Statistics
Quick Links
Find It | Get Full Text | About Journals | Reference Tools | Get More Help
Welcome! This
site is a guide to recommended information resources for the
study of mathematical statistics and probability that are available
through the Texas A&M University Libraries collections and services.
For advice
on statistical methodology to be applied to specific research projects please use the
Statistical Consulting Service through the TAMU Department of Statistics (http://stat.tamu.edu/).
For information about obtaining statistical data, please consult the relevant subject guides and library subject specialists, such as those for agriculture, business, economics, education, environmental sciences, finance, geography, government information, health, marketing, political science, sociology, transportation, or urban planning.
Please contact the Subject Specialist Librarian for individual consultations or class instruction, requests for library purchases, and suggestions regarding these subject guide pages.
Find It
- Articles (search
article indexes/databases) Current Index to Statistics | MathSciNet | ISI Web of Science |
more
(Tip: After identifying desired article citation(s), click "Find Text@TAMU" for text retrieval options.) - Books (search
catalogs) LibCat (TAMU) | MSL Catalog (TAMU
Medical) | WorldCat (worldwide) | GBIP | Google Books
(Tip: To borrow a book from another library, use the Get it for me link in its WorldCat record.) - Course Reserves Use the Course Reserves search tab in LibCat.
- Dissertations
& Theses
ProQuest Dissertations (National,
international) | TxSpace Electronic Theses & Dissertations (TAMU Digital since ~2000)
| LibCat (TAMU)
(Tip: To borrow or purchase a dissertation from another library, use the Get it for me service.) - E-Books
(multidisciplinary) Ebrary | netLibrary | Online Reference Shelf |
EngNetBase (engineering handbooks) | Referex | Safari (computing
manuals) | Science Direct | Springer | Wiley
(Tip: Most, but not all, e-books have title/author/subject/keyword records in LibCat, but to search the full text of the e-books use the e-book databases.) - Online Encyclopedias E. Biostatistics | E. Statistical Sciences | E. Statistics Behavioral Science
- Journals Browse Journals by Topic (LibCat searches for TAMU holdings) | Top 20 by JCR Impact Factor | more
- Web Portals & Meta-sites StatLib at CMU | WWW Virtual Library of Statistics | Google Directory Statistics
Get Full Text
- Find Text@TAMU will give you document retrieval options; online
access is listed first when available. When no Find Text link use e-journal or LibCat search for title of journal or source. When no online access use Get it for me.
- Get It for Me Service will (free to TAMU users):
- Scan the articles, book chapters, and conference papers of 50 pages or less into electronic format when the library owns the source publication in print only
- Borrow from another library material not owned by the TAMU Libraries; electronic copies for items <=50 pages, or the physical item by conventional interlibrary loan when it is longer than 50 pages
- Retrieve items from the stacks or from other campus libraries and hold for you at the checkout desk of your preferred library location.
- First time users must register [link to registration form]
- Articles Step by Step
- Use the recommended databases and E-journal packages to search for journal articles, conference papers, and other indexed material.
- Some of the databases contain links to the full-text of articles, but when the full text of an article is not linked directly from the database, click on the Find Text@TAMU or the SFX link, if present, to identify additional retrieval options.
- When no Find Text/SFX link is present, use the Search Now for E-Journal on the library home page to search for TAMU electronic subscriptions to the journal title (not the title of the article) and browse through the journal's archival list of volumes to go to the volume, issue, and page number of the article that you are seeking.
- If no electronic source is available, search the
catalogs
LibCat (Evans & WCL) and MSL Catalog (Medical Sciences Library) for the TAMU print
holdings of the journal, or use the Get it for me service to order an electronic copy of the
article from a consortium of libraries. (Available free to TAMU faculty,
staff, and students only).
About Journals
Journal Information & Rankings
- Use Ulrich's Periodical Directory to learn whether a journal is academic and/or peer-reviewed (refereed), or a trade publication; find the journal's publisher and editorial contact information; find in which indexing and abstracting databases it is covered and the dates of coverage; circulation figures, subscription costs, and more.
- Use the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) database within the ISI Web of Knowledge databases to find a listing of core journals by subject(s), and see the relative rankings of the journals by impact factor, immediacy index, cited half-life, etc.
- Journal abbreviations lookup All That JAS | UBC | CASSI (print Evans Reference) | ISI journals
Browse Journals by LibCat Subject or Keyword Searches
(TAMU print and e-journal holdings)
Mathematical statistics periodicals
Probabilities periodicals
Stochastic processes periodicalsTop 20 Statistics and Probability Journals by 2006 JCR Impact Factor
Bioinformatics
Biostatistics
Chemometrics and Intelligent Laboratory Systems
Econometrica
Journal of the Royal Statistical Society. Series B, Statistical methodology
IEEE/ACM Transactions on Computational Biology and Bioinformatics
Journal of the American Statistical Society
Multivariate Behavioral Research
Journal of Computational Biology
The Annals of Statistics
Statistics in Medicine
Journal of the Royal Statistical Society. Series A, Statistics in society
Statistical Science
Biometrics
Journal of Quality Technology
Statistical Methods in Medical Research
Journal of Chemometrics
Statistics and Computing
The Annals of Probability
Finance and Stochastics
Get More Help
- Online: Live Chat, Email | Tutorials | Handouts | Class Guides | Subject Guides | Library FAQs
- Telephone: Evans Reference (979) 845-5741 | Library Phone Numbers
- In Person: Evans Library Reference Desk, 1st floor Evans Hours | Map and Parking
- Individual Consultation: Contact Subject Librarian | Subject Librarian Directory
- Group Instruction: Tours, Classes, Orientations
- Request Forms: Book purchases, reserve materials, document delivery, renew books, manage account, etc.
- Additional
Related Services:
Distance Education | Off-campus Access | TAMU Writing Center | TAMU Thesis Office