Sport & Exercise Sciences
Databases | E-books & Ref Tools | Exercise Guidelines | Grant/Writing Resources | Journals | Nutrition | Organizations & Conferences | Software (statistical & more) | Statistics, datasets, and maps
- Alt HealthWatch (Ebsco) covers complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health
- Anatomy (TV) interactive 3D anatomy reference resource includes sport injuries (no articles)
- BIOSIS Previews (Ovid) covers biology, anatomy, physiology, virology, toxicology, and more.
- Biotechnology & Bioengineering Abstracts (CSA) covers biomechanics, human rehabilitation engineering, and more
- BioMechanics Desk Reference: Free database on biomechanics products (free)
- CAB Abstracts covers aspects health, nutrition, and physiology
- CINAHL (Ebsco) covers clinical medicine, nursing, nutrition, exercise, and physical therapy
- Exercise Library: database of exercises from American Council of Exercise
- Global Health
(Ebsco) covers health from an international perspective
- Health Disparities Database: database from APHA and United Health Foundation programs (free)
- Health Reference Center - Academic covers fitness, medicine, nutrition, public health, and more.
- Medline covers clinical medicine, 3 interfaces Medline (Ovid) Medline (Ebsco) Medline (Pubmed)
- Physical Education Index (CSA) covers articles on kinesiology, sport law, sports medicine, dance, fitness tests, coaching and training, sports equipment, marketing, and psychology. (2001-present)
- SPORTDiscus covers sport, fitness and related disciplines. Indexes articles, dissertations, theses, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more
- Sport Practice Drills: non academic database of drills for various sports
- StatRef collection of full text medical, nursing, and pharmaceutical textbooks (no journal articles)
Selected E-books
- Data Analysis and research for sport and
exercise science
Williams, C. and Wragg C. New York: Routledge, 2004. - Encyclopedia of ethnicity and sports in the
United States
Kirsch, G. B., Harris, O., and Nolte, C. E. (eds.) Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000. - Nutrition in sport Maughan, R. J. (ed). Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Science, 2000.
- Sports medicine: examination & board
review
O'Connor, Francis G. (ed.) New York: McGraw Hill, Medical Pub. Division, 2005. - Sports medicine: just the facts O'Connor, Francis G. (ed.) New York: McGraw Hill, Medical Pub. Division, 2005
E-books, directories, and tools
- AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill; includes Harrison's Online, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, pharmaceutical index, guidelines, and more.
- Anatomy TV no articles, interactive 3D anatomy reference resource includes sport injuries, MRIs, and more
- Books@Ovid : Collection of full text medical, nursing, and pharmaceutical textbooks including Sports Injuries: Mechanisms, Prevention, & Treatment
- Directory of Health Organizations: free database on organizations from National Library of Medicine
- GIDEON (Ebsco): includes diagnosis symptom guide, epidemiology (maps of infectious diseases), drug therapy, and microbiology reference tools
- Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale): a Medical encyclopedia, Drug & Herb Finder, Alternative Health Encyclopedia, Health Assessment Tools, Health Organization Directory, and more.
- LANGE educational library Includes medical education resources for course study, self-assessment tool, and LANGE Case Files.
- Oxford English Dictionary comprehensive dictionary of the English language
- StatRef 1 Collection of full text medical and pharmaceutical textbooks. Also provides a medical dictionary and medical calculators (click on the resources tab).
- StatRef 2 Collection of full text pharmaceutical textbooks
For everyone
- American Academy of Family Physicians: Exercise: How to Get Started
- CDC- Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity
- Effective Population-Level Strategies to Promote Physical Activity (from Guide to Community Preventive Services) from this article: Recommendations to increase physical activity in communities (from American Journal of Preventive Medicine 2002; 22(4S: 67-72)
- Physical Activity Evaluation Handbook: program evaluation guide for physical activity interventions
- Surgeon General's Report on Physical Activity and Health
- Healthy People 2010: Chapter 22- Physical Activity and Fitness
- National Heart Lung and Blood Institute: Information for Patients and the Public- Key Recommendations
- National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) Four commonly used methods to increase physical activity: brief interventions in primary care, exercise referral schemes, pedometers, and community-based exercise programs for walking and cycling
- The Effectiveness of Interventions to Increase Physical Activity: A Systematic Review (from American Journal of Preventive Medicine 2002; 22(4S: 73-107)
- President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports: variety of reports on fitness for all age groups
For adults and seniors
- American College of Sports Medicine
- Guidelines for healthy adults under age 65
- Guidelines for healthy adults over age 65 or with 50-64 with chronic conditions
- University of Iowa: Evidence based practice guideline: Exercise promotion: walking in elders
For children and adolescents
- American Academy of Pediatrics: Active healthy living: prevention of childhood obesity through increased physical activity
- American Heart Association: Overweight in children and adolescents: pathophysiology, consequences, prevention, and treatment
- National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners: Identifying and preventing overweight in childhood. Clinical practice guideline.
- President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports: Physical Activity & Sport in the Lives of Girls
- University of Iowa: Increasing physical activity in schools: kindergarten through eighth grade
For chronic illness/pain
- American College of Sports Medicine Guidelines for healthy adults over age 65 or with 50-64 with chronic conditions
- American Heart Association:
- Exercise and physical activity in the prevention and treatment of atherosclerosis cardiovascular disease
- Physical activity and exercise recommendations for stroke survivors
- School of Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner Program (UT at Austin)
- United States Preventive Task Force: Primary care interventions to prevent low back pain in adults: recommendation statement
- Craft of Grant Writing Workbook from TAMU Office of Proposal Development
- Columbia University's Guide to Grantmanship
- Environmental Protection Agency (tutorial)
- Foundation Center
- GrantWriters.com
- Logic Model Development Guide from Kellog Foundation
- National Science Foundation proposal and award policies
- Non-profit guides grant writing tips for non-profit organizations
- Resources for National Institutes of Health from TAMU Office of Proposal Development
- Resources for Programs ton Enhance Diversity from TAMU Office of Proposal Development
Finding grants
General
- Community Foundation Locator from Council on Foundations
- COS Funding Opportunities (CSA) Offers personal alerts and searching by keyword, geography, and sponsor
- Corporate Giving Database list of corporations
- Federal Register funding
announcements from federal sources
- Funding Opportunities list maintained by TAMU Office of Proposal Development
- Grants.gov
portal for government funding opportunities; direct application through site
- Grantsnet.org from American Association for the Advancement of Science (includes student support)
- National Science Foundation guide to programs and funding opportunities general descriptions of programs for all National Science Foundation directorates.
- SPIN database of grants from government and private
sources. Use the Advance Search options for best results.
Health
- CRISP Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects, database of federally funded biomedical research
- Funding Opportunities and Notices publication of National Institutes of
Health's grant programs
- Fund Source tool for behavioral and social scientists
- Grants Alert grant notices for K-12 and higher education
- GrantsNet from U. S. Dept of Health & Human Services
- National Center for Environmental Research grants on environmental health research from the EPA
- Robert Wood Johnson Foundation grants on a variety of health related topics
- Rural Assistance Center rural communitiy funding
- Women's Health grants from National Women's Health Information Center
Education
- Braitmayer Foundation educational grants for K-12
- Grants & Fellowships from Chronicle of Higher Education
- Grants for teachers grants for K-12 teachers
- NEA foundation grants for teachers and faculty
- Premier Funding educational grants for K-12 using Premier's student agenda program
- School grants educational grants for K-12
Biomechanics journals
- Acta of bioengineering and biomechannics
- American Journal of Sports Medicine
- Biomechanics and modeling in mechanobiology
- Bone
- Bone and Mineral Research
- Clinical biomechanics
- Computer methods in biomechanics and biomedical engineering
- International Journal of Sports Medicine
- JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association
- Journal of Applied Physiology
- Journal of biomechanics
- Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery
- Journal of Nutrition
- Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise
- New England Journal of Medicine
- Sports biomechanics
Physiology journals
Top 20 journals in physiology subject area arranged by Impact Factor for ISI's Journal Citation Reports See: more on impact factors
- Physiological Reviews RSS Authors
- Annual Review of Physiology RSS Authors
- Physiology Authors
- Reviews of Physiology Biochemistry and Pharmacology RSS
- News in physiological sciences (ceased publication in 2004, now Physiology)
- Journal of General Physiology RSS Authors
- Pflugers Archiv-European Journal of Physiology Authors
- Journal of Biological Rhythms RSS Authors
- Journal of Physiology RSS Authors
- American Journal of Physiology- Cell Physiology RSS Authors
- American Journal of Physiology- Lung Cellular and molecular physiology RSS Authors
- Journal of Pineal Research RSS Authors
- American Journal of Physiology- Renal Physiology RSS Authors
- American Journal of Physiology- Endocrinology and Metabolism RSS Authors
- Journal of Mammary Gland Biology and Neoplasia RSS Authors
- Physiological genomics RSS Authors
- American Journal of Physiology- Heart and circulatory physiology RSS Authors
- American Journal of Physiology- Regulatory, integrative, and comparative physiology RSS Authors
- American Journal of Physiology- Gastrointestinal and liver physiology RSS Authors
- Journal of Neurophysiology RSS Authors
Sports Medicine Journals
- Sports medicine Authors
- Journal of applied physiology RSS Authors
- Exercise and sport sciences reviews Authors
- Exercise Immunology Review (ceased publication in 2001)
- Medicine and science in sports and exercise Authors
- American journal of sports medicine RSS Authors
- British journal of sports medicine RSS Authors
- Journal of rehabilitation medicine RSS Authors
- Scandinavian journal of medicine and science in sports RSS Authors
- Gait and posture RSS Authors
- High altitude medicine and biology RSS Authors
- Archives of physical medicine and rehabilitation RSS Authors
- Journal of sports sciences RSS Authors
- Physikalische Medizin Rheabilitationsmedizin Kurortmedizin RSS Authors
- Journal of Electromyography and Kinesiology RSS Authors
- Journal of Athletic Training RSS Authors
- Clinical journal of Sport Medicine, Evans Stacks RC1200.C55 link to library record Authors
- Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma **** Authors
- European journal of applied physiology RSS Authors
- Canadian journal of applied physiology Evans Stacks GV557.C36 link to library record
- Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition
- Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
- Natural & Alternative Treatments: herbs, supplements, functional foods
- Natural Standard: covers food, herbs, supplements and more
Organizations & Conference Proceedings
Search for conference papers:
- Conference Papers Index: index to presented conference papers
- NLM Gateway: free database from NLM covering Medline, conferences, and more
- PapersInvited: database of conferences/organizations looking for authors/presenters
Related organizations
- American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- American College of Sports Medicine
- American Council of Exercise
- American Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Society
- American Physical Therapy Association
- American Physiological Society
- American Society of Biomechanics
- Anthroscopy Association of North America
- Canadian Society for Biomechanics
- Cooper Institute for Aerobics Research
- European Society of Biomechanics
- European Society of Movement Analysis for Adults and Children
- Gait and Clinical Movement Analysis Society
- Institute for Preventative Sports Medicine
- International Federation of Sports Medicine
- International Society for Aging and Physical Activity
- International Society of Biomechanics
- International Society of Biomechanics in Sports
- International Sport Science Association
- National Association of Sports Nutrition
- National Athletic Trainers' Association
- National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
- National Strength and Conditioning Association
- North American Society for Pediatric Exercise Medicine
- Orthopaedic Research Society
Software (statistical programs & more)
Commercial Software
Free software
- EpiInfo: free software from CDC for creating and analyzing questionnaires/surveys
- R-Project: free software for statistical computing and graphics
- SABER: Statistical Analysis Battery for Epidemiological Research, free from CDC
- SETS: Statistical Export and Tabulation System, free from CDC
- StatLib software download software for various tasks
- Adolescent Health: stats on risk factors, access to health care, mortality, and more from CDC
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System: health risk behavior statistics from 1996-present
- CDC Wonder (variety of health topics)
- Child Health USA: statistics on children's health
- Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR): public use data sets from US Dept of Energy, environmental health, radiation, and more
- Current Population Survey (CPS) includes data on income, health insurance coverage, and more
- Healthy People DATA 2010: data by focus area, data source, specific population group, and more
- Health Poll Search: interactive results from polls on health related issues
- Infant Health: stats on risk factors, access to health care, mortality, and more from CDC
- Men's Health: stats on risk factors, access to health care, mortality, and more from CDC
- Minority Health data from State Health Facts includes interactive tables, bar graphs, and maps
- Office of Minority Health & Health Disparities (OMHD) cultural specific pages (demographics, 10 leading causes of death, and more):
- African American
- American Indian & Alaska Native
- Asian American
- Hispanic or Latino
- Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander
- Multiracial
- White
- U. S. Physical Activity Statistics from CDC
- Sports Business Research Network: stats on participation, equipment purchases, and more
- Women's Health: stats on risk factors, access to health care, mortality, and more from CDC
- World Health Organization: data and statistics on health, and other issues around the world (interactive tables)