Petroleum Engineering
—
filed under:
Engineering
Remember!!
I attend the weekly Petroleum Engineering Dept. Seminars on Tuesday afternoons and I am available afterwards for any library help, so grab me if you need anything. See you there!!
Indexes/Databases
Most Important Indexes and Databases:
-
OnePetro
NOTE: The process for Petroleum Engineering faculty and students to obtain any SPE papers, etc. will now be pretty simple. There will be no username or password at all. The database will work by IP recognition, so the main thing will be to start from this subject guide or from the library homepage at: http://library.tamu.edu/ Just do a database search for 'OnePetro'. Either entry point will take you to the default Basic search page. The next step will be to switch to Advanced search, then deselect 'ALL' and select 'Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE)'. Running a search from here will bring up results as usual. Simply open the desired PDFs from the results and you're set. It will not be necessary to move anything to the cart at all for A&M affiliates. That's it. Our present subscription to OnePetro also includes documents from International Petroleum Technical Conference (IPTC) and Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) so these can be selected in the Advanced search as well.
SPE Library is a comprehensive petroleum technology database covering topics ranging from drilling, formation evaluation, production geology, reservoir engineering, well logging to fluid mechanics, offshore technology, secondary and tertiary oil recovery processes, and well completions. Other topics include mineral economics and evaluation, management, and emerging technology areas of geothermal, solution mining in-situ leaching, in-situ coal liquefaction and gasification. Dates of coverage: 1951-present.
OnePetro is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and obtain documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry. (Our full subscription to all of OnePetro is presently set to begin in December.) - GeoRef
American Geological Institute's geoscience database contains over 2.2 million records from North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. The database is the equivalent of four major reference publications: Bibliography of North American Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Geophysical Abstracts, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. Additional items come from special bibliographies produced from state surveys or societies, and annual subject and author indexes. -
Petroleum Abstracts
This database is often the primary research tool for petroleum exploration, development, transportation, and production, as well as related topics that concern environmental, safety, and health issues. It contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from literature around the world on upstream petroleum operations -plus relevant patent information. Dates of coverage: 1964 - Present. Subjects covered include: Drilling, Geochemistry, Geology, Geophysics, Reservoir Engineering & Recovery Methods, and Well Logging from upstream petroleum operations. Also included are journal articles, conference proceedings, books, government reports, and patent filings. NEW!! EBSCO interface with linking to the full-text articles.
Other Important Indexes and Databases:
-
AAPG Datapages
A petroleum geology database containing text and images from publications produced by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. These include the AAPG Bulletin, AAPG Special Publications and GCAGS transactions. (Books are added two years after their original publication.) Also includes abstracts of meeting papers from 1990 to the present. -
Business Source Complete
This database from EBSCO Publishing offers full-text for 2,260 business, news and scholarly journals. In addition, it provides information from an expansive company directory. Updated continuously. -
Compendex
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over eight million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. Coverage is from 1969 to the present. -
EI Engineering Village 2
The Combined Compendex® & Inspec® database allows for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Coverage is from 1969 to present. The database is updated weekly. - GEOBASE
GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. This database covers the worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, and their related disciplines. Over 2,000 books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports are included. Beginning in 1989, Ph.D. and Masters theses are also indexed. Coverage is from 1990 to the present. The database provides current coverage of over 2000 journals and archival coverage of several thousand additional titles. GEOBASE is unequalled in it’s coverage of international literature. It offers unique coverage of non-English language items and less readily available publications -plus books, conference proceedings and reports, making this the best resource available for multidisciplinary searches of the international literature. - Information Bridge
The Information Bridge provides the open source to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics. The Information Bridge consists of full-text documents produced and made available by the Department of Energy National Laboratories and grantees from 1995 forward. Additional legacy documents are also included as they become available in electronic format. -
ScienceDirect
International in scope, ScienceDirect is a database of scientific, technical and medical literature from publishers such as Elsevier, Pergamon, Academic Press, etc. It includes reference books as well as journals. When the library subscribes to a journal or book via ScienceDirect, the full text can be retrieved as well. The library does not, however, subscribe to every journal, or to the complete run of every journal in ScienceDirect. When the full text is not available, check the ERL, or LibCat to determine whether or not that journal is available from a source other than ScienceDirect. -
SciFinder Scholar (Citrix access)
The most important and comprehensive index for chemistry, covering the world literature back to 1907. This online version of Chemical Abstracts contains over 23 million references, including 4.1 million patents from over 45 active patent-issuing authorities. It indexes material from more than 9000 journals and 150 countries. Sources include journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more. You must download a client to use SciFinder Scholar outside the Library or off campus. Coverage: 1907 to Present. -
Seismic Exploration
This database contains the full text of 15 handbook volumes and 1500 abstracts. To run this resource, you must download and install the appropriate version of the Citrix ICA client for your platform.
General Databases:
-
Academic Search Complete
Searchable index/abstract database that covers a variety of publications, both scholarly and popular, in a wide variety of disciplines. It also contains a fair amount of full text, but coverage (years) varies. -
Applied Science and Technology Full Text
Searchable database that indexes and abstracts applied science and technology literature from trade & industrial publications, professional & technical society and other journals, specialized periodicals, conference proceedings, and special issues such as buyer’s guides and directories. -
ArticleFirst
This database covers over 15,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, humanities and popular culture from 1990 to the present. It is updated daily. -
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
This database is a comprehensive index to doctoral dissertations and master’s theses, and it includes all of the entries in the Dissertation Abstracts Database. -
Web of Knowledge
Web of Science comprises three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. These databases contain over 2.8 million indexed bibliographic records. Thus, they can be searched for specific articles by: subject, author, journal, and/or author address. A special feature of Web of Knowledge is that each article includes the article’s cited reference list, enabling the user to search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Other Recommended Guides |