You are here: Home Subject Guides Women's Studies

Women's Studies

— filed under:

Women's Studies Resources

General Resources  | Primary sources (w/ Historical Newspapers & Periodicals)

Anti-violence & Human RightsArts: Artwork, Dance, & Music  |  Business & Economics  |   Education  |  Feminism Health  |  History  |  International  | Journalism, Media, & Film  |   Law & Policy  |  LiteraturePhilosophy   | Politics  |  Psychology  |  Science & Technology  |  Sexuality  | Suffrage  |  Sports  |  Theology

General Resources

Databases and Reference

Electronic Books

Journals

Bibliographies, organizations, and More

Microform Collections
  • European Women's Periodicals

      • type: index    format/size: 284 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
      • guide:  none
      • description:  This collection reproduces "rare and important titles for the International Instituut voor Sociale Geschiedenis and the Internationaal Informatiecentrum en Archief voor de Vronuwenbeweging in Amsterdam."  The introductory material and reel numbers in the guide are in English.  The guide for the unit is included on each film in the unit.  This "consists of the entire periodical collection of the IIAV and part of the periodical collection of IISG." It reproduces "political, professional, and popular periodical written for and by women across Europe."
          • Unt 1: Austria and Belgium
          • Unit 2: France
          • Unit 3: Germany, Switzerland, and German language issues from Paris and Prague
          • Unit 4: Dutch Indonesia and the Netherlands
  • Lady's Magazine (London, England 1770-1832)

      • type: popular reading    format/size: ? reels of microfilm
      • guide: none
      • description:  This long running journal is valuable not only for the large quantities of writing by women that it contains (poetry, stories, and reviews), but also a source for social history.  There are articles on a wide variety of topics from education, poetry, literature, art, music, the theater, the body, disease, health, vaccination, religion, world events, gardening, poverty, hunting, gambling, food, to commentaries on other aspects of the social and domestic scenes.  Every issue also contains advice for women, poetry, short stories, reader's letters, criticism, reports on the leading women of the day, and news from London and the Empire.

Primary Sources (with Historical Newspapers) 

Primary sources: women  general
Historical Newspapers:  databases of newspapers, magazines, & journals  individual newspapers & magazines

Microform Collections  Microform Serials   Print Indexes   Selected Dissertations    Selected Websites

Primary Sources

on Women and Women's Issues

Other primary resources

Newspapers

Databases of historical newspapers, magazines, & journals

Individual newspapers & magazines

Selected Websites

  • Adams Family Papers: Hosted by the Massachusetts Historical Society, this website reproduces and indexes correspondence between John and Abigail Adams, two significant figures of the American Revolutionary Era. John Adams (1735-1826) spent much of his life in service to his country. He was a delegate to the Continental Congress, a diplomat, and president of the United States. Abigail (Smith) Adams (1744-1818) did not have a formal education, but proved to be an extremely resourceful partner to John Adams (they were married in 1764). While he was away on numerous political assignments, she raised their children, managed their farm, and stayed abreast of current events during one of the country's most turbulent times. The many letters she sent to John Adams demonstrate her perceptive comments about the Revolution and contain vivid depictions of the Boston area.
  • Emma Goldman Papers: Emma Goldman (1869-1940) stands as a major figure in the history of American radicalism and feminism.  An influential and well-known anarchist of her day, Goldman was an early advocate of free speech, birth control, women's equality and independence, and union organization.  Her criticism of mandatory conscription of young men into the military during World War I lead to a two year imprisonment., followed by her deportation in 1919.  For the rest of her life until her death in 1940, she continued to participate in the social and political movements of her age, from the Russian Revolution to the Spanish Civial War.  This website reproduces selections from her writings.
  • Margaret Sanger Papers: documents gathered for this mini-edition chronicle Margaret Sanger's publication of the radical, feminist journal, the Woman Rebel, and her emergence as the foremost leader of the birth control movement.  The events surrounding the publication of the journal in 1914, including Sanger's indictment for violation of federal obscenity laws, her unlawful flight from prosecution, her 13 months in exile in Europe, and her emotional return to New York in the fall to 1915 to face trial, trace the inception of the birth control movement in the U. S. and mark a pivotal time in Sanger's life.  The Woman Rebel established Sanger as a dynamic and controversial/feminist voice, the leading birth control agitator in America, and an influential international, a position she held for the next 50 years.

Microform Collections

  • Conrad/Tubman Collection

      • type: scholarly and primary sources   format/size: 2 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
      • guide: no guide
      • description:  Harriet Tubman was born a slave in 1820.  After escaping in 1849, she helped many other slaves escape to freedom.  During the Civil War, she worked with the Union Army as a nurse and a spy.  After the War, she continued to speak on the rights of African Americans until her death in 1913.  The microfilm contains letters, clippings, manuscripts, and other material used by historian and journalist Earl Conrad for his various writings on Harriet Tubman.  Conrad collected many pamphlets and articles about Tubman and interviewed people who knew her.  These are included in the collection, along with Conrad's notes, manuscripts, and correspondence.
  • Emma Goldman Papers

      • type: primary sources    format/size: 69 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
      • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
      • description:  Emma Goldman (1869-1940) was perhaps the most famous anarchist of her day speaking out on major social issues including birth control, union organization, and equality and independence for women.  Often harassed and arrested, particularly for her opposition to World War I, she played a pivotal role in the drive to secure freedom of speech in America.  the Emma Goldman Papers contain over 22,000 documents- letters, essays, speeches, government files, newspaper clippings- charting the life of one of the most controversial women in modern American history.  The letters record Goldman's life as an activist and public figure with correspondents including such important figures as V. I. Lenin, John Dewey, Bertrand Russell, George Bernard Shaw, H. G. Wells, and Margaret Sanger.  The government documents include surveillance files on Goldman together with court records of her various trials.  This resource supports research in such areas as legal and cultural history, peace studies, and women's studies, as well as educational reform, psychology, the Russian Revolution, and the Spanish civil war.
      • Related Work: Mother Earth (title varies) this anarchist magazine was edited by Emma Goldman, published from 1906-1918. guide
  • Jane Addams Papers (1860-1960)

      • type: primary    format/size: 82 reels of microfilm
      • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
      • description:  Jane Addams achieved international fame through her social work, reform strategies, and activities in support of world peace.  Some of her notable roles include: Founder of Hull-House; Founder and president of the International League for Peace and Freedom; Lobbyist and lecturer on such topics as child labor, legislation, public health, unemployment relief, social insurance and woman's suffrage; First woman president of the National Conference of Charities and Corrections.  Opened in 1889, Hull House was a pioneering effort in social equality to improve the lot of the newly arrived European immigrants.  At that time, the nearby tenement neighborhoods were a jungle of crime, prostitution, and drug addiction.  This collection documents the rise of Addams popularity and its temporary decline when she was reviled as a traitor for her advocacy of peace at a time when public sentiment favored war.  Only when she was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1931- four years before her death- were her anti-war actions vindicated in the minds of the general public. 
The Jane Addams Papers is organized into 5 parts:
  • Correspondence: letters, telegrams and postcards from people such as Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson, Ida Tarbell, and Emily Greene Balch
  • Documents: Addam's writing, personal documents, educational records, diaries, calendars
  • Writings: manuscripts and published versions of articles, speeches, and statements
  • Hull-House Association Records: documents the history of Hull-House from its founding in 1880 through Addam's death in 1935; includes minutes, bylaws, contracts, ledgers, clippings, scrapbooks, reports, and inventories
  • Clippings File: filmed from the holdings of the Swarthmore College Peace Foundation; this section features newspaper and periodical clippings about Addams and her career, including many written after her death
  • Mary McLeod Bethune Papers (1923-1942)

      • type: primary    format/size: 1 reels of microfilm
      • guide: none
      • description:  Mary McLeod Bethune founded Bethune-Cookman college in Daytona Beach, Florida and served as an advisor on African American affairs to 4 presidents.  She was appointed Director of the Division of Negro Affairs of the National Youth Administration by President Roosevelt.  She was the first African American woman to hold so high an office in the federal government.  This collection reproduces correspondence, a diary (1926) kept by Josie Roberts while traveling in California with Bethune, a diary (1927) of a European trip, speeches, writings, invitations,, programs, clippings, photographs, and other papers.  Topics include Bethune-Cookman College, Daytona Beach, Fla., National Association of Colored Women, and Bethune's receipt of the Joel E. Spingarn Medal of the NAACP.
  • Papers of Carrie Chapman Catt

      • type: primary    format/size: 18 reels of 35 positive microfilm
      • guide:  none
      • description:  This collection reproduces correspondence, diaries (1911-1923), drafts of speeches and articles, subject files, biographical papers, newspaper clippings, printed material, and other papers, chiefly 1890-1929, relating primarily to Catt's efforts on behalf of the women's suffrage movement, feminism, and the cause of international peace.  The set also includes materials relating to the Woman's Centennial Congress of 1940 and the National Committee on the Cause and Cure of War.  The diaries describe her travels to Europe, Africa, the Near East, and the Far East.  A few of the correspondents represented in the collection include Jane Addams, Alice Stone Blackwell, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Ida Husted Harper, Fiorello La Guardia, and William Howard Taft.
      • Related Work: Woman Suffrage
  • Papers of Eleanor Roosevelt (1933-1945)

      • type: primary    format/size: 20 reels of microfilm
      • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
      • description:  Eleanor Roosevelt was the wife of President Franklin Roosevelt but was also an important social and political leader in her own right.  This edition of her papers focuses exclusively on correspondence during the White House years, 1933-1945.  This edition focuses on Roosevelt's relations with leading political and governmental figures of the 1930s and 1940s as well as with her circle of personal friends during the same period.  Ninety-three correspondent's files were selected as the most illustrative of the public life of Eleanor Roosevelt during the 1933-1945 period.  The correspondents were selected with the objective of detailing Roosevelt's thought and activities in 4 major subject areas: social welfare and depression relief; race relations; women in American politics; and youth activities.
      • Related Works:
  • Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton (1814-1946)

      • type: primary    format/size: 5 reels of microfilm (@1000 items)
      • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
      • description:  Elizabeth Cady Stanton was an active American social reformer.  She opposed slavery and was a leading proponent of women's rights.  These papers include correspondence, copies of speeches and articles, scrapbooks, and printed materials.  The papers cover the years from 1814 to 1946, but most items date from 1840 to 1902. 
      • Related Work:  The Selected Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony
  • Papers of Emily Greene Balch (1875-1961)

      • type: scholarly/primary    format/size: 26 reels of 35 mm positive microfilm
      • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
      • description:  Emily Greene Balch (1867-1961) was one of only 2 American women who have won the Nobel Peace Prize.  She pursued an academic career in the economics and sociology department at Wellesley College.  Her study of eastern and southern European immigrants, which challenged nativist opinions of the time, was published in 1910.  Balch's work with the Women's Trade Union League and opposition to World War I resulted in her dismissal from Wellesley College.  She then helped lead the Women's International league for Peace and Freedom.  She tried to widen the purview of the League of Nations, visited Haiti and advocated withdrawal of occupying U. S. forces, and in 1939 urged the United States to welcome refugees from Nazi Germany.  Called a "Citizen of the World" Balch worked for peace throughout her life.  Her papers are organized in 3 chronologically arranged series: Biographical Series (family correspondence, articles about Balch, material related to her 1945 Nobel Prize) Correspondence Series (letters to and from such figures as Jane Addams, Hannah Clothier Hull, Lucia Ames Mead, Alice Thacher Post, and Florence G. Taussig) Balch's diaries, journals, notes, manuscripts for articles and speeches, and other miscellaneous writings.
  • Papers of Margaret Sanger

      • type: primary/scholarly  format/size: 145 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
      • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
      • description:  This collection reproduces the diaries, correspondence, lectures, speeches, and other printed materials from the papers of Margaret Sanger located at the Library of Congress. The materials primarily concern Sanger's professional life and her work with birth control organizations.  the papers cover the period from 1900-1966, with most items dating to 1928-1940.  The collection is divided into various subseries, including series on each of the birth control organizations associated with Sanger.  These series are arranged in chronological order by the year of founding.  Other parts of the collection include a Foreign File, a Conference File and a Speeches and Writings File. 
  • Papers of Sophonisba P. Breckinridge (1866-1948)

      • type: primary/scholarly    format/size: 37 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
      • guide: Reel 1 includes intro and dates of each reel
      • description:  Sophonisba P. Breckinridge was a scholar, activist, and reformer in the area of social service administration, and professor at the University of Chicago through 1933.  She was particularly involved in the areas of juvenile delinquency, juvenile court legislation, and welfare administration. 
  • Papers of Susan B. Anthony

      • type: primary/scholarly    format/size: 7 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
      • guide: none
      • description:  Susan B. Anthony gained recognition for being a reformer and a leading suffragist from the mid1800s to the early 1900s.  The correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, and miscellany that relate principally to Ms. Anthony's writing, lecturing and other efforts on behalf of women's suffrage and women's rights appear in this set.  Material concerning the National Woman Suffrage Association, the New York State Woman Suffrage Association, and the National American Woman Suffrage Association are also included.  Other topics addressed in the papers include the American Anti-Slavery Society and Negro suffrage.  Individuals represented in the papers either by correspondence or diary entries are Rachel Forster Avery, Amelia Jenks Bloomer, Matilda Joslyn Gage, Lucretia Mott, Wendell Phillips, Parker Pillsbury, Anna Howard Shaw, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Lucy Stone.  Material relating to Ms. Anthony's sister, Mary S. Anthony, is also provided.
      • Related work:  The Selected Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony
  • Papers of the Blackwell Family

      • type: primary/scholarly    format/size: 76 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
      • guide: see reel 1
      • description:  The Blackwell family papers trace the evolution of women's rights in many fields, including political, religious, medical, economic, and domestic.  These papers begin with Lucy Stone, who in 1845 gave her first lecture on women's rights, and continue until 1950, the year of the death of her daughter, Alice Stone Blackwell.  Twenty family members are represented.  Elizabeth Blackwell was the first woman to receive an MD degree, and her diaries (1836-1908), correspondence, and writing document her struggle to open the medical profession to women.  Emily Blackwell followed her sister Elizabeth and was a co-founder of the first women's hospital staffed by women physicians in the U. S.  The papers of Henry B. Blackwell, a renowned advocate of woman suffrage and abolition, contain financial papers, autobiographical sketches (1825-1858) and correspondence.  His wife, Lucy Stone, was also a leader in antislavery and women's rights.  Papers of their daughter, Alice Stone Blackwell, include diaries (1872-1927) documenting her own work for women's rights.  Another family member, Antoinette Louisa Brown Blackwell, was the first woman to ordained a minister (ordained as a Congregationalist in 1853, she later became a Unitarian).  This collection was filmed from manuscripts at the Library of Congress.
      • Related Works:
  • Southern Women and their families in the 19th Century, Papers, and Diaries

      • type: primary    format/size: 35mm positive microfilm
      • description:  This collection reproduces a wide variety of letters, diaries, and other papers.  The library owns 2 parts of this resource: series A and series F.
        • Series A
            • Part 1: Mary Susan Ker Papers (1785-1923)- Mary Susan Ker of Linden Plantation near Natchez, Mississippi, was a governess at Vicksburg, teacher in Natchez, and traveler in Europe and the U. S.
            • Part 2: Roach and Eggleston Family Papers (1830-1905) The diary of Mahala P. (Eggleston) Roach traces 50 years of life in Vicksburg, Mississippi, and includes comments on social life, domestic relations with slaves, family life, and the Civil War
            • Part 3: Louisiana and Mississippi Collections
                  • Charolette Beatty diary (1843-1844)
                  • pre-Civil War diary, correspondence, and essays of Madaline Selima Edwards
                  • Gale and Polk family papers (1815-1895)
                  • Gibson-Humprheys family papers (1846-1919)
                  • Ellen Louise Power Diary (1862-1863)
                  • Catherine M. Pritchard papers
                  • Sarah Lois Wadley diary and papers, pre and post Civil War
                  • Mary Susannah Winans album, ca. 1836-1854
            • Part 4: Nicholas Philip Trist Papers
Four generations of women in Virginia, Mississippi, Louisiana, and elsewhere are featured in this family collection spanning 1667-1903.  Among early papers are letters of Elizabeth House Trist, with family correspondence and letters to Thomas Jefferson and James Madison.  Her grandson, Nicholas Philip Trist, married Virginia Jefferson Randolph, a granddaughter of Thomas Jefferson.  Their courtship letters and correspondence among their relatives include descriptions of life at Monticello.
            • Part 5: Alabama, South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida
Diaries correspondence, commonplace books, financial records are all included from 17 collections and 4 states.  Georgia collections relate to memebers of the Brumby and Smith, Cornwall, Gift, Graves, Milligan, Mackay and Stiles, and Pember families.  Alabama family names includes Comer, Hentz, McCorkle, and Ulmer.  There are collections from the Elmore and McIver families of South Carolina and one small Florida collection relating to Julia McKinne (Foster) Weed.
            • Part 6: Virginia
Included in the Beale and Davis family papers are diaries and letters of Anne Turberville Beale Davis and her relatives, who were preachers and planters.  The Henry Harrison Cocke papers include correspondence and diaries of Elizabeth Ruffin Cocke, a sister of Edmund Ruffin.  The Francis Asbury Dickins papers contain many letters of Mrs. Dickin's Randolph family relations.  The Hubard family papers feature the postwar activities of a woman writer and her planter family.  The Susannah Gordon Waddell diary records the experiences of a physician's wife during the Civil War in Monroe County, now West Virginia.
            • Part 7: Phillips and Spencer Family Collection
Consists of 2 related collections centered in Chapel Hill, North Carolina: the Charles Phillips papers and the Cornelia Phillips Spencer papers.  Charles Phillips and Cornelia Phillips Spencer were brother and sister.
            • Part 8: North Carolina: 24 separate collections
Document the diversity of North Carolina family life during the 19th century.  Three examples are described here.  Papers of DeRosset family are predominantly women's correspondence and diaries, chiefly 1856 to 1871, showing the family life of factors and physicians in the Wilmington area, with connections to South Carolina, New York, and Great Britain.  Papers of the Kenan family include a full range of correspondence, financial and legal papers, and school records concerning the family life of planters, professionals, and politicians in Duplin County, with connections to Alabama.  Papers of businesswoman Alice Morgan Person (1840-1913) include the autobiography, scrapbook, account book, and will of the manufacturer of "Mrs. Joe Person's Remedy," biased in Franklin County, as well as the 2 volume diary of her sister.
  • Series F:
    This collection reproduces a wide variety of letters, diaries, and other papers. 
      • Texas related collections:
          • Amelia Barr Letters (1916-1961) Austin and Galveston
          • Adele Steiner Burleson Papers (1858-1944) Austin and Galveston
          • Mary M. Dunn Papers (1845-1932) Clay, Cooke, and Wichita Counties, Tx and Virginia
          • Mary Austin Holley Papers( 1808-1846)
          • Elisabeth Ney Papers (1859-1939)
          • Mary Evelyn Moore Davis Papers (1860-1976) Tyler, Tx, New Orleans, Louisiana.  Barr, Holley and Davis were noted authors while Ney was a famous sculptor. 
        • Natchez Trace collection
            • Church Family Papers (1854-1862) Vicksburg, Mississippi
            • Crutcher-Shannon Family Papers (1822-1905) Vicksburg, Mississippi, Texas, and Virginia

 

Anti-Violence & Human Rights 

Databases & Reference

E-books

More e-books

Journals

Bibliographies, organizations, & more

Microform Collections
  • type: primary source  format/size: 18 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
  • guide:  in Microforms Reference, see record
  • description:  World's oldest international human rights organization.  It campaigns for the elimination of slavery around the world, raising concerns about such issues as bonded labor, forced and early marriage, forced labor, human trafficking, worst forms of child labor, and traditional slavery.  Collections is divided into 2 parts. 
      • Part one: annual reports 1883-2000; anti-slavery publications 1980-2000; submissions to the United Nations Commission on Human Rights and related bodies, 1965-2000; and related materials.
      • Part two: reproductions of publication of Anti-Slavery International and related groups from 1880-1979. Includes 250 printed pamphlets.
  • Southern Regional Council Papers (1944-1968)

      • type: primary    format/size: 225 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
      • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
      • description:  After World War I, the South experienced violent and painful race riots spawned by the unequal treatment of African American servicemen returning from the war.  The Commission on the Interraical Cooperation (CIC) was established to promote peaceful race relations.  In 1942, when America was again in the midst of a world war, many CIC members recognized that there could be bloodshed again when African American returned home and received unequal treatment.  In addition, both Black and white CIC leaders felt that the time had come to broaden the commitment of their organization and to push harder for civil rights for African-Americans.  Thus, in 1944, the CIC disbanded, and the Southern Regional Council (SRS) was formed.  The collection includes correspondence, internal records, reports, project files, pamphlets, newsletters, and information on many related civil rights organizations.  These materials document the SRC's strategies and ideologies as it developed a broader philosophy and fought for significant changes within the social, economic, and political systems of the South.  This microfilm collection provides a primary resources covering such topics as integration and voting rights, work with the federal government to enact civil rights legislation, the SRC's involvement with other civil rights organizations such as the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), the National Urban League, the Congress on Racial Equality (CORE), and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), and the SRC's involvement with the Freedom Rides and voter registration drivers sponsored by CORE.
Special segments:
  •  reels 158-171:Labor Education Program
  • reels 172-187: Voter Education Project
  • reels 188-193: Veterans Services Project
  • reels 194-200: Women's Work and Fellowship of the Concerned
  • reels 201-207: Urban Planning Project
  • reels 208-209: Voting and Registration Project
  • reels 210-211: Crime and Corrections Project
  • reel 212: Help our public education
  • reel 213: Organizations assisting schools in September
  • reels 214-215: Community Organization Project
  • reel 216: Operation Opportunity

Arts: Artwork, Dance, & Music 

see Dance subject guide, Music subject guide

Databases and Reference

  • ARTSTOR: over 500,000 images of art, architecture, & humanities from museums and other sources
  • Clara: Database of Women Artists from National Museum of Women in the Arts (NMWA)
  • JSTOR: humanities archival database (covers 5 years ago and back)
  • Online Catalog from National Museum of Women in the Arts
  • Women and Music
  • Women of Note: women & music

Journals

Bibliographies, organizations, and more

Microform Collections
  • Women Composers Collection (1780-1950)

      • type: primary    format/size: 28 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
      • guide: Microforms Reference, see record
      • description:  This collection was microfilmed from the Women Composers Collection at the Music Library of the University of Michigan.  This collection reproduces music, principally by European and North American women composers, originally published between 1780-1950.  The collection features works by Amy Beach, Lili Boulanger, Nadia Boulanger, Pauline Viardot, maria Malihan, Augusta Homes, Ethel Smyth, Cecile Chaminade, Liza Lehmann, Teresa Del Reigo, and many others.  The music represented is mainly song, opera extracts and chamber music.  The collection includes manuscripts, printed scores and song sheets from a wide range of women composers.

 

Business & Economics 

see Business subject guide for more resources

Databases and References

Ebooks

More e-books

Journals

Organizations and more

Microform Collections
    • Records of the Bureau of Vocational Information (1908-1932)

        • type: primary    format/size: 28 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
        • description:  The Intercollegiate Bureau of Occupations (IBO), 1911-1919, and the Bureau of Vocational Information (BVI), 1919-1926, worked to find expanded employment prospects for trained women.  Records of both organizations are included in this collection filmed from the holdings of the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College.  Located in New York City, the IBO not only offered career counseling, it also published studies on wartime training and job opportunities in the civil service, scientific work, and other fields.  It also provided employment information and advice, as well as placement service for women.  After World War I, in 1919, IBO was dissolved, and BVI took over its functions.  Its stated purpose was "research in women's occupations with service and counsel both to individual women to colleges through publication, institutes, and personal consultation . . . " One valuable feature of its papers is the series of questionnaires and replies from employees in 26 different occupational categories.  Along with related correspondence, they reveal much about attitudes toward working women in the early 1920s.  They are complimented by a sizable number of clippings and related publications from a wide range of sources.
    • Women Working (1800-1930): provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University

    Education 

    Databases and Reference

    Journals

    Bibliographies, organizations, and more

    Feminism 

    Databases & References

    Journals

    Organizations and More

    Health  

    Databases

    History

    see History subject guide for more resources

    Databases

    E-books

    More e-books

    Journals

    Bibliographies, organizations, and more

    • American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library: hosted by the Library of Congress, this site includes over 100 historical collections, covering woman's suffrage, records of Congress, Frederick Douglass papers, and many other topics.  Among the Women's stduies collections on this website are:
        • American Women: a Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
        • By Popular Demand: "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920
        • The Hannah Arendt Papers at the Library of Congress
        • Votes for Women: Selections from the National American Woman Suffrage
        • Association Collection, 1848-1921
        • Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party
    • Cornell University Library Witchcraft Collection: most works in this collection date from the 17th and 18th centuries.
    • Diotima: Materials for the study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
    • Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project: Michigan State University and the MSU Museum have partnered to create an online collection of some of the most influential and important American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.  The goal of this project is to make these material available to a wider audience.  Digital images of the pages of each cookbook are available as well as full text transcriptions and the ability to search within the books and across the collection, to find specific information.
    • Five College Archives Digital Access Project: Five Colleges, incorporated is a non-profit educational consortium which includes Amherst College, Hampshire College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, and the University of Massachusetts Amherst.  This website provides access to digitized versions of archival records and manuscript collections relating primarily to women's history- particularly women's education at the Five Colleges, included among the collections are official college publications, letters, photographs, articles, oral histories, diaries, and more.
    • National Women's History Project
    • Women in America (1820-1842): contains electronic texts of European travel accounts of the life of American women.  Texts are arranged by author and topic.  This reproduces only a small number of works, with many of the works by male authors.  This may still be somewhat useful.
    Microform Collections
    • Colonial Discourses: Series 1 Women, Travel, and Empire (1660-1914)

        • type: primary source  format/size: 101 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record) Also: See guides for each part
        • description:  This collection records women traveler's impressions of life in the Middle East, China and Japan.  Includes descriptions of "life and society in Egypt, Syria, Iran (Persia), Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Palestine, Israel, Turkey, the Crimea, Greece, India, China, Japan, and Tibet.  Collection explores the "development of women's travel literature (1662-1914), the evolution of female aesthetic sensibility, the use of travel as a form of escape from traditional gender roles, the ideology of Empire, issues of identity (contrasts between imperial settlers and 1st and 2nd generation settlers who begin to develop a new national consciousness), narratives of Empire and Anti-Empire."
    • Pamphlets in American History: Women

        • type: primary    format/size: 631 works, positive microfiche
        • call number: call numbers vary
        • description:  Works in this collection deal with such topics as women in the workplace, women's suffrage, and the continuing struggle for equal rights after the vote was obtained.  The collection features well known authors such as Carrie Chapman Catt, Ida Husted Harper, and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, plus many lesser known writers.  A variety of organizations are represented, including such bodies as the League of Women Voters and the National American Woman Suffrage Association.  Most pamphlets in this set were published between 1840 to 1920.
    • Women and Victorian Values (1837-1910): Advice Books, Manuals, and Journals for Women

        • type: popular reading    format/size: 20 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide: Microforms Reference, see record
        • description:  This project from the Bondleian Library, Oxford offers prescriptive literature and journals aimed at women in the Victorian and Edwardian eras, from 1837 to 1910.  The examination of such prescriptive literature is vital to our understanding of changes and developments in femininity and masculinity, the compartmentalization of many aspects of 19th century life, and the delineation of public and private spheres.

    International

    • AfricaBib: covers African Women, Africana Periodical Literature, and Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa (1763-2004)
    • Ariadne (1992-): Austrian databases (German language); contains articles and essays; also indexes journals from 1875 to 1918
    • KVINNSAM: (1984-present) produced by Gothenburg University of Sweden; includes books, journals, journal articles, book chapters, scholarly papers, booklets, and research reports on gender studies; extensive materials from Europe; many are not in English; HINT: enter keyword then click Sok (search) to see results
    • Women Watch: United Nations Inter-Agency Network on Women and Gender Equality (IANWGE)

    Journals

    Bibliographies, organizations, and more

    • Centre for Development and Population Activities: funds international projects for women's reproductive health care
    • Global Fund for Women: funds international women's grassroots organizations
    • Ling Long Women's Magazine Shanghai, 1931 to 1937: this magazine was published in the 1930s in Shanghai, China at a time when women's role in society, at least in that sophisticated and foreign-influenced metropolis, was in rapid transition.  No longer shuttered within the patriarchal prisons of traditional upper class family compounds, or left to toil in rural villages, women were beginning to become educated in missionary or foreign-inspired institutions, or to work in urban enterprises which allowed them a great deal more independence and social contact.  They were hungry for gossip about the glamorous movie stars they saw in the cinema, and eager for advice about social situations which their mothers could not have dreamt of.  Ling Long, a pocket-sized inexpensive weekly ventured to meet these new needs by encourgaing women to advance toward the good life through socially high-minded entertainment.  It was filled with articles on fashion, interior decoration, pop psychology, and new careers; and also advice columns on love, sex, and marriage, as well as lavish illustrations of local and Hollywood celebrities.  The wide array of ads for women's products are often just as revealing of life and aspirations as the words of the text.  The magazine is written in Chinese.

    Microform Collections

     

    Journalism, Media, & Film

    see Communication & Journalism, Film Studies

    Databases

    E-books

    More e-books

    Journals

    Bibliographies, organizations, and more

    Law & Policy

    Databases

    Journal

    Bibliographies, organizations, and more

    Microform Collections

    • FBI File on Eleanor Roosevelt

        • type: scholarly    format/size: 3 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
        • description:  Eleanor Roosevelt, wife of President Franklin Roosevelt, was highly controversial during his terms of office, due to her outspokenness and her activities which went beyond those previous first ladies.  The United States Federal Bureau of Investigation investigated Eleanor Roosevelt's alleged radical activities, as well as threats she received.  This file contains correspondence, memos, and newspaper clippings from 1932-1962.  Also includes letters from "ordinary" citizens protesting her activities and copies of her newspaper column "My Day."  Some documents or portions of documents were deleted by the FBI prior to the filming of this collection.
    • FBI File on the Ku Klux Klan: Murder of Viola Liuzzo

        • type: scholarly    format/size: 1 reel of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide: none
        • description:  On March 25, 1965, Mrs. Viola Liuzzo was killed by 4 members of the KKK in Lowndes County, Alabama.  Liuzzo had recently taken part in a civil rights march.  This case was solved quickly, primarily because one of the men in the Klansmen's car was a paid FBI informant.  This was one of the first cases to test the new Civil Rights Act.  The Klansmen were ultimately found not guilty on first-degree murder, but were convicted in federal court for violating the Civil Rights Act.

    Literature

    see English subject guide for more resources

    Databases

    Journals

    Bibliographies, Organizations, and More

    • Austrian Literature Online: German language website reproduces various older books and periodicals published in Austria.  The section titled Frauen in Bewegung reproduces several digitized periodical relating to women.
    • British Women Romantic Poets (1789-1832): this is an electronic collection of texts from the University of California, Davis.  This online scholarly archive consists of e-text editions of poetry by British and Irish women written (not necessarily/published) between 1789 (the onset of the French Revolution) and 1832 (the passage of the Reform Act), a period traditionally known in English literary history as the Romantic period.
    • A Celebration of Women Writers: biographies, bibliographies, images, and more
    • Digital Schlomburg Collection of African-American Women Writers of the 19th century: digital collection of 52 published works by 19th century African-American women writers.  Part of the Digital Schlomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives, and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920.  A full text database of 19th and early 20th century titles, this digital library is keyword searchable.
    • Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls: website is a digital representation of Stanford's holdings of these books, consisting of over 8,000 items.  Includes long runs of major dime novels series (Frank Leslie's Boys of America, Happy Days, Beadle's New York Dime Library) and equally strong holdings of story papers like the New York Ledger and Saturday Night.  The database can be browsed by the gender of the persons depicted.
    • Feminist Fiction: covers classic & contemporary writers, mystery, sci fi, and more
    • Victorian Women Writers Project: goal of this project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century.  The works, selected with the assistance of the Advisory Board, will include anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama.  Considerable attention will be given to the accuracy and completeness of the texts, and to accurate bibliographical descriptions of them.
    Microform Collections
    • Irish Women Writers of the Romantic Era (1772-1859)

        • type: primary    format/size: 9 reels of microfilm
        • guide: Online Guide to reels
        • description:  These are the literary manuscripts and diaries of 2 prominent Irish women writers, including their correspondence with figures such as Sir Walter Scott, Shelley, Maria Edgeworth, and Lord Byron.  The diaries provide material on society life in London and Dublin, with accounts of soirées, musicales, and parties

    Philosophy

    see Philosophy Subject Guide

    Databases

    Journals

    • Hypatia: journal on intersection of women's studies and philosophy

    Organizations

    Politics

    see Political Science subject guide for more resources

    Databases

    E-books

    More e-books

    Journals

    Bibliographies, organizations, and more

    Research Centers

    Microform Collections
    • Aristocratic Women: the social, political, and cultural history of rich and powerful women (1722-1997)

        • type: primary sources  format/size: 25 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)  Also:Online guide listing each reel
        • description:  This contains correspondence and diaries of Charlotte Georgiana, Lady Bedingfield (formerly Jerningham) c1779-1833, Ann Seward c1791-1804, and Lady Stafford c1774-1837.  This project concentrates on substantial and revealing clusters of correspondence between aristocratic women in the 18th and early 19th centuries, enabling the social, political and cultural history of this landed elite to be studied.  These women wielded real financial power, were active in local social welfare, actively debated political issues and read widely.
    • Papers of the League of Women Voters (1918-1974)

        • type: primary    format/size: 64 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
        • description:  The League of Womens Voters dates from 1920 when American women won the right to vote.  Throughout the years the League has been rigorously non-partisan, but has consistently taken strong stands on the major governmental questions of the day and has lobbied aggressively for causes in which it believed.
            • Part I
            • Part II 
                • Series A: transcripts and records of National Conventions (1919-1944) and General Councils (1927-1943)
                • Series B: transcripts and records of National Conventions (1946-1974) and General Councils (1945-1973)
    • Records of the Women's Joint Congressional Committee

        • type: primary    format/size: 7 reels of 35mm positive microfilm (6200 items)
        • guide: none
        • description:  These records include correspondence, information forms, minutes, reports, financial records, membership lists, and miscellaneous other printed matter, chiefly from 1920-1953, related to the Women's Joint Congressional Committee's work monitoring and promoting legislation in the areas of social welfare, education, and women's rights.  Constituent member organizations include the National Consumers League, the National Education Association, and the National Council of Jewish Women.  Correspondents include Katharine M. Ansley, Helen W. Atwater, Mary T. Bannerman, Bessie S. Cone, Elizabeth Eastman, Eleannor M. Hadley, Florence Kelley, Margaret C. Maule, Claire Sifton, Florence V. Watkins, and Lenna L. Yost.

    Psychology

    see Psychology subject guide for more resources

    Databases

    • PsycINFO (CSA): articles, thesis & dissertations, conference proceedings in psychology

    Journals

    Bibliographies, organizations, and more

    • Image Archive of the American Eugenics Movement: this digital collection presents the unfiltered story of the American eugenics movement- primarily through materials from the Eugenics Record Office at Cold Spring Harbor, which as the center of American eugenics research from 1910-1940.  In the Archive you will see numerous reports, articles, charts, and pedigrees that were considered scientific "facts" in their day.  It is important to note that the vast majority of eugenics work has been completely discredited.  In the final analysis, the eugenic description of human life reflected political and social prejudices, rather than scientific facts.
    • Society for the Psychology of Women (American Psychological Association)

    Science and Technology

    Databases

    E-books

    More e-books

    Journals

    Bibliographies

    Organizations

    Sexuality

    Databases and Reference

    E-books

    More e-books

    Journals

    Bibliographies and More

    Microform Collections

     

    • Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance Archives (1972-1994)

        • type: primary sources  format/size: 67 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
        • description:  The ALFA group was founded in 1972 by a group of radical lesbians and disbanded in 1994.  This collection includes the organizational records of ALFA as well as other southern organizations.  It offers a selection of grassroots newsletters, journals and rare periodicals, many of which are now ephemeral and unavailable elsewhere.  ALFA's activities are well documented in the self-produced monthly newsletter, "The Atalanta".  It constitutes a unique resource on feminist and lesbian activism in the South, from the early 1970s to the mid-1990s.

     

    • Gay Activism in Britain from 1958: the Hall-Carpenter Archives from the London School of Economics

        • type: primary source    format/size: 66 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
        • description:  The Hall-Carpenter Archives are the largest and most important source for the study of gay activism in modern Britain.  The contain an extremely rich and varied assortment of organizational material, papers of prominent individuals, ephemera, publications and press-cuttings dating from the publication of the Wolfenden Report in 1958-present day.
    • Gay Activists Alliance: Gay Rights Movement (1970-1983)

        • type: scholarly    format/size: 21 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
        • description:  Founded in December 1969 by men and women dissatisfied with the Gay Liberation Front, the Gay Activists Alliance rapidly became the largest and most visible gay organization in New York.  On June 28, 1970, 200 GAA members led the way as tens of thousands of supporters marched to Central Park in celebration of the first anniversary of Stonewall.  this publication contains the minutes of meetings, international and general correspondence of group members and a large number of ephemera.  Robert Rules guided the initial meetings of the group.  The development of the "Zap"- the practice of confronting politicians, institutions and the media with unyielding demands for gay rights- infuriated many but also instilled a newfound confidence into thousands more.  Gay Activists Alliance records allow researchers to examine early meetings and the development of the Zap.
    • Gay Rights Movement: Mattachine Society of New York Records (1951-1976)

        • type: primary source    format/size: 24 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
        • description:  The organizational papers of the Mattachine Society reflect the vigorous and t times acrimonious debate that takes place among its members from tie of its foundation in 1950.  The first major gay organization in the United States, the society sponsored discussion groups, encouraged support for civil rights and opposed police entrapment for sexual acts.  The New York Chapter of the Mattachine Society, founded in 1955, became the largest gay rights group in the U. S.  From 1965 onwards it fought to establish the civil rights of gays, defended men arrested on morals charges and protested against the continual police practice of harassing people in gay bars.  The papers contained in this microform publication offer a poignant portrayal of the gay rights movement, through correspondence with gay men and lesbians throughout the United States, as well as the minutes of meetings, memoranda, and ephemera.
    • Masculinity: Men Defining Men and Gentlemen (1560-1918)

        • type: popular reading    format/size: 66 reels of microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
        • description:  This collection consists of a collection of rare advice books, manuals and literary text relating to masculinity between 1560-1918.  This includes both works written for adults and also items for children or young adults.  The set contains works relating both to France and to England.  Subject divisions include: caricatures and essential types; chivalric and courtly behavior; masculinity and effieminacy; sermons and homilies on manliness; the gospel of work and self-help; education; advice books for boys and young men; domestic and family relations; fashion and etiquette; the gentleman; the working man; sexuality and purity; health and sport; and heroic and military manliness.
    Collection consists of 3 parts:
    • Part 1: sources from Bodleian Library, Oxford 1600-1800
    • Part 2: sources from Bodleian Library, Oxford 1800-1918
    • Part 3: sources from Bodleian Library, Oxford 1800-1918
    It also includes issues for several magazines and serials including:
    • Boys of the Empire: a magazine for British boys all over the world (1900-1903)
    • Boy's Own Journal (1856)
    • Boy's Own Magazine (1855-6, 1861-2, 1869, 1875)
    • Boy's Own Paper (1879, 1884-5, 1891-2, 1899-1901, 1913-16, 1918-20)
    • Chatterbox (1877, 1902, 1914)
    • Empire Annual for boys (1909-16, 1918-20)
    • Every Boy's Magazine (1862, 1869, 1875-7, 1885-8)
    • Every Boy's Stories (1860)
    • Young England (1862-1865)
    • and more miscellaneous journals, in short runs, published sometime from 1800-1918
    • National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Records (1973-2000)

        • type: primary source    format/size: 298 reels of microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
        • description:  This collection documents the activities over 25 years of the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, founded in New York in 1973, and its achievements for the civil rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals in the United States.  Documenting NGLTF's pioneering work in changing the American Psychiatric Association's classification of homosexuality as a mental illness, this collection, which consists correspondence, press clippings, financial and administrative records, subject files, and photographs, also covers anti-gay discrimination, violence against gay men and lesbians, legal questions, and other topics. 

    Suffrage

    Primary Sources

    Online resources

    Serials

    • American Suffragette (1909-1911) Official publication of the National Progressive Woman Suffrage Union.  Annual report of the committee of the Female School of Industry, Farnham
    • the Suffragist (1913-1921) American political magazine
    • Women's Leader (1909-1933) title varies, including Common Cause; British political magazine
    • Woman's Protest (1912-1918) published by the National Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage
    • Women's Suffrage Journal (1871-1890) British political magazine
    • Women's Union Journal (1883-1890) British magazine

    Micoform collections

    • Campaign for Women's Suffrage (1895-1920)

        • type: scholarly  format/size: 31 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)  Also: brief table of contents on reel 1
        • description:  This collection reproduces the papers of 4 important groups active during the campaign's most critical period in England at the beginning of the 20th century: International Woman's Suffrage Alliance, National Union of Woman's Suffrage Societies, Parliamentary Committee for Woman's Suffrage, and Manchester Men's League for Woman's Suffrage.  Attempts by the Liberal Party to promote suffrage are well covered, especially its election campaign of 1910 when the issue was included in the party's list of reforms to be debated by Parliament.  The collection includes 30 volumes of press articles clipped by the National Union of Woman's Suffrage Societies.  These clippings are from the major daily newspapers as well as from suffrage and regional papers.  The material from the Manchester Men's League for Woman's Suffrage documents the different factors at work in the industrial north of England.  The broader issues of adult suffrage and working class oppression are also covered.
    • Pamphlets in American History: Women

        • type: primary    format/size: 631 works, positive microfiche
        • call number: call numbers vary
        • description:  Works in this collection deal with such topics as women in the workplace, women's suffrage, and the continuing struggle for equal rights after the vote was obtained.  The collection features well known authors such as Carrie Chapman Catt, Ida Husted Harper, and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, plus many lesser known writers.  A variety of organizations are represented, including such bodies as the League of Women Voters and the National American Woman Suffrage Association.  Most pamphlets in this set were published between 1840 to 1920.
    • Papers of Carrie Chapman Catt

        • type: primary    format/size: 18 reels of 35 positive microfilm
        • guide:  none
        • description:  This collection reproduces correspondence, diaries (1911-1923), drafts of speeches and articles, subject files, biographical papers, newspaper clippings, printed material, and other papers, chiefly 1890-1929, relating primarily to Catt's efforts on behalf of the women's suffrage movement, feminism, and the cause of international peace.  The set also includes materials relating to the Woman's Centennial Congress of 1940 and the National Committee on the Cause and Cure of War.  The diaries describe her travels to Europe, Africa, the Near East, and the Far East.  A few of the correspondents represented in the collection include Jane Addams, Alice Stone Blackwell, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Ida Husted Harper, Fiorello La Guardia, and William Howard Taft.
        • Related Work: Woman Suffrage
    • Papers of Eleanor Roosevelt (1933-1945)

        • type: primary    format/size: 20 reels of microfilm
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
        • description:  Eleanor Roosevelt was the wife of President Franklin Roosevelt but was also an important social and political leader in her own right.  This edition of her papers focuses exclusively on correspondence during the White House years, 1933-1945.  This edition focuses on Roosevelt's relations with leading political and governmental figures of the 1930s and 1940s as well as with her circle of personal friends during the same period.  Ninety-three correspondent's files were selected as the most illustrative of the public life of Eleanor Roosevelt during the 1933-1945 period.  The correspondents were selected with the objective of detailing Roosevelt's thought and activities in 4 major subject areas: social welfare and depression relief; race relations; women in American politics; and youth activities.
        • Related Works:
    • Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton (1814-1946)

        • type: primary    format/size: 5 reels of microfilm (@1000 items)
        • guide:  in Microforms Reference (see record)
        • description:  Elizabeth Cady Stanton was an active American social reformer.  She opposed slavery and was a leading proponent of women's rights.  These papers include correspondence, copies of speeches and articles, scrapbooks, and printed materials.  The papers cover the years from 1814 to 1946, but most items date from 1840 to 1902. 
        • Related Work:  The Selected Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony
    • Suffragette Fellowship Collection: from the Museum of London (1870-1920)

        • type: primary    format/size: 14 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide: Microform Reference, see record
        • description:  The collection includes papers from 2 key organizations: the Women's Social and Political Union and the Women's Freedom League.  It also documents the careers of several suffragists, including Flora Drummond, the Pankhursts, and many other major figures.  It provides information on the decisive years from 1870-1920 and highlights the growth of the 2 organizations noted above.  This collection contains diaries, manuscripts, autobiographies, correspondence, police and court documents, newspaper clippings, along with pamphlets, ephemera and photographs.
            • Reels 1-4: Correspondence, personal papers, minute books
            • Reel 5-12: Pamphlets, leaflets, handbills
            • Reel 13: National Women's Social and Political Union annual reports, Women's Freedom League annual reports, National Women's Social and Political Union first annual report
            • Reel 14: Photographs from the Suffragette Fellowship Collection
    • Women's Studies Manuscript collections from the Schlesinger Library: Woman's Suffrage

        • type: varies    format/size: ? reels of 35mm positive microfilm
        • guide: with each part
        • description:  Between 1880 and 1920 the suffrage movement brought together diverse groups of American women.  Attracting a wide range of participants from all political and economic backgrounds, the cause because a mass movement whose leaders were almost exclusively women.  The selections in the series were microfilmed from the holding of the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe College.  These collections reproduce a variety of handwritten and printed materials.
        • Parts:
    This series offers collections of prominent national suffragists.  It includes major collections of the papers of Anna Howard Shaw, Matilada Josyln Gage, and Julia Ward Howe, as well as smaller collections of Carrie Chapman Catt and Lucy Stone.
    These collections provide interesting contrast between the efforts of upper-class Manhattan society matrons and middle-class suffragists upstate.  The papers of the upper-class Harriet Burton Laidlaw, leader in the fight against the "white slave trade," and the middle-class master organizer Helen Brewster Owens are especially significant. 
    The Southern suffrage materials are dominated by the papers of Mississippi suffragist and temperance crusader Nellie Nugent Somerville.  Another valuable collection is that of Ella Harrison, which traces the speaking tour of a young suffragist through the deep South at the turn of the century.
    This series draws extensively from several major collections and numerous minor ones.  The Robinson-Shattuck papers document the careers of two Massachusetts suffragists, a mother and her daughter.  Harriet Hanson Robinson became a Lowell mill girl at ten.  Both she and her daughter, Harriette Robinson Shattuck, were leader in the National Woman Suffrage Association.  The Maud Wood Park papers focus on Park's early career as suffrage leader in Massachusetts and shed new light on the bitter Massachusetts campaign, one of the hardest fought of its kind.  Also included are reports and photographs from Park's 1909-1910 world tour to investigae the status of women.  With the Grace Johnson papers, the scholar can explore the ties between the suffragist and prohibitionist movements in Massachusetts.  The smaller collections from New England include those of Adelaide Clafflin, suffragist and Unitraian minister; Blanche Ames, treasurer of the Massachusetts League of Women Voters and co-founder of the Birth Control League of Massachusetts; and Alice Stone Blackwell, journalist and suffragist
    Dominating this series is the collection on the Illinois suffrage movement assembled by Mary E. Dilllon, especially the papers of Catharine Waugh McCulloch, a lawyer, lobbyist, and state suffrage leader.  McCulloch's extensive papers shed light on both national and local trends in the movement.  Both her wide range of contacts with national leaders and his disdain for the eastern establishment are recorded in abundance.  In addition to McCulloch's activities on behalf of woman suffrage, her papers record her battles to reform higher education and family law in Illinois and to end the bias against women in the Chicago bar.  Wisconsin is represented by the papers of Olympia Brown, the first leader of the state suffrage movement and an ordained minister.  The small but significant collections of Margaret Roberts of Idaho and Esther Morris of Wyoming represent the Far West.

    Books

    Sports

    Databases and Reference

    Journals

    Bibliographies, organizations, and more

    Sports Organizations

    Professional

    College

    Theology

    Databases and Reference

    E-books

    More e-books

    Journals

    Bibliographies, organizations, and more

    • American Jewess (1895-1899): Describes itself as "the only magazine in the world devoted to the interests of Jewish women".  It was the first English-language periodical targeted to American Jewish women, covering an evocative range of topics from women's place in the synagogue to whether women should ride bicycles.  Founded and edited by Rosa Sonneschein (1847-1932), it offered the first sustained critique, by Jewish women, of gender inequities in Jewish worship and communal life.  Assembled and digitized for online access by the Jewish Women's Archive, this digital reproduction of the 8 volumes of the American Jewess was assembled from the collection of Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion Klau Library, Bradeis University Libraries, the Library Congress, and the Jewish Women's Archive.
    Microform Collections
    • type: scholarly   format/size: 5 reels of 35mm positive microfilm
    • guide: Reel 1 shows dates covered by each reel
    • description:  Anna Carpenter Garlin Spencer (1851-1931) was a minister, feminist, educator, pacifist, and writer on ethics and social problems. Anna Garlin was born in Massachusetts in 1851. In 1869 she began to write for the Providence Journal, as well as teach in the public schools. She remained a journalist until 1878 when she married the Reverend William H. Spencer, a Unitarian minister. From 1902 until her death, Spencer held a series of teaching posts as such institutions as the University of Wisconsin, the University of Chicago and Columbia University. Spencer was active in the cause of women’s rights for more than forty years. In the 1890’s she served as the president of the Rhode Island Equal Suffrage Association. An early participant in the National Council of Women, Anna Garlin Spencer was president of that organization in 1920. Spencer’s interest in pacifism also led her to prominent positions in the cause of peace. She was on the executive committee of the National Peace and Arbitration Congress in 1907 and was a founding member of the Woman’s Peace Party in 1915, serving as vice chairman. She also became the first chairman of the national board of the Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom in 1919. This microfilm collection reproduces personal and family papers, correspondence, manuscripts, and published writings.

                    Selected Microfrom Serials

                    • AAUW Journal (1970-1978) American Association of University Women; title changed to Graduate Women
                    • L'Action Feminine (1909-1917) French magazine        

                    Selected Print Indexes

                    • American women and the Labor Movement (1825-1974): An Annotated Bibliography
                    • American Woman in Colonial and Revolutionary Times (1565-1800): A Syllabus with Bibliography
                    • Bibliographic Guide to Chicana and Latina Narrative
                    • Bibliography of Eugenics (1879 to 1920s): Indexes scholarly articles in English and other languages; covers subject of human heredity very broadly, including degeneracy, inheritance of "defect", relationship of heredity to crime, disease, delinquency & alcoholism, birth control, sterilization, racial factors, etc.
                    • Bibliography of Fertility Control (1950-1965): covers a historically significant period
                    • Bibliography of Sex Rites and Customs (18th century-1930): indexes books & articles; cites works on religion, archeology, history, travel, etc.
                    • Bibliography on the Relation of Clothing to Health (1875-1927): cite English, French, & German books & articles; arranged in broad categories with author & subject indexes
                    • Costume Index: subject index to Plates and to illustrated text (1937)
                    • Lady's Monthly Museum (1798-1806): an Annotated Index of Signatures, and Ascriptions. indexes an English magazine
                    • Pen is Ours (1910-present) a listing of writings by and about African American Women; secondary bibliography
                    • Published Diaries and Letters of American Women: an annotated bibliography
                    • Sources for Women's History in the Microtext Department (1500s to 1980s)
                    • United States Government Documents on Women (1800-1900): useful but not complete; TAMU Libraries owns many of the items in this bibliography
                    • Women and British Periodicals (1832-1867): a bibliography; lists articles concerning women from periodicals indexed in Wellesley Index; arranged by title of periodical; no subject index
                    • Women and Children of the Mills: an annotated guide to 19th century American Textile Factory Literature
                    • Women in American Religious History: an annotated bibliography and guide to sources
                    • Women in English Social History (1800-1914) cites books and articles from 1800 onward
                    • Women in Modern American Politics: a bibliography, 1900-1955 (available online, click link)
                    • Women in the Scientific Search: an American Bio-Bibliography (1724-1979) cites books & articles on women scientists in anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, home economics, mathematics, medicine, physics, psychology, etc.; most works dates from after 1900 (few earlier); arranged by discipline & then by person's name; includes index
                    • Women in the United States Military 1901-1995: a Research Guide and Annotated bibliography
                    • Women Patriots of the American Revolution: A Bibliographical Ditionary (1991): provides data on about 900 women; cites secondary sources for more than 5,00 female patriots
                    • Women's Diaries, Journals, and Letters: an Annotated Bibliography
                    • Women's Periodicals in the United States: Consumer Magazines
                    • Women's Rights Movement in the United States 1848-1970

                    Selected Dissertations

                     

                    Document Actions
                    Your Librarian
                    Margaret Foster
                    Position
                    Social Sciences and Education Librarian
                    Department
                    Info and Coll Svc - Humanities, Social Sci and Instructional Svc
                    Contact Information
                    Evans, Room 1.111B
                    (979) 862-1893
                     
                    Giving to the Libraries