow, Class Guides, Subject Guides, Tutorials
Telephone: Evans Ref Desk: 979-845-5741 | Library phone numbers
In Person: Evans Reference (1st floor Evans) | Hours | Maps & Parking
Individual consultations: RPTS Subject Librarian | Subject Librarian Directory
Group Instruction: Tours, Classes, Orientation | Library Instruction Request RPTS Librarian


Useful Definitions (library jargon):

Article—scholarly: See periodical

Book—scholarly:

A book that covers a specialized topic, written by a expert in the filed and that is intended to be read by people in that field. Clues (not absolutes) that indicate that a book is scholarly include the author affiliations indicating expertise, university press imprints, books edited by one or more experts in the field. These books usually have references or a bibliography.

Indexing/abstracting database:

This particular category of database contains citations (descriptions) of material (articles, conference papers, book chapters) usually in a particular subject area, but sometimes in multiple areas. Searching one or more of these databases is the first step in performing a literature review; it leads to the identification of relevant material (journal articles, conference papers, books, etc.), but does not necessarily to retrieval of the documents (articles, papers, etc.) themselves. When the actual article is not present with the citation, use the “Find text@TAMU” button sometimes seen as SFX) for document (articles, papers,etc.) retrieval options. Remember that Get it for me will scan articles into pdf files when TAMU has the print (paper) format but no electronic access to it.

Journal: see periodical

Library Catalog:

A comprehensive list of material (books, journals, magazines, maps, newspapers, directories, proceedings, DVDs, etc.) owned by one or more libraries. WorldCat is a catalog for many libraries around the world. LibCat is the catalog for the A&M libraries (Evans, the Annex, WCL, PSEL, & Cushing) collections. The catalog allows retrieval of bibliographic records (descriptions) via a variety of access points (i.e. search types such as: author, title, subject heading, call number), and also via keyword. The material itself is then retrieved using the location and call number, or the URL, etc. provided in the LibCat record (bibliographic record).

Periodical – Journal – Magazine:

Publications that are issued on a regular (periodic) basis, such as: weekly, monthly, semi-monthly, bimonthly, etc. These publications contain articles (feature, or short), book reviews, etc.
            Trade magazine: "A periodical devoted to disseminating news and information of interest to a specific category of business or industry, often published by a trade association."
            Scholarly journal: A periodical devoted to disseminating original research and commentary on current developments in a specific discipline, sub-discipline, or field of study… Journal articles are usually written by the person (or persons) who conducted the research. Longer than most magazine articles, they almost always include a bibliography or list of works cited at the end. In journals in the sciences and social sciences, an abstract usually precedes the text of the article, summarizing its content. Most scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.
            Peer review is the process by which one’s peers (experts in a given field) evaluate the article prior to its publication.
            Popular Magazines: "A popular interest periodical usually containing articles on a variety of topics, written by various authors in a non-scholarly style. Most magazines are heavily illustrated, contain advertising, and are printed on glossy paper…." Examples are: Time; Newsweek; Discover.
Quotes & definition source: OLIS: Reitz, J.M. Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science. Viewed August 27, 2008  http://lu.com/odlis/about.cfm

Document Actions
Your Librarian
Position
Science and Engineering Librarian
Department
Info and Collection Svc - Sciences, Engineering and Liaison Svc
Contact Information
Evans, Room 111L
(979) 845-5382
 
Giving to the Libraries