Anthropology
—
filed under:
Social Sciences
Archaeology | Nautical Archaeology | Cultural | Linguistic | Physical | Other Resources
Archaeology and Biology Databases
- Biological Sciences : Multidisciplinary database covering the biological sciences
- BIOSIS Previews : Index to life science and biomedical research
- Geobase : includes articles on physical and human geography, ethnography, and oceanography
- Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) Collection of Archaeology
- National Archeological Database (free online) : National Park Service database that contains over 350,000 reports on archeological investigations.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Collins Dictionary of Archaeology : Short entries on a variety of archaeological subjects. Entries provide suggestions for further reading.
- Dictionary of Concepts in Archaeology : Contains 72 thematic articles related to archaeological concepts.
- Encyclopedia of Archaeology : This three volume encyclopedia detailed essays on all areas of archaeology and includes a glossary for each entry, detailed indexes, and full color illustrations.
- Historical Dictionary of North American Archaeology : Provides information on prehistoric North American culture and archaeological sites.
- Oxford Companion to Archaeology : 700 entries covering all aspects of archaeology.
Atlases
- Archaeological Atlas of the World : Detailed information of World archaeological sites. Contains 103 maps detailing sites
- Atlas of Classical Archaeology : Information, illustrations, and maps listing archaeological sites for the classical to late antique world.
- An Atlas of International Migration : Contains migration maps, demographic, and archaeological information for human migrations from prehistory to 1991.
- The Atlas of World Archaeology : Information and full color maps detailing archaeological sites from around the world.
- The Atlas of Past Worlds : Contains archaeological maps from around the world, as well as photos and illustrations of artifacts and descriptive essays.
- The Kottak Anthropology Atlas : Contains information and maps for cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, and archaeology.
- The Settling of North America: The Atlas of the Great Migrations into North America From the Ice Age to the Present : Detailed archaeological and cultural anthropology maps from the Ice Age to the present.
Journals
Web Resources
- Archaeology Data Service (free online) : Online catalog of archaeology images and datasets. Limited largely to the UK but contains some information from other countries.
- Image Database to Enhance Asian Studies (Ideas) : Contains cultural and archaeological images from Central and East Asia. User may browse individual collections or search by keyword.
- Perseus Art and Archaeology : Digital library of Greco-Roman artifacts. Contains over 33,000 digital images of art, architecture, and coins.
- Perseus Digital Library : A massive, growing digital library archiving both archaeological and historical sources.
- Prehistoric Archaeology of the Aegean : Well respected free online textbook on the Prehistoric and Bronze Age Aegean. Includes an index and bibliography.
- Smithsonian Archaeology and Ethnology Collection : Catalog of archaeological artifacts worldwide. Includes some images.
- Museum Websites
Nautical Archaeology Resources
Archaeology and Biology Databases
- Biological Sciences : Multidisciplinary database covering the biological sciences
- BIOSIS Previews : Index to life science and biomedical research
- Geobase : includes articles on physical and human geography, ethnography, and oceanography
- Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) Collection of Archaeology
- National Archeological Database (free online) : Contains over 350,000 reports on archeological investigations.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Dictionary of Ship Types : A fully illustrated dictionary of ship types from ca. 3000 BCE to the twentieth century. Includes important dates in maritime history and famous ships. Excludes motor-propelled crafts.
- Dictionary of Naval Terms : Historic and current naval terminology.
- Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology :
- Marine Antiques : Descriptions of marine artifacts organized by broad category. Illustrated with photographs.
- Maritime Antiques: An Illustrated Dictionary : A dictionary of maritime tools and and artifacts. Focuses on the 16th-19th centuries CE.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History : Over 900 entries on all aspects of maritime history. Contains over 400 black and white photos and 60 maps and nautical charts.
Atlases
- Lloyd's Maritime Atlas
- Atlas Maritimus (online)
Journals
- Bermuda Journal of Archaeology and Maritime History
- International Journal of Nautical Archaeology
- International Journal of Nautical Archaeology and Underwater Exploration
- Mariner's Mirror
- Maritime History
Web Resources
- Archaeology Data Service (free online) : Online catalog of archaeology images and datasets. Limited largely to the UK but contains some information from other countries.
- GulfBase - Resource Database for Gulf of Mexico Research :
- Institute of Nautical Archaeology (TAMU) : Web presence for the INA. Contains many useful resources including the following:
- Museum of Underwater Archaeology : Created by the University of Rhode Island, this resource serves as a means of making nautical archaeologists' research available to the public. Contains exhibits, project journals, field updates, a blog, and news.
- Smithsonian Archaeology and Ethnology Collection : Catalog of archaeological artifacts worldwide. Includes some images.
- The Nautical Archaeology Digital Library : Developed by the TAMU Center for Maritime Archaeology and Conservation. Contains full text Nautical Archaeology treatises, an NA timeline, a bibliography of TAMU NA publications, biographical information for TAMU researchers, and a list of collaborative projects.
- Oceanography resources
- Reefbase - Global Information System on Coral Reefs
- SubARCH listserv : a listserv for discussing all aspects of underwater archaeology
TAMU Department of Oceanography : Departmental homepage- TAMU Map and GIS Collections and Services : Evans Map Collection homepage
- Tropis : International Conference on Ship Construction Proceedings.
Cultural Anthropology Resources
Cultural Anthropology Databases
- CultureGrams : The online edition of the popular informational series covering world culture. Provides demographic, historical, and current information concerning world cultures.
- Family Studies Abstracts : This resource contains some cultural anthropology materials concerned with the family unit.
- Geobase : includes articles on physical and human geography, ethnography, and oceanography
- Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) World Cultures
- Smithsonian Global Sound : "Encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions"
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology: Contains 80 thematic articles related to cultural anthropology concepts.
- Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology : Contains 340 entries. Includes info on archaeology and physical anthropology as well.
- Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology [electronic] : Contains 238 short entries, biographical data, and a glossary of terms.
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures : A ten volume guide to world culture.
Atlases
- An Atlas of International Migration : Contains migration maps, demographic, and archaeological information for human migrations from prehistory to 1991.
- Cultural Atlas of Mesopotamia and the Ancient Near East : Provides geography, history, and archaeological and anthropological discussion of the Near East from the Neolithic to the dawn of Hellenism (330 BCE).
- Historical Atlas of Ancient Mesopotamia
Divides coverage my individual cultural groups or ruling empires, beginning in the Neolithic Period and ending with the rise of Islam.- Historical Atlas of Religions : Describes in text and illustrates through thematic maps the worlds major (and some minor) religious movements.
- Israel: The Historical Atlas : An illustrated history of Israel, focusing primarily on the modern period. Contains biographies and an almanac.
- The Kottak Anthropology Atlas : Contains information and maps for cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, and archaeology.
- The Sacred Bridge: Carta's Atlas of The Biblical World
Full color maps, charts, tables, for the ancient Levant, the Old and New Testament periods, and comprehensive background material.- The Settling of North America: The Atlas of the Great Migrations into North America From the Ice Age to the Present : Detailed archaeological and cultural anthropology maps from the Ice Age to the present.
Journals
- Cultural Anthropology
- Ethnography
- Journal of American Folklore
- Journal of Contemporary Ethnography
- Journal of Latin American Anthropology
- Journal of Social and Evolutionary Systems
- Social Anthropology
- Urban Anthropology and Studies of Cultural Systems and World Economic Development
Web Resources
- CIA World Factbook : Basic information about countries' governments, economies, and peoples.
- Image Database to Enhance Asian Studies (Ideas) : Contains cultural and archaeological images from Central and East Asia. User may browse individual collections or search by keyword.
- Publore : A listserv created to discuss and disseminate information about folklore.
- WWW Virtual Library: Anthropology: Cultural Anthropology : Annotated directory of cultural anthropology websites organized broadly by topic.
Linguistic Anthropology Resources
Linguistics Databases
- Linguistics + Language : Indexes abstracts on the nature and use of linguistics, language, and language behavior.
- PsychINFO : All purpose psychology database cover linguistics.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language : Organized by broad theme and topic.
- Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics [electronic] : Over 3000 articles on language and linguistics.
- Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics : Contains over 3500 concise entries on all aspects of language and linguistics.
Atlases
- Atlas of Languages: The Origin and Development of Languages Throughout the World : Maps the origin and development of over 200 World languages.
- The World Atlas of Language Structures : 142 maps displaying the distribution and structure of over 400 languages.
Journals
- Anthropo-logiques
- Australian Journal of Linguistics
- Annual Review of Applied Linguistics
- Cognitive Linguistics
- International Journal of American Linguistics
- Journal of American Folklore
- Journal of Linguistic Anthropology
- Language, Society and Culture
Web Resources
- World Atlas of Language Structures Online : Database of language structure. Provides associated maps.
Physical Anthropology Resources
Biology Databases
- Biological Sciences : Multidisciplinary database covering the biological sciences
- BIOSIS Previews : Index to life science and biomedical research
Dictionaries and Enyclopedias
- Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology : Contains 75 thematic articles related to archaeological concepts.
- Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory : Comprehensive reference resource for human evolution.
- History of Physical Anthropology : Contains biographies, essays, and lists of additional resources.
Atlases
- Atlas of Men: Atlas of Somatotyping the Adult Male of All Ages : Dated atlas concerning the distribution of male physique across the World.
- The Kottak Anthropology Atlas : Contains information and maps for cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, and archaeology.
Journals
- American Journal of Human Biology
- American Journal of Physical Anthropology
- American Journal of Primatology
- Anthropologist
- International Journal of Osteoarchaeology
- Internet Journal of Biological Anthropology
- Journal of Physiological Anthropology and Applied Human Science
Web Resources
- Hominin.net : Database of human fossils and associated information.
- Human Genome Project : Official site of the Human Genome Project.
- Science.gov : Cross searchable web collection of government science databases.
- Museum Websites
- Conference Papers Index
- PapersFirst
- PapersInvited (Publishing Opportunities for You!)
Thesis and Dissertations
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Local and International)
- TXSpace Dissertations and Theses (TAMU and Texas)
- Index to Theses (Great Britain and Ireland)
Related Links |
Other Recommended Guides |